PDA

View Full Version : SweetFX sweetness :)



Andrew_WOT
01-06-2015, 01:03
Something everyone should at least try, helped overly contrasty image and some blurriness.
How to install Reshade + SweetFX
http://steamcommunity.com/app/234630/discussions/0/613957600539238437/

Just don't use SweetFX presets from Steam post, they are pretty bad.
Use this instead.
https://sfx.thelazy.net/games/preset/3790/

SpeedLimitUnknown
01-06-2015, 01:44
Something everyone should at least try, helped overly contrasty image and some blurriness.
How to install Reshade + SweetFX
http://steamcommunity.com/app/234630/discussions/0/613957600539238437/

Just don't use SweetFX presets from Steam post, they are pretty bad.
Use this instead.
https://sfx.thelazy.net/games/preset/3790/

Does this force the game to run in 32-bit mode? I was under the impression reshade didn't support 64-bit?

Andrew_WOT
01-06-2015, 02:43
Don't think so, still see pCars64.exe in the task list. I believe it was a problem with earlier version of SweetFX.

Aldo Zampatti
01-06-2015, 02:43
reshade definitely works at x64.
Ask "the screenshot guys" in that thread, those are SWFX and reshade gurus

SpeedLimitUnknown
01-06-2015, 02:48
Thanks! I tried it out and it is using pcars64.exe

It really brightens up the colors! I disabled LUMASHARPEN as I found the default too sharp and prefer a softer look. This SWEETFX preset only reduces fps by around 5% with my GTX 970 but since I'm well over 100 fps on ultra it's not an issue.

I run with vsync ON at 60 fps anyway which smooths out the framerate and completely removes the stutter I was getting without vsync and running at 150 fps.

I also tried -fpscap but can't stand screen tearing and still didn't give me the smooth gameplay I get with vsync on.

Andrew_WOT
01-06-2015, 03:04
Thanks! I tried it out and it is using pcars64.exe

It really brightens up the colors! I disabled LUMASHARPEN as I found the default too sharp and prefer a softer look. It seems to reduce fps by 10% but not a huge hit since I'm well over 100 fps anyway and run with vsync to smooth out the framerate.

What preset are you using, the one from Steam post had too aggressive lumasharpen, DriverClub from the link in first post is pretty mild. If using just default SweetFX settings, it has SMAA enabled, that might impact your FPS and does not look too good on the top of pCars AA as far as I can tell (some extra artifacts on vertical lines)

SpeedLimitUnknown
01-06-2015, 03:11
Yeah, the presets from the steam link are crazy sharp! I'm using the DriveClub preset but still found it too sharp so disabled lumasharpen. Gives me the default sharpness I had with MSAA but with the brighter colors.

Andrew_WOT
01-06-2015, 03:57
I am on DS2X myself and DriveClub preset sharpness looks just allright on 1600p monitor.
MSAA was one flickering artifacts galore for me.

TrevorAustin
01-06-2015, 06:56
You aren't getting any crashes with this?

Andrew_WOT
01-06-2015, 15:13
So far so good.

sherpa25
01-06-2015, 15:56
I am on DS2X myself and DriveClub preset sharpness looks just allright on 1600p monitor.
MSAA was one flickering artifacts galore for me.

Thanks. With DS2X, you no longer have FXAA or SMAA activated in-game? Tried DS2X at 1.25 DSR and get some nasty flickering fences. :)

Andrew_WOT
01-06-2015, 17:17
Thanks. With DS2X, you no longer have FXAA or SMAA activated in-game? Tried DS2X at 1.25 DSR and get some nasty flickering fences. :)

Not sure if you went through this post from Mark http://forum.projectcarsgame.com/showthread.php?23619-SMAA-and-MSAA&highlight=screenshots, but it contains gobs of super useful info on how AA works in pCars.

I am currently on DS2X (no DSR) and in game SMAA. Best sharpness, performance, smoothness balance.
MSAA alone was awful (flicker), DSR (1.5x) + MSAA was pretty good, perhaps the cleanest as far as artifacts go option, but a bit blurry, I have tried to play with DSR smoothness but it just added jaggies. Perhaps with Lumasharpen it will be alright, need to test.

knightvision
01-06-2015, 19:26
i used this preset also for a couple of days now! with no problems at all! i even have win 8.1 64

sherpa25
02-06-2015, 00:29
Not sure if you went through this post from Mark http://forum.projectcarsgame.com/showthread.php?23619-SMAA-and-MSAA&highlight=screenshots, but it contains gobs of super useful info on how AA works in pCars.

I am currently on DS2X (no DSR) and in game SMAA. Best sharpness, performance, smoothness balance.
MSAA alone was awful (flicker), DSR (1.5x) + MSAA was pretty good, perhaps the cleanest as far as artifacts go option, but a bit blurry, I have tried to play with DSR smoothness but it just added jaggies. Perhaps with Lumasharpen it will be alright, need to test.

Yup. Thanks. :)

Kobus Maree
08-06-2015, 13:59
Something everyone should at least try, helped overly contrasty image and some blurriness.
How to install Reshade + SweetFX
http://steamcommunity.com/app/234630/discussions/0/613957600539238437/

Just don't use SweetFX presets from Steam post, they are pretty bad.
Use this instead.
https://sfx.thelazy.net/games/preset/3790/

worked great thnx. updated from 1.5. with no problems at all.

deleted old files
installed the reshade from link, ran the setup, all worked first time
People not used to sweetfx, open the sweetfx settings with wordpad, and edit the options...1 on 0 off, then to taste (disable vignette for example is a good idea...)

Andrew_WOT
14-06-2015, 18:02
For anyone finding Driveclub (https://sfx.thelazy.net/games/preset/3790/)preset too "cartoonish", try attached.
It has:
- Lumasharpen ON
- SMAA enabled with Ultra values
- Lifted shadows (my biggest gripe with PCars)

MVG Saint
14-06-2015, 21:19
Hi. After setting up ReShade, I now can't play the game. I keep getting this message:

207772

How do I un-install ReShade and Sweet FX? Many thanks :)

TrevorAustin
14-06-2015, 21:40
For anyone finding Driveclub (https://sfx.thelazy.net/games/preset/3790/)preset too "cartoonish", try attached.
It has:
- Lumasharpen ON
- SMAA enabled with Ultra values
- Lifted shadows (my biggest gripe with PCars)

Does that mean i should turn in game smaa off? Are there aby other in game,settings that should be changed or not used?

Andrew_WOT
15-06-2015, 00:17
Does that mean i should turn in game smaa off? Are there aby other in game,settings that should be changed or not used?

No, no changes in game setup.
But after playng with it more I think lifting shadows was too aggressive in my last settings, it works wonder on some tracks but makes colors washed out on others, current bug with HDR brightness in cockpit view doesn't help with evaluation of the final results either.
This one has stock shadows but improved SMAA (Ultra with predication on)