PDA

View Full Version : Mandatory functions need a re-think.



dyr_gl
09-05-2015, 09:44
Not only you donīt know which ones they are, but once you find out, I feel the decissions are really bad.

We have very limited buttons and stuff like "camera change" is not something I want to have a button for. How is it that I need a button for that, but I can go out without a button to start the car if I stall it?

Bleis
09-05-2015, 09:48
You can alter and remap your keys, in the option.

Yorkie065
09-05-2015, 09:50
You can alter and remap your keys, in the option.

But what he's saying is that if you want to re-map your keys, you have to have specific buttons mapped for the game to accept the new mappings. Something that does need to be looked into as you do have limited options for those using a controller.

dyr_gl
09-05-2015, 10:18
But what he's saying is that if you want to re-map your keys, you have to have specific buttons mapped for the game to accept the new mappings. Something that does need to be looked into as you do have limited options for those using a controller.

For those with a wheel too, unless you have that fantastic F1 Ferrari add-on. I have the regular T500 and nowhere near enough buttons for everything Iīd like. Plus for some reason game doesnīt want the select button on it to be assigned (and the not-functional PS button is another missed chance).

Elmo
09-05-2015, 10:53
The devs are already looking into reducing the amount of mandatory buttons, so you guys have more options.

PumaSpec
09-05-2015, 17:08
I agree with this :(

Finexi
10-05-2015, 00:03
The devs are already looking into reducing the amount of mandatory buttons, so you guys have more options.

Can you tell us which ones are mandatory?

Elmo
10-05-2015, 00:04
Can you tell us which ones are mandatory?

Accelerate,
Brake,
SteerLeft,
SteerRight,
ShiftUp,
ShiftDown,
Handbrake,
Boost,
DrivingView,
RearLook

dyr_gl
10-05-2015, 00:44
Accelerate,
Brake,
SteerLeft,
SteerRight,
ShiftUp,
ShiftDown,
Handbrake,
Boost,
DrivingView,
RearLook

These two last totally need to go. Cars have mirrors to look behind, and once people decide their view theyīre never changing it in-game.

Handbrake is marginal, some cars donīt even have one so if you know youīre racing letīs say Formula B, that button could be put to better use.

Joethe147
10-05-2015, 04:07
I don't think Shift Up and Shift Down should mandatory as some people, like myself, use automatic shifting which renders those two functions pointless.

RacingBerzerker
10-05-2015, 07:14
Not only you donīt know which ones they are, but once you find out, I feel the decissions are really bad.

We have very limited buttons and stuff like "camera change" is not something I want to have a button for. How is it that I need a button for that, but I can go out without a button to start the car if I stall it?

I agree, nothing is clear, seems to be a case of figure it out yourself and hope for the best.

CRMohiuddin
10-05-2015, 07:31
Using all button to know what I'll have to use is boring.

Accelerate
Steer left-right
Brake
E-Brake
Gears
Shift up-down
Camera Changes
Looking around (left,right,back)
These should be clear as told!

Good topics by the way (Y)

Finexi
10-05-2015, 10:00
Accelerate,
Brake,
SteerLeft,
SteerRight,
ShiftUp,
ShiftDown,
Handbrake,
Boost,
DrivingView,
RearLook

Thanks a lot. Handbrake, DrivingView and RearLook really should't be mandatory, basicly for the reason people have pointed above. Bottom line: only accelerate, brake, steer left and steer right should be mandatory.

Sampo
10-05-2015, 10:09
On the PC you can use the back-space key to clear a mapping. If you're talking about consoles, then I don't know.

dvc
11-05-2015, 08:30
Nothing MUST be mandatory. BTW workaround to skip mandatory is to set anything you like then press options select options help then press circle to go back to main screen.

talby71
11-05-2015, 10:04
for some reason i had to have a button for KERS otherwise it wouldnt let me back out..easy i put it on the right stick button... btw on Xbox One

mystamac
12-05-2015, 07:53
Xbox one supports USB keyboard, why not allow us to use this to assign keys for un-used options on the control screen. I use a Thrustmaster TX wheel and would like a look left/right option amongst others. You can do this on PC, why not on our consoles.

Francorchamps
12-05-2015, 08:02
The best way to fix is this is to make nothing mandatory. If you can't figure out that you need acceleration, breaks and steering for a car yourself you should not be playing pCARS.

JessicaWalter
12-05-2015, 08:15
...If you can't figure out that you need acceleration, breaks and steering for a car yourself you should not be playing pCARS.

quite!

Revvin
12-05-2015, 08:25
I think the only ones that should be mandatory are steering, accelerate and brake, the rest should be up to the user. Someone might only play automatic or only play in cockpit view etc, how about a small prompt suggesting controls rather than just saying they are missing but not telling you what they are?

Zenzic
12-05-2015, 09:29
BTW workaround to skip mandatory is to set anything you like then press options select options help then press circle to go back to main screen.

Tried this as well, works perfectly.

dyr_gl
12-05-2015, 09:32
Hi there Zen! Gotta try this, nice discovery there.

Zenzic
12-05-2015, 10:51
Well hello there, Dyr! What are the odds! :cool:

Charles Gillen
12-05-2015, 12:01
Theres no "circle" on the XBOX controller. So I'm guessing the letter "B" should be what were looking for?

Deadzone
12-05-2015, 12:09
Theres no "circle" on the XBOX controller. So I'm guessing the letter "B" should be what were looking for?

Correct.
I just did this on ps4. Works great. Now I can map roll bar and brake bias adjustment instead of kers and Drs that the escort I'm driving doesn't have.

Beardybrave
12-05-2015, 12:36
Just to add, on ps4 there is the possibility of clicking the right and left side of the touch pad separately, and also swiping it in each of four directions. That's an additional five inputs that could be being used instead of just the single click touch pad one that's used currently.

Deadzone
12-05-2015, 12:43
Just to add, on ps4 there is the possibility of clicking the right and left side of the touch pad separately, and also swiping it in each of four directions. That's an additional five inputs that could be being used instead of just the single click touch pad one that's used currently.

Good thinking.Just tested this.
You can assign functions to swipe horizontal, swipe vertical and touch pad button.
You can't assign left and right of touch seperatly. And you can't have swipe left and swipe right, only swipe vertically and horizontally.

Mahjik
12-05-2015, 13:59
How is it that I need a button for that, but I can go out without a button to start the car if I stall it?


If you use auto-start, you don't need to map a start button. ;)

Manic DBB
12-05-2015, 16:53
If you use auto-start, you don't need to map a start button. ;)
You do if the car stalls; it doesn't auto re-start!

Bobbydakid
12-05-2015, 16:55
You do if the car stalls; it doesn't auto re-start!

You can use the reset car button if you have it mapped, this will start the engine

Mahjik
12-05-2015, 17:02
You do if the car stalls; it doesn't auto re-start!

Depends on the car (and it you use auto-clutch or not).

Beardybrave
13-05-2015, 00:32
Good thinking.Just tested this.
You can assign functions to swipe horizontal, swipe vertical and touch pad button.
You can't assign left and right of touch seperatly. And you can't have swipe left and swipe right, only swipe vertically and horizontally.

Ahhh. Odd that only two swipes are implemented. Still that's pretty much all the buttons I need, or can remember. =)

On that note, does anyone know if it's possible to see if TC, ABS etc are on, from cockpit view? Or any other view for that matter?

Leosim
13-05-2015, 02:14
Cant see where this was addressed. I remapped my xbx1 controller for manual transmission, set up my shift buttons, they all seem to be mapped to something, but it keeps saying "Not all required controls are assigned", they look all assigned to me, whats the problem/solution???

talby71
13-05-2015, 10:10
Cant see where this was addressed. I remapped my xbx1 controller for manual transmission, set up my shift buttons, they all seem to be mapped to something, but it keeps saying "Not all required controls are assigned", they look all assigned to me, whats the problem/solution???

i had to assign KERS for some reason..just set the right stick button for it

fphilip01
14-05-2015, 04:16
Great idea! I wouldn't mind mapping everything on the keyboard and leave important driving stuff on the controller. Anyone else like that idea?

JedPB67
14-05-2015, 12:05
I have the F1 add-on wheel on my T300RS and STILL not enough buttons for everything!

NoBrakes
14-05-2015, 14:43
Well, besides this unnecessary mandatory thing, is there any chance to change the pre-defined buttons that are used within the GUI? Maybe I missed it, if there is still an option, but e.g. I have always mapped a button on my rim to select push2talk ... but within the GUI this is still mapped to some navigation function.

It would be as well very useful if I could safe more than one Wheel-Mapping. As the CSW system from Fanatec offers the possibility to change the rims I'd like to not have to remap certain buttons every time I change from the F1 type to the BMW.

Spitfire77
15-05-2015, 19:41
Nothing MUST be mandatory. BTW workaround to skip mandatory is to set anything you like then press options select options help then press circle to go back to main screen.

Oh man I am so glad I saw this today Thank you very much!

Camdaz
25-05-2015, 22:19
These two last totally need to go. Cars have mirrors to look behind, and once people decide their view theyīre never changing it in-game.

Handbrake is marginal, some cars donīt even have one so if you know youīre racing letīs say Formula B, that button could be put to better use.

You can a rear view mirror at top of screen using "cycle HUD" button so 'look back's button isn't neede. I've never used the handbrake so I agree that could go too.

PureMalt77
30-05-2015, 21:19
I would like combined buttons: for example, L2 + D-Pad I could control the seat position, R2 + D-Pad, break balance... combinations are practically unlimited!

danpinho
30-05-2015, 22:08
Nothing MUST be mandatory. BTW workaround to skip mandatory is to set anything you like then press options select options help then press circle to go back to main screen.

Thanks. I'm running on GT3 and KERS is useless.

deedub777
08-06-2015, 10:54
Interesting topic, here's my contribution...

Thanks to @dvc for the post to 'sidestep' the mandatory button assignments! Super advice.

Think it was mentioned however will repeat... When a you cannot proceed (ie mandatory buttons not mapped) it is essential that you need to guide the user how to fix the problem. First rule in UI design! Don't make it mandatory, make it the default and allow reset to default.

For each car type I can see a different button mapping could be useful, for example: In Formula A, I would need to assign DRS and KERS but useless in most(?) other cars.
I like the idea of allowing button combinations (example: hold down R2 while pressing D pad up and down for seat position)

How about allowing button assignments to be included in the car setup (not per track of course, for all tracks is fine). So when I switch between GT3 and Formula A, the button assignments are appropriate for that car.

(I'm loving the Project Cars journey!)

goeiste
27-07-2015, 07:45
213442

I created my own button configration, without erros on save. (ducth only at the moment)

JessicaWalter
28-08-2015, 12:59
did the new patch get rid of the workaround?

circle now brings me back to the button assignment screen. i had to exit out to the ps dashboard and close application because i don't want it to save with some of those old "mandatory" buttons that i don't want (look behind) being mapped, as every button is already used by something more important.