PDA

View Full Version : Having trouble with Lift-off oversteer

Panjandrum
31-05-2015, 05:27
OK, so to keep it short, I'm new to pcars and loving many aspects of it, but I'm having a lot of trouble getting lift-off oversteer to initiate. I can initiate it with a brake tap, a Scandinavian flick, or even a downshift mid-corner, but what I'm use-to, and looking for, is true lift-off oversteer. I don't necessarily mean "snap oversteer", but I do mean something more than the nose simply tucking-in to the apex a very small amount. But I can go into a corner at high-speed and just yank my right foot clear off that pedal in pcars (a huge, huge NO-NO in RL in a rear-biased car), and nothing bad happens. I don't even get much turn-in, let alone anything resembling the back trying to step-out, and nothing at all resembling snap oversteer, unless I tap the brakes etc. etc. (see above).

For background, I drive in amateur motorsports frequently (autocross, ice-racing) in classic RR chassis. 80 Porsche 911, 76 Porsche 912E, and 68 VW Beetle. This means that I don't have a real-life equivalent of any of the current cars in Pcars (can't wait for the Yellowbird!). But I'm incredibly comfortable with the RR configuration. I'm one of those guys who can "lift-rotate-squeeze-go" all day long, over and over and over. So I use the weight distribution of rear-baised cars in real-life, all the time, and I love it. I'm not somebody who wishes the engine was anywhere else. I love the engine in the rear, and to me, that's just the way a car should drive.

I have all driver's aids turned off (allow = none) and and racing with two different rigs at two locations. One has a G25, the other a T500. Both behave the same way.

I've tried:

2011 Ariel Atom 300 Supercharged
2011 Ariel Atom 500 V8 2011
1981 BMW M1 Procar
2009 Ford Focus RS (FF, for reference. Actually produced more lift-off oversteer than ANY of the RR or MR cars for me)
1969 Lotus 49 Cosworth V8
1994 McLaren F1