PDA

View Full Version : Complete newbie question .....

Angst1974
30-05-2015, 20:55
Totally new to ALL racing games (sans Pole Position on the C64 , and a few that long ago) .

Why are there no catastrophic crashes ?

Just playing in free practice I hit a wall head on at over 100mph in a Ford Focus ... I should be pretty messed up and the car would not be able to move.

Needs airbag deployment :)

Roger Prynne
30-05-2015, 20:57
Have you got damage set to "ON"?

Irishnewblood
30-05-2015, 21:03
You're never gonna get any car smash to absolute bits in a game, well not a real one anyway. Most car company's won't license their cars if they think you're gonna do that to them as they want to put their best foot forward and have the shiny car, beautiful to look at and there seems to be an anxiety that they all have that if your bumper comes off hitting a cone you think that the bumper will fall off easily in real life. Stupid I know but there you go.

Angst1974
30-05-2015, 21:04
Have you got damage set to "ON"?

Absolutely ....

Angst1974
30-05-2015, 21:06
You're never gonna get any car smash to absolute bits in a game, well not a real one anyway. Most car company's won't license their cars if they think you're gonna do that to them as they want to put their best foot forward and have the shiny car, beautiful to look at and there seems to be an anxiety that they all have that if your bumper comes off hitting a cone you think that the bumper will fall off easily in real life. Stupid I know but there you go.

That makes no sense .... in the game I hit a wall at 100mph and drive away ... IRL you hit a wall at 100mph and you are not even going to walk away . Seems to be a silly lawsuit waiting

Bealdor
30-05-2015, 21:07
The mechanical damage sensitivity is a bit on the low side I agree.
As for the visual damage, Irishnewblood is correct about those licensing restrictions.

Irishnewblood
30-05-2015, 21:12