PDA

View Full Version : Setups and saving - are they saved, are they not?



PunchRockgroin
21-05-2015, 07:45
I'm working with setups, but I have NO idea if they are actually being saved, if they are reset, will it save the setup I make in the pit, do I have to configure it in "My Garage" if so, how do I not overwrite an existing setup? Can't they be named? Do the cars actually change tires to fit the weather when set to Automatic - no way to tell other than driving. Also, setting up a car in desired livery does seem somewhat counterintuitive, actually had to google it, also here I have absolutely NO idea how to save my config, there's a green dot and an I (i think, maybe an inverted exclamation mark).

This game needs some insane guides.

I going pretty much mental with every aspect of this game ecept for the driving because I think the menus and options are extremely confusing if you are used to PC-gaming, or maybe I am stupid or just not used to consoles.

Also, why the HELL does the wheel change menu setting? Quit race/edit tuning setup, wheel slightly turned MADNESS in the menus. Argh! It's extremely frustrating getting to know a game where one of the biggest challenges is actually using the menus.

Hot damn.

Sory, I'm upset,

Arkymedes
21-05-2015, 08:07
I THINK, and don't quote me on that :), the setups you save either in My Garage or in the Pits use the same "slot". So if you tune something in either those places, the modifications carry over.

And about the UI, I agree it is a mess. But it was stated here already (don't remember by who, but it's easy to find) that they will not change it.

So yeah, suck it :)

PunchRockgroin
21-05-2015, 08:12
Argh. It really really really takes a lot of enjoyment out of the game for me. I thought Asseto Corsa was kind of annoying with the menus but this is madness.

Well, guess I have to get used to it. Or someone release a "How to use our GUI"

Oilseal
21-05-2015, 08:14
You are not the only one mate. Surely its not beyond belief that someone from the setup side at SMS can come on here and clear things up.

Unless of course there is no way and they are just sweeping us under the carpet.

I am of course one of those pesky PC gamers (vocal minority LOL)

Kind Regards

Oilseal

Niveous21
21-05-2015, 15:25
I have found that I can save setups when in Free Practice (not career mode), or in My Garage, and it will even save it to a specific track. It's a very nice feature.

However, in career mode, there does not appear to be a way to load a saved setup (please let me know if there is a way). It's aggravating because every time I pause and select "return to pit garage" during CM practice, for the sole purpose of adjusting my setup, it resets any changes I've made to the setup during the session and I have to do everything again. I press A to save it each time I make a change, but it is clearly not saving it. Obviously this is not practical, and it makes trying to work on your setup during a career mode practice session impossible. The setup should stay as it is unless I change it myself.

(I'm on XB1)

wraithsrike
21-05-2015, 15:41
I'm struggling here, I made a set up for my Mk1 Escort only to find it was also applied to my Bmw how I managed that I don't know, but when I drove my Escort again the save a spent so long in making had gone back to default, so I just don't bother now.

Niveous21
21-05-2015, 15:56
I just noticed after posting that the issue is in the Known Issues thread. The workaround in the meantime I guess is to use the Free Practice mode in the main menu to do your setup, back out when you're done and save it under the specific track in My Garage, and then load up the Career Mode. Apparently the setup you saved in My Garage for that car and track will load automatically when you enter a session, but of course any further changes you make during the Career practice or qualifying session will not save.

nissan4ever
21-05-2015, 17:11
I just noticed after posting that the issue is in the Known Issues thread. The workaround in the meantime I guess is to use the Free Practice mode in the main menu to do your setup, back out when you're done and save it under the specific track in My Garage, and then load up the Career Mode. Apparently the setup you saved in My Garage for that car and track will load automatically when you enter a session, but of course any further changes you make during the Career practice or qualifying session will not save.

Good to know, thanks!