PDA

View Full Version : A question about Karts handing

PeteUplink
11-05-2015, 12:11
I'm having a problem with the handling of the Karts, and I can't figure out if it's the game or me. At Glencairn I'm fine, but Dubai and Chesterfield I'm nowhere. If I let the AI driver drive it looks like it's driving really slowly, yet managing to do good lap times and be faster than the other AI. If I try to drive the same way the other AI cars leave me behind, but if I try to push I just understeer through all the slow corners and they out accelerate me along the straights.

Anyone have any idea what I'm doing wrong? Seems odd that I can drive the Formula A cars with no driver aids just fine, but I can't handle a Kart... :confused:

xX_PHLOX_Xx
11-05-2015, 12:27
I am very new to racing and don't really know what I'm doing but I was experiencing understeer on the karts in my career mode. I set the tire pressure on both front wheels to 65 (from 70). I havent changed any other settings. This helped a lot.
BTW I am playing on Amateur so I'm sure I have lots of other driving aids helping me out as well!!

PeteUplink
11-05-2015, 12:45
Funnily enough I've figured it out. Just after I posted this I went and had another go around the Dubai Kart track and it suddenly clicked as to how I should be approaching the corners. Basically, I was trying to drive them the way I would any other racing car and getting all my braking done before I turn in to the corner and then accelerate through the apex without too much sliding. This, though, just resulted in lots of hideous understeer in the slow corners. What I've found that if I don't brake quite as much, carry a bit more speed in and allow the rear to sort of drift while balancing the throttle, the front end pulls round the corner a lot better and I can drive a lot smoother and faster.

hkraft300
11-05-2015, 14:40
Weight distribution and brake balance adjustments, maybe?