PDA

View Full Version : Resources For Beginners? [PC / G27]

CyberOcelot
27-05-2015, 18:06
Hi Everyone,

I'm new to this forum and Project CARS. Unfortunately, I am one of those that was turned off by the steep learning curve and set the game aside. But, I've overcome my initial frustrations and decided to pick it back up and learn.

My personal conflict here is that I want my racing experience to be as realistic as possible (G27 racing wheel, assists are off, etc...). But I'm also a noob, so I'm constantly wiping out, crashing, and causing unrealistic havoc.

While seemingly less realistic than this title, I previously played Gran Turismo games. I was never any good using racing wheels there, but the License System in those games helped me to learn skills I could apply to the game and see improvement, where as Project CARS seemingly throws you on a track and screams "FIGURE IT OUT!"

Can anyone here please advise on how I can go about learning the skills I need to get the joy of racing out of Project CARS?

Thanks in advance.

Umer Ahmad
27-05-2015, 18:09
Start Here (http://forum.projectcarsgame.com/showthread.php?22122-G25-G27-SETUP-GUIDE)

On the track, go slow, learn the tracks, feel the car. Then slowly add speed. You bought a "simulator" so it may feel little more difficult at first than other driving games. But in the end it will feel natural if you have experience driving in real life.

Also, good racing videos here (https://www.youtube.com/user/SAFEisFAST) for beginners

MarleyMoo
27-05-2015, 18:13
I think assists real is better than assists off because it turns on those assists that exist in the real car. From what I remember about the GT training courses, they are pretty applicable here, too. The good thing about playing sims is that, for the most part, what you learn in one game can be applied to other games.