PDA

View Full Version : One Nvidia gtx970 and three monitors?



LCJ
19-05-2015, 15:36
Hi, I'm thinking of buying either a tripple screen setup or an ultra wide 21:9 monitor. So my question is to everyone who is using one nvidia gtx970 with three monitors. What resolution, graphics settings and framerate do you get?

Thanks! :)

maxter
19-05-2015, 15:42
I have a GTX 980 with 3 screens and it works fine with all settings maxxed.

AshenShugar
19-05-2015, 15:46
Maxter what is your ram usage. The good ol 3.5gb thing might be an issue for the 970.

Ps nice chip (CPU) you got there :)

RSfordy
19-05-2015, 15:58
works fine mate I have 1 gtx 970 running triples

Hooper57
19-05-2015, 16:15
i can only get one screen at 40-50 fps with my gtx 980 on max settings...

Mahjik
19-05-2015, 16:20
Folks, just remember that performance is only as good as your next bottleneck. If you have a lower CPU and purchase a high-end graphics card, you'll be limited by CPU.

With pCARS, CPU is just as important as GPU. At least with GPU, you can turn down the detail settings to improve performance. About all you can do to help with CPU is to use few AI cars.

RSfordy
19-05-2015, 16:37
these are pictures I took from my phone at my screens [these are NOT screen captures ] I just took some quick pics to show you ..1 gtx 970 on triples
@60fps it does drop to 55fps in a thunderstorm with 25cars on track but only very quickly and will jump back

203490203491203492203493203494203495203496203497203498203499203500203501203502203503203504203505

Hooper57
19-05-2015, 17:57
gtx 980, Intel Core i7-5930K Haswell-E 6-Core @ 3.5GHz, 16mb ram and still 40-50 fps is tops for me at max settings... even lower in replays

ctzn
19-05-2015, 22:36
gtx 980, Intel Core i7-5930K Haswell-E 6-Core @ 3.5GHz, 16mb ram and still 40-50 fps is tops for me at max settings... even lower in replays

That doesn't seem right... should be higher.

thisisbleep
20-05-2015, 00:25
gtx 980, Intel Core i7-5930K Haswell-E 6-Core @ 3.5GHz, 16mb ram and still 40-50 fps is tops for me at max settings... even lower in replays

Are your drivers up-to-date? What other programs are running in the background? What downsampling option are you using?

Hooper57
20-05-2015, 01:30
I am using Geforce driver 352.86. Before that I was using whatever the previous driver was. The frame rates were the same then as they are now with the new driver. I have steam running, of course, and panda antivirus in the background. With DS9X I average about 35 fps. With DS4X I average around 55 fps.

thisisbleep
20-05-2015, 03:22
Have you tried DS2x? The downsampling is the most intensive of the settings.

I use DS2x, render frames ahead = 1 and maximum for everything else. I have not noticed it drop down from 60 FPS apart from extreme conditions, such as high number of AI and thunderstorms.

Eric Rowland
20-05-2015, 03:28
works fine mate I have 1 gtx 970 running triples

That what I'm running and I get 50-60 fps full field, at night in the rain 40-50 fps. I backed a couple of settings down a click like env map and shadows. Very satisfied...smooth and pretty.

Joven
20-05-2015, 03:37
Have you tried DS2x? The downsampling is the most intensive of the settings.

I use DS2x, render frames ahead = 1 and maximum for everything else. I have not noticed it drop down from 60 FPS apart from extreme conditions, such as high number of AI and thunderstorms.

I use DS4x + low FXAA and get 60fps in everything but thunderstorms+lots of AI in which case it drops to 45 (vsync, 1080p, 1 screen.)
reflections high, env map high, car and track detail ultra, shadows high, detailed grass off, particle level high, particle density ultra

Wonder what resolution Hooper is starting with, I guess we're all assuming its 1080p?

LCJ
20-05-2015, 04:10
Thanks everyone for the replies, much appreciated! Unbelievable rigs some of you have! :) Seems like it's fine driving three displays with one gtx970. I'm assume you all have monitors with a resolution of 1080x1920. What about physicle size then? Is 22" or 24" enough do you think?

ctzn
20-05-2015, 13:19
Glad I found this thread, I was also interested in the OP's question. Good information here.

Thinking about picking up an ASUS GTX970 4GB Mini/SFF to go along with my i7 4790 3.6 GHz CPU w/ 16 GB RAM. Wanted to check if it would be possible to run three displays with a similar setup with decent settings. After reading this thread, I feel slightly more confident that it would be fine. Any major issues with the 970 memory at higher resolutions for any of you? I'll probably run either x3 21" monitors or x3 24" -- I have both laying around.

BimodalRocket
20-05-2015, 16:00
Hmmm masters class at porsche driving school or a new PC set up. Tough choices here.

Chrisarvor
15-02-2017, 15:17
Hi people I have been trying to run 3 monitors on my GTX 750 ti GeForce but I would work
Right I am a PC idiot. I am now having a GeForce GTX 1050 fitted today 4 Gb Do I just use the three outlets on the card and connect to my 3 24 inch Samsung monitors all identicle the open the invidious control box

I thought it looked so easy on the net an you tube
Any help please