PDA

View Full Version : [RESOLVED] Game stuck on SMS/WMD splash screen, "Unhandled Error"



DaBeastKing
08-05-2015, 04:20
Literally copy-paste from my Steam thread here (http://steamcommunity.com/app/234630/discussions/1/613957600530237625/), which is getting no attention from any devs.

Hello,

With years of hype, months of delays, Project CARS finally came out on Steam yesterday.

Preloaded it, tried to play it after it decrypted...the game does not load.

The problem

I'm getting the same "Unhandled Exception Errors" everyone else is getting on the Steam threads (quite a handful of users, actually).

If I try to open the game from Steam, Windows decides to change themes, game shows the first screen with the SMS & WMD logos, and BOOM "Unhandled Exception Error" dialog box. Also, I have to re-open Steam.

Troubleshooting I've tried

Uninstalled programs that might be getting in the way (no, no logitech programs here)
Ran as administrator on both .exe files
Deleting the x86 files/folders
Compatibility mode
The 32 bit and dx9 launch options
Deleting the graphics config file & the whole profile folder
Verifying game files
Updating to latest NVIDIA driver
Latest Windows 7 updates
Update 1.2
Crying


Files to help you guys

Below are my last .db file, and the Unhandled exception trapped error.

error (https://dl.pushbulletusercontent.com/nDySjZC837cTb284kVqJrIrcqwixlfpk/IMG_20150506_195715.jpg)

db (http://www.filedropper.com/mwldumpfnl)

I've felt like I've done everything possible from my side trying to fix this fatal problem, I'm really hoping a dev can help me out here. 15 years of PC gaming, hundreds of racing games, never seen anything like this before.

Thanks in advance.

Morgan Henstridge
08-05-2015, 04:30
Have you tried Disabling the Steam Overlay??

A few users have reported issues with this.

DaBeastKing
08-05-2015, 04:58
Yes I did.

Yeah I heard any program that overlays information will most likely cause problems.

I literally have the bare minimum running at Windows startup, the only user program that's still running is Avast!. Even with that, I enabled it's gaming mode (which disables any overlays) and disabled all of its shields.

Morgan Henstridge
08-05-2015, 05:02
Is there anything logged in the Windows Event Viewer at the same time as the crash that may give any additional clues??

DaBeastKing
08-05-2015, 05:04
Hmm good thinking. Late at night here, I'll look it up tomorrow and update.

DUST2DEATH
08-05-2015, 05:04
Do you have logitech profiler installed. Reports of old versions causing issues until updated.

Aldo Zampatti
08-05-2015, 05:06
Seems like a tricky problem. What bothers me the most is that Steam closes too. So If I understood correctly, not only PCARS64.EXE crashes (or PCARS.exe) but also STEAM.EXE, right?

MiKeAhOwSkI
08-05-2015, 05:07
I finally fixed mine by reducing the overclock on my CPU. Ran for 2 hours without that crash afterwards. Give it a shot if you're overclocked.

IJOJOI
08-05-2015, 05:11
I finally fixed mine by reducing the overclock on my CPU. Ran for 2 hours without that crash afterwards. Give it a shot if you're overclocked.

May you type SOLVED in the Threadtitle, and copy the solution into the first post??
Best Regards;)

DUST2DEATH
08-05-2015, 05:14
May you type SOLVED in the Threadtitle, and copy the solution into the first post??
Best Regards;)

unfortunately not the OP :( Might be a helpful suggestion for him/her though.

IJOJOI
08-05-2015, 05:15
unfortunately not the OP :( Might be a helpful suggestion for him/her though.

Over read that...

DaBeastKing
08-05-2015, 17:30
(Too hard to multi quote on mobile, bare with me)

No, i used to have Logitech Profile installed a long time ago... Uninstalled a few months ago.

Yep, Steam does close after I attempt opening the game.

I'm slightly over clocked on my CPU (AMD 651k black edition quad core), but the other day I down clocked it back and it still did not work.

Do you guys still think it might be some background program getting in the way (like logitech profile)? I can provide a screenshot of all my running services /programs.

Machinaea
08-05-2015, 17:33
That might be an issue, please do post them as I do remember that some GPU related program used to cause crashes for me at some point during the development, even though it was fixed later on I recommend looking into it.

Aldo Zampatti
08-05-2015, 18:04
If you're using ANY overclock (CPU/GPU) try disabling it. it should at least help :)

DaBeastKing
08-05-2015, 22:40
Alright guys, I have some new screenshots here that might identify my problem.

http://https://dl.pushbulletusercontent.com/5l00K9GTdC5Ht1E7JDjI898PXhqEBxFO/services.jpg The services that are running right after I boot into Windows

https://dl.pushbulletusercontent.com/Hn9QE6Fh9yMShFYoTY2h4HLOPPG04EGk/processes.jpg The processes that are running at startup

https://dl.pushbulletusercontent.com/2CTyqycVC1bdhD9AOkdhsTIqFoJExO2L/application%20eorr.jpg Event Viewer application error

https://dl.pushbulletusercontent.com/ZhQDUMBFm2wi2hM6wyuW534Y1rNCxlf5/error%20system.jpg Event viewer system error

Hopefully someone can provide a second pair of eyes and see what it is here that's causing the crash ;)

Morgan Henstridge
08-05-2015, 23:00
The first link does not work for me.

Also in that the Event Viewer > System, can you grab a screenie of the details of the Application Popup (5/6/2015 3:18:56 PM) entry which is just below the one you have hilighted in the current screenshot.

That error you have hilighted actually looks like the Event Log has crashed :)

edit - can we also see the entry for Service Control Manager @ 5/8/2015 3:18:23 PM as this was just before the entry in the Application log.

DaBeastKing
08-05-2015, 23:11
The first link does not work for me.

Also in that the Event Viewer > System, can you grab a screenie of the details of the Application Popup (5/6/2015 3:18:56 PM) entry which is just below the one you have hilighted in the current screenshot.

That error you have hilighted actually looks like the Event Log has crashed :)

edit - can we also see the entry for Service Control Manager @ 5/8/2015 3:18:23 PM as this was just before the entry in the Application log.


Yes, I will in a sec.

I will update my situation and say this:

I downloaded Nvidia GeForce Experience, made it optimize my game settings for maximum performance, and instead of the game showing the first splash screen and then crashing, it showed something else:

https://dl.pushbulletusercontent.com/WqsHiqjkhGWMEEFdduRBX7Pm7FTe2gWa/newfail.jpg

Not enough memory? 64 bit Windows with 4gb RAM, system only using under a gigabyte by itself.

DaBeastKing
08-05-2015, 23:14
Well what do you know...200757

EDIT here is the first screenshot, which was a bad link. 200758

Morgan Henstridge
08-05-2015, 23:20
Awesome, that Application Popup is the key :)

Looks like the PC is running out of Virtual Memory, and you only have 4GB ram which is the minimum for Project CARS.

Check your "virtual Memory" settings in Control Panel > System > Advanced System Settings.

Then hit "Settings" under Performance on the Advanced tab.

Then on the Advance Tab of the Performance Options screen, have a look at the Virtual Memory and hit Change.

I would just ensure you select "System Managed Size" and hit "SET".

OK all the way back out of the menus, and reboot the system.

DaBeastKing
08-05-2015, 23:26
PROBLEM FIXED

I had pagefile disabled on both hard drives. Kept it disabled on SSD and enabled on my regular HDD.

Game now opens!

THANK YOU ALL FOR YOUR HELP

DaBeastKing
08-05-2015, 23:28
Funny, I figured it out on my own before you posted it ;)

I'll be sure to update my situation with everyone at the Steam forums that are crying over the same problem.

Thanks man! Appreciate it!

Morgan Henstridge
08-05-2015, 23:30
Great news :)

See you on the track :)

edit - DaBastKing, can you edit the thread title to [Resolved] at the start so others know to check here incase they have the same issue.

Aldo Zampatti
08-05-2015, 23:43
PROBLEM FIXED

I had pagefile disabled on both hard drives. Kept it disabled on SSD and enabled on my regular HDD.

Game now opens!

THANK YOU ALL FOR YOUR HELP

Morgan Magic! Glad it worked for you.

Bear in mind one thing. If memory isn't enough and Windows makes uses of PageFile, chances are that you'll be having a pretty slow gaming experience (Loading times more specifically), so try to have the least possible running in background.

EDIT: Thread Tittle Changed :)

Morgan Henstridge
08-05-2015, 23:49
Bear in mind one thing. If memory isn't enough and Windows makes uses of PageFile, chances are that you'll be having a pretty slow gaming experience (Loading times more specifically), so try to have the least possible running in background.


Agreed, If you can afford it, I would run at least 8GB ram for most games today to reduce any "paging"