PDA

View Full Version : New GPU?



bosiwow
03-06-2015, 10:09
Hello,
everybody, I don't know if this is the right place to post this, but I'm thinking about a GPU upgrade.
First of all, I haven't got the game yet. Right now I still have the ATI/AMD HD4870 :D ,I'm pretty sure it won't run this game very well.
So I was thinking of upgrading that card. I want to run the game at high settings with a frame rate as high as possible.
I stumbled upon the GTX960 2GB, which seams like a reasonable priced card (+- 220 euros).
There is also a 4GB version of that card for around 260 euros, is it worth the extra cost over the 2GB version for playing project cars @ 1080p?
And is the GTX 960 a good card? I know the GTX 970 is much better, but it costs 380 euros, and I don't want to spend that much money on a GPU. i also have to buy a steering wheel etc.


Note: I'll be playing @ 1080p

Siberian Tiger
03-06-2015, 10:37
In short, you don't Need 4 GB VRAM for Playing on 1080P.
BUT with bigger Resolutions or Downsampling you perhaps will hit a Limit with 2GB.

I don't know the GTX960 and how it performs, i have a GTX970 and im more than happy with it.

Perhaps it is worth to look a Ti Versions of 750/780? -> They seems to be pretty fast and not to expensive also...

Look some Hardware Test's to know which one gives you the Most BANG for your Bucks...

bosiwow
03-06-2015, 11:12
In short, you don't Need 4 GB VRAM for Playing on 1080P.
BUT with bigger Resolutions or Downsampling you perhaps will hit a Limit with 2GB.

I don't know the GTX960 and how it performs, i have a GTX970 and im more than happy with it.

Perhaps it is worth to look a Ti Versions of 750/780? -> They seems to be pretty fast and not to expensive also...

Look some Hardware Test's to know which one gives you the Most BANG for your Bucks...

Thank you, by "bigger Resolutions or Downsampling" do you mean dynamic super resolution?


Also, do you play at 1080p, if so, do you have any idea how much vram is consumed when playing @ 1080p? (can be recorded with GPU-Z)

The 750 ti is about 150 euros, so I think the GTX960 is still a better deal. The 780ti is way too expensive for me :p ( > 600 euros).

Pr3t3nd3r
03-06-2015, 11:25
I have a GTX760 and I am happy with it. So if you buy a 960 you will be pleased with the buy I think because 960 is a little bit better than 760 ;) (check this link https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WZPrcYkJg7o)

Just keep in mind that you won't be able to max pCARS for sure :)

But I play with 1080p resolution all setings set to medium except Car details is set on Ultra and texture resolution is maxed. I get rock solid 60 FPS with 50-80& GPU usage when conditions are set to clear and 50-60 FPS at the thunderstorm (measured on Azure Circuit).

So go for it! :)

EDIT: Vram consumption at 1080p with my settings is around 1.400-1.700 MB so you will be fine with the 2GB (but I would recommend buying 4GB because it gave some performance improvements - but not with all games)

could_do_better
03-06-2015, 11:30
If you are running a 4870 it suggests your CPU might be a bit long in the tooth too.

What CPU do you have? Is it overclocked?

PCars is VERY demanding of the CPU too. The complex tire physics runs at 600Hz.

bosiwow
03-06-2015, 11:36
Thanks for the post Pr3t3nd3r.

@could_do_better
I'm running an AMD phenom II X4 955 BE (4cores/4threads X 3.2GHZ) with 8GB RAM. Would it really bottleneck Project cars?
I'm planning to upgrade the CPU as well, but in a few months maybe when I saved a bit more money ;)

could_do_better
03-06-2015, 11:41
I think it will work pretty well, I am sure there are others here with the same processor. Perhaps do a forum search for others with the same CPU (not sure if signatures show up in searches)
It might start to struggle with AI grids over 10-15 cars. Heavy rain is a bit of a killer too but to be honest I rarely drive in the wet, its challenging enough in the dry for me. :)
The Nvidia drivers are a lot more CPU efficient than AMD so your are probably going the correct route and the card can move to the new CPU once you've saved up.

Bealdor
03-06-2015, 11:43
Moved to Technical Help & Support.

bosiwow
03-06-2015, 11:46
I think it will work pretty well, I am sure there are others here with the same processor. Perhaps do a forum search for others with the same CPU (not sure if signatures show up in searches)
It might start to struggle with AI grids over 10-15 cars. Heavy rain is a bit of a killer too but to be honest I rarely drive in the wet, its challenging enough in the dry for me. :)
The Nvidia drivers are a lot more CPU efficient than AMD so your are probably going the correct route and the card can move to the new CPU once you've saved up.

Okay thank you. This is my first racing game I'll be buying. Hence, I just bought a steering wheel (it's my first :D). So, no rain for me to start I think. Maybe later this year when I'm a bit more used to racing, I can try some rainy laps with my new CPU. But what you guys think, go for the GTX 960? And 4GB over 2GB?

Charger
03-06-2015, 11:52
4GB on a 960 will never get used unless you run at 1440p and then the GPU load will have topped out way before the memory, it's a waste get the 2GB for 1080p, if you were doing 1440p then get the 970.

My GTX770 2GB I can get 98% GPU load and it still only uses about 1300MB of memory on high setting at 1680x1050 so as above if I were on 1080p I would expect it to be around 1500+ but nowhere near 2GB.

I could never understand why they offered 4GB version of mid range cards that would never reach the memory load, only way you may get the memory up at 1440p is to drop everything graphically to as low as possible to keep the load down on the GPU.

Bealdor
03-06-2015, 11:53
I could never understand why they offered 4GB version of mid range cards that would never reach the memory load...

To take more money from those who don't know better. ;)

Charger
03-06-2015, 11:56
You are correct sir, bragging rights for the kiddies ;)

DaFungho
03-06-2015, 11:56
just got my 960 today... but im still at work so i cant give Feedback right now...

switched from a HD7770 so im very very curious what will happen, when i install the new gpu...

Charger
03-06-2015, 11:57
2GB or 4GB at what resolution?

N0body Of The Goat
03-06-2015, 11:58
I would suggest anyone looking at a graphics card upgrade should wait, because the new AMD 3xx cards will be hitting the stores very soon. Even if they are not of interest to you, their introduction will more than likely reduce the prices of older AMD/Nvidia cards. ;)

Charger
03-06-2015, 12:01
Funny you say that, the 980ti just came out and I have seen a lot of 2nd hand 970's going up for around the 200-210 mark in the last couple of days, there may be some bargains to be had from retailers shifting 960/70's , I saw Ebuyer doing a 970 with the Witcher 3 and Batman for 248 delivered and was tempted but I like more of a bargain lol.

bosiwow
03-06-2015, 12:01
@N0body Of The Goat : Oooh, good to know.

So you guys suggest I go for the GTX960 2GB. Does somebody have vram figures of that card @ 1080p? Or is it the same for every card @ 1080P, since it just stores the pixels?

Charger
03-06-2015, 12:03
It will be about 1.5GB usage on PCars.

bosiwow
03-06-2015, 12:10
Okay thank you. Does anybody know when the new AMD series will be released ( what does "very soon" mean :p )
EDIT: I looked it up and it seems like they'll start selling on 24 june.
The sturggle is real.

HBR-Roadhog
03-06-2015, 14:01
Thanks for the post Pr3t3nd3r.

@could_do_better
I'm running an AMD phenom II X4 955 BE (4cores/4threads X 3.2GHZ) with 8GB RAM. Would it really bottleneck Project cars?
I'm planning to upgrade the CPU as well, but in a few months maybe when I saved a bit more money ;)

The 955 is a bit weak. It will run the game but you may run into issues when you get a lot of cars out there and weather. If you keep the settings low it may be ok if you do get a 960 then the CPU will be your bottleneck as your CPU is barely above min spec where as the 960 gpu is above recommended spec.

I have a 955 here and a 1100T but I opted to build another rig with the FX8350 and a GTX750 TI 2gb card. As for frame rate I have adaptive vsync enabled so it hangs right at 60fps before I turned that on it was getting 60-85fps in races and sometimes several hundred fps on other areas. GPU stays cooler when capped at 60. The GTX960 will definitely out perform the 750TI but not with the 955 cpu

I am using medium settings @1080p

Anyway if you are looking for a high frame rate and more than low settings then the 955 may be an issue.

TrevorAustin
03-06-2015, 14:44
Okay thank you. Does anybody know when the new AMD series will be released ( what does "very soon" mean :p )
EDIT: I looked it up and it seems like they'll start selling on 24 june.
The sturggle is real.

I wouldn't wait for the AMD cards, their driver optimisation for P Cars is VERY weak to say the least. No reason to think the 3 series will be better.

And I was originally running dual quad core xeon 3gigs and was severely cpu bottlenecked, approx. 50% performance reduction.

Steve Dean
03-06-2015, 15:31
I don't think anyone has mentioned it but also make sure your PSU ( Power Supply ) has enough wattage & AMPS for whatever card you do look into getting.
My EVGA 780 Superclocked 3GB card for example states this 600 Watt or greater power supply with a minimum of 42 Amp on the +12 volt rail
but this also depends what other hardware you have sucking the juice, that statement on mine @ EVGA website is based on an i7 @ 3.2GHz

HBR-Roadhog
03-06-2015, 15:35
The x60s generally pull a good bit less power than the x80s My 750TI can run on a 400watt PSU so long as it is a single rail PSU.

bosiwow
03-06-2015, 16:59
I currently have a HD4870, this draws more power than a GTX960 AFAIK.

And I'm not going to buy an AMD 300 series, but the release of these cards might lead to a price drop in the nvidia cards :)

HBR-Roadhog
03-06-2015, 17:05
That new GTX 990 looks pretty strong near the same as the new HD395x2. Of course they are both way to expensive at ~$2000

I'll stay with my 750 until the price on the upper end 900 series drops and then may pick up a 970 or 980. For now the 750 does an acceptable job.

bosiwow
03-06-2015, 18:18
If this is true: http://forum.projectcarsgame.com/showthread.php?27276-POST-144-A-question-to-the-devs-about-the-frame-rate-issue/page15&p=952697#post952697 there might be not much reason (at least for Project cars) to upgrade your GPU when Windows 10 comes out, fingers crossed :p

Ripgroove
03-06-2015, 19:13
In short, you don't Need 4 GB VRAM for Playing on 1080P.
BUT with bigger Resolutions or Downsampling you perhaps will hit a Limit with 2GB.

I don't know the GTX960 and how it performs, i have a GTX970 and im more than happy with it.

Perhaps it is worth to look a Ti Versions of 750/780? -> They seems to be pretty fast and not to expensive also...

Look some Hardware Test's to know which one gives you the Most BANG for your Bucks...

GTAV goes way past 2GB VRAM @ 1080p. Most newer titles will be using more and more VRAM.

bosiwow
04-06-2015, 14:18
But does GTA V uses more than 2GB at the settings the GTX960 will be able to keep up with?

Pr3t3nd3r
04-06-2015, 17:07
If this is true: http://forum.projectcarsgame.com/showthread.php?27276-POST-144-A-question-to-the-devs-about-the-frame-rate-issue/page15&p=952697#post952697 there might be not much reason (at least for Project cars) to upgrade your GPU when Windows 10 comes out, fingers crossed :p

Watch this https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XzFe5OOHZko :)

JeyD02
04-06-2015, 17:10
4GB on a 960 will never get used unless you run at 1440p and then the GPU load will have topped out way before the memory, it's a waste get the 2GB for 1080p, if you were doing 1440p then get the 970.

My GTX770 2GB I can get 98% GPU load and it still only uses about 1300MB of memory on high setting at 1680x1050 so as above if I were on 1080p I would expect it to be around 1500+ but nowhere near 2GB.

I could never understand why they offered 4GB version of mid range cards that would never reach the memory load, only way you may get the memory up at 1440p is to drop everything graphically to as low as possible to keep the load down on the GPU.

Not quite correct. Some games demands more than 2+gb even at 1080p
Look at watch dogs.

Charger
05-06-2015, 12:22
Not quite correct. Some games demands more than 2+gb even at 1080p
Look at watch dogs.

Yeah, badly optimised console ports do, when a game struggles to get 60fps with sli Titans says it all really.

Mark Bevan
05-06-2015, 13:08
The 960 is still doing pretty well in pCars, even after the Kepler boosting 353.06 drivers. Performance wise, it sits right between the 770 & the 780 and above the 670, 290 & 290x.

http://www.pcgameshardware.de/Project-CARS-PC-238576/Specials/Benchmark-Test-1158026/

bosiwow
06-06-2015, 17:26
Thank you for the links.

Lars Rosenquist
07-06-2015, 07:34
The 960 is great bang for the buck. If you don't have (or don't want to spend) the cash to spend on a 970, it's the next best thing.

DaFungho
07-06-2015, 08:02
jup... just did that (upgraded from HD7770 to GTX960) - very happy Driver =)

jgaganas
07-06-2015, 08:07
970 is a very solid choice, which should keep you happy for quite some time.

bosiwow
07-06-2015, 12:24
Yeah the GTX 970 looks nice, but I also have to upgrade my cpu/motherbord + I just bought a steering wheel. So I think I'm going for the +- 170 euros cheaper 960.