PDA

View Full Version : Thrustmaster Shifter Question



freak27
29-05-2015, 13:15
Hello Guyz!

So I bought the TH8A shifter and all is oging smooth, but I have one question. I cannot change 2 gears up or down, only 1 at a time. For example if I have the 5th gear and want to drop to the 3rd it drops to the 4th even if the clutch is in the 3rd gear physically.

Is there a setting to make it go up and down the way I want??

Thank you!

Diablo944
29-05-2015, 13:17
Are you driving a car with a sequential box? Try it with a car thats definitely a h box, ford escort or bmw 320 turbo

freak27
29-05-2015, 13:22
Ah, I didnt know about the cars properties. I was driving the G40 Junior(smth like that) dont remember the name exactly. Gonna try the BWM!

PureMalt77
29-05-2015, 13:24
Yes, Diablo944 says it all!
The gearbox behavior depends on the car. For instance, the Caterham Superlight R500 has a sequential gearbox, so you can change gears (even without using the clutch), in a sequential mode.
All cars with real manual gear allows you to "jump" gears...

Joris GvK
29-05-2015, 13:26
Here's a answer from one of the DEVS.


We're looking at changing the design for using H-shifters on a sequential gearbox car. Sequentials don't allow skipping gears, so if you are in 2nd and select 5th on the H shifter it will think 'you want a higher gear, but I can only get to 3rd from here' and make that one shift. Plan is to make it all automatic so if in 2nd and you target 5th gear, it will automatically shift up through the gears to 5th at a reasonable speed...maybe 300ms per shift so that there would still be an advantage in using the right controls for the car you are in.

freak27
29-05-2015, 13:42
Τhanks guyz! You were right I selected the BMW and the gameplay was fantastic!!

How can I check what car has what Gear-Box without actually load a race??

freak27
29-05-2015, 17:30
So I try to start without automatic clutch but the car remains still in its place.

Tried practice and once i hit somewhere and the car is still i cant start it! There is no gas!

I am doing something wrong but i have no idea what!

IrideGravity
29-05-2015, 22:09
So I try to start without automatic clutch but the car remains still in its place.

Tried practice and once i hit somewhere and the car is still i cant start it! There is no gas!

I am doing something wrong but i have no idea what!

Hang a smiley on this one. ;)

But you probably have to map a start button or something. Maybe your stalling the car without auto clutch. Needs a restart? maybe the clutch has to be pushed in to start a car like in real life? Maybe someone can verify if it's possible to stall a car without auto clutch? Then you would need clutch in and start button to fire up?

PureMalt77
29-05-2015, 22:14
So I try to start without automatic clutch but the car remains still in its place.

Tried practice and once i hit somewhere and the car is still i cant start it! There is no gas!

I am doing something wrong but i have no idea what!

2 things:
a) if you have Automatic Engine Start = No, you need to assign buttons for ignition (turn the key) and engine start (turn the key further / press the start button), otherwise, your car is actually turned off! Check that by hearing if your engine is on...
b) if engine is running, you can let you engine "die", just like a real car! so be gentle with the clutch if not in automatic...

I don't have enough buttons for ignition + start, so I use engine start one, and (I know, cheating) use reset car with 1 button, so engine is on, just focus to not let it die!

Spitfire77
29-05-2015, 22:32
Τhanks guyz! You were right I selected the BMW and the gameplay was fantastic!!

How can I check what car has what Gear-Box without actually load a race??

I would like a simple icon next to the car be it in the garage info or something or maybe after the car name? (H) or (S) just so we know without looking up the car. - If there is already and I missed it sorry.

I looked up the Aston Martin Vant V8 GT4 and that car in real life has the option of H patter 6 speed or what they call Sportshift (ASM) transmission - basically an automatic clutch and you trigger the shift with a paddle.. not sequential but would act basically the same from our perspective. Not sure what is designed in the game, but when you look in the cockpit there are paddles.

PureMalt77
29-05-2015, 22:41
I would like a simple icon next to the car be it in the garage info or something or maybe after the car name? (H) or (S) just so we know without looking up the car. - If there is already and I missed it sorry.

I looked up the Aston Martin Vant V8 GT4 and that car in real life has the option of H patter 6 speed or what they call Sportshift (ASM) transmission - basically an automatic clutch and you trigger the shift with a paddle.. not sequential but would act basically the same from our perspective. Not sure what is designed in the game, but when you look in the cockpit there are paddles.

Paddle shifting is sequential... to go from 5 to 3 u do have to downshift twice...
But I agree that the game should display in the car info the gearing supported...

Martini Da Gasalini
29-05-2015, 22:45
Are you driving a car with a sequential box? Try it with a car thats definitely a h box, ford escort or bmw 320 turbo

You beat me to it brother.

Rubrbrnr
29-05-2015, 23:07
2 things:
a) if you have Automatic Engine Start = No, you need to assign buttons for ignition (turn the key) and engine start (turn the key further / press the start button), otherwise, your car is actually turned off! Check that by hearing if your engine is on...
b) if engine is running, you can let you engine "die", just like a real car! so be gentle with the clutch if not in automatic...

I don't have enough buttons for ignition + start, so I use engine start one, and (I know, cheating) use reset car with 1 button, so engine is on, just focus to not let it die!

I'm mapped 'engine start' but not 'ignition' (not enough buttons) and I've never had a problem starting the thing after its stalls. So I'm not sure what 'ignition' is used for. Anyone?

And yes, with Auto clutch set to 'No' an H-gate car behaves like a real manual transmission car. Let out the clutch with no throttle and it will just stall again. Too much throttle and you'll do a smokey burn out. Makes standing-starts on a hill (Spa) a bit of a challenge, BTW. I LOL'ed when I was DQ'ed for rolling it at the start at Spa...... Had to awkwardly heel-toe the launch.

My next investment will be a pair of actual racing shoes. I've got the heel-toe thing down now, and I'm loving it, but it's killing the edge of my foot in longer races.

TrevorAustin
29-05-2015, 23:11
You beat me to it brother.

By about 9 hours:)

TrevorAustin
29-05-2015, 23:11
I'm mapped 'engine start' but not 'ignition' (not enough buttons) and I've never had a problem starting the thing after its stalls. So I'm not sure what 'ignition' is used for. Anyone?

And yes, with Auto clutch set to 'No' an H-gate car behaves like a real manual transmission car. Let out the clutch with no throttle and it will just stall again. Too much throttle and you'll do a smokey burn out. Makes standing-starts on a hill (Spa) a bit of a challenge, BTW. I LOL'ed when I was DQ'ed for rolling it at the start at Spa...... Had to awkwardly heel-toe the launch.

My next investment will be a pair of actual racing shoes. I've got the heel-toe thing down now, and I'm loving it, but it's killing the edge of my foot in longer races.

If you turn the ignition off you can't start it, have to turn it back on:)

diesel97
29-05-2015, 23:16
If you turn the ignition off you can't start it, have to turn it back on:)

Why would you want your ignition off,and why have a button?

wyldanimal
30-05-2015, 03:20
If you turn the ignition off you can't start it, have to turn it back on:)


Why would you want your ignition off,and why have a button?

Some rigs have Button panels to enhance the SIM experience. ( PC based I'm sure )
we Need a USB Button panel for the PS4!

205263

205264

ivan-hoe78
31-05-2015, 01:40
I'm mapped 'engine start' but not 'ignition' (not enough buttons) and I've never had a problem starting the thing after its stalls. So I'm not sure what 'ignition' is used for. Anyone?

I am playing with manual clutch, and mapped engine start and ignition on the L3 and R3 buttons of the T300. I think if you playing with manual clutch, needs to map this 2 buttons. If you make a spin and stops your car with manual clutch enabled, you need to push the clutch before the car stalls (if have any gear introduced), like in real life. At the begining of my gameplay I've forgot I'm playing with manual clutch and stalling my car every time it spins or something similar. You need to get used to it.

Diablo944
31-05-2015, 02:29
Τhanks guyz! You were right I selected the BMW and the gameplay was fantastic!!

How can I check what car has what Gear-Box without actually load a race??

http://forum.projectcarsgame.com/showthread.php?28869-TM-shifter-H-box-car-list

Spitfire77
01-06-2015, 21:00
Paddle shifting is sequential... to go from 5 to 3 u do have to downshift twice...
But I agree that the game should display in the car info the gearing supported...

I am just nit picking here.. but just because a car has paddles does not mean it is a sequential transmission. Some are what is called a semi automatic (or triptronic).. which means it actually has an automatic transmission but you decide when it shifts, some have an automatic clutch that is faster than a person using a manual clutch, but the transmission is still standard and requires a clutch action to shift gears, the car just does that part for you when you press the paddle. - Similar is the dual clutch system

A true sequential transmission does not use a clutch system when shifting gears, like a motorcyle.

In the case of that Aston Martin - it has an automatic clutch - or an automated manual trans.. so when you press the paddle the car has a system that activates the clutch for you, then puts the car in the next gear, the releases the clutch.

PureMalt77
02-06-2015, 15:37
A true sequential transmission does not use a clutch system when shifting gears, like a motorcyle.


Motorcycles do have clutch, I'm a motorcycle rider! Just like in a manual gearbox car, at the right rev you can change the gear without engaging the clutch, but otherwise, you must pull the clutch lever...
Clutch subject apart, what I mean with "sequential" is that using paddle or +/- shifter, you can't jump from 5 to 3 without passing through 4, as in full manual you can.

Diablo944
02-06-2015, 15:44
Maybe incremental transmission is better than sequential. Or maybe we should just agree to generalise the terms and have sequential and H as a simple compromise.

Fanapryde
02-06-2015, 18:18
Some rigs have Button panels to enhance the SIM experience. ( PC based I'm sure )
we Need a USB Button panel for the PS4!

205263

205264

^^ This... Absolutely !

Spitfire77
02-06-2015, 18:25
Maybe incremental transmission is better than sequential. Or maybe we should just agree to generalise the terms and have sequential and H as a simple compromise.


Motorcycles do have clutch, I'm a motorcycle rider! Just like in a manual gearbox car, at the right rev you can change the gear without engaging the clutch, but otherwise, you must pull the clutch lever...
Clutch subject apart, what I mean with "sequential" is that using paddle or +/- shifter, you can't jump from 5 to 3 without passing through 4, as in full manual you can.


Yes - that is what I mean, and that is how a sequential race car works.. between shifts no clutch like a rally car. So yeah we are on the same page - incremental shifting haha I like that.

I guess my understanding of the term sequential was not correct anyways.. seeing as it really does mean you can only upshift or down shift .. my mistake.