PDA

View Full Version : force feedback



spine302
03-06-2015, 13:40
So i dumped a lot of cash and got a great wheel pedals and shifter. I can certainly see myself adding on to this setup. I love the force feedback on the wheel. it extremely immerses me. The one improvement i think they should make to this, is foot pedal vibrations.

Could you imagine feeling the RPM's in your feet as you rev at a start line? Or when you feel somebody bang you from behind? the Force feedback is certainly there. But i junk my brand new foot pedals to replace them with force pedals.

Anyone agree?

davideliasirwin
03-06-2015, 14:07
To my knowledge there aren't any consumer pedals with force feedback. There are pedals with load cells that simulate the force needed to brake in a real car.

You can have force feedback that simulates the 4 wheels of your car. It rumbles when you rev your engine, the right wheels rumble when the right side of your car goes off road, you feel a very slight rumble when you get to high speeds to simulate wind noise, everything goes berserk when you crash. But it is not cheap, and you have to be a trouble shooter type of person. Here is what I used for mine:

1) 4 of these: http://www.amazon.com/Reckhorn-Bs-200-Tactile-Transducer-Theater/dp/B00AMH17GC/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1433339964&sr=8-1&keywords=reckhorn+bass
2) 1 of these: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00AEBZ55A?psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=oh_aui_detailpage_o09_s00
3) 1 of these: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B005CLDOW8?psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00
4) this software: http://simxperience.com/en-us/products/simvibe/simvibesoftware.aspx

Then

1) hook up bass transducers to amp
2) hook up amp to power supply
3) run amp to secondary sound card
4) run simvibe.

E30_Hntsvl
03-06-2015, 14:29
I use a fairly inexpensive tactile transducer and amp off eBay - http://www.ebay.com/itm/BASS-SHAKER-SUBWOOFER-AMPLIFIER-AMP-HOME-THEATER-SURROUND-TACTILE-TRANSDUCER-/271832121485?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item3f4a75008d - . Bolted to the cockpit frame, you feel it all down to your feet. I then have bookshelf speakers attached directly to the frame, and these send vibrations all through the frame on the high frequency's.

spine302
03-06-2015, 14:35
To my knowledge there aren't any consumer pedals with force feedback. There are pedals with load cells that simulate the force needed to brake in a real car.

You can have force feedback that simulates the 4 wheels of your car. It rumbles when you rev your engine, the right wheels rumble when the right side of your car goes off road, you feel a very slight rumble when you get to high speeds to simulate wind noise, everything goes berserk when you crash. But it is not cheap, and you have to be a trouble shooter type of person. Here is what I used for mine:

1) 4 of these: http://www.amazon.com/Reckhorn-Bs-200-Tactile-Transducer-Theater/dp/B00AMH17GC/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1433339964&sr=8-1&keywords=reckhorn+bass
2) 1 of these: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00AEBZ55A?psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=oh_aui_detailpage_o09_s00
3) 1 of these: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B005CLDOW8?psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00
4) this software: http://simxperience.com/en-us/products/simvibe/simvibesoftware.aspx

Then

1) hook up bass transducers to amp
2) hook up amp to power supply
3) run amp to secondary sound card
4) run simvibe.

ok i think i'll get this setup. But what do i mount the bass shakers to? I don't have a cage just yet. Just a stand. And i don't want it to add noise, just vibrations. I already have a well built sound system.? Thank you much for the help here, i will be doing this. Just need to know where to mount the shakers on just the stand i have????

Mahjik
03-06-2015, 14:59
ok i think i'll get this setup. But what do i mount the bass shakers to? I don't have a cage just yet. Just a stand. And i don't want it to add noise, just vibrations. I already have a well built sound system.? Thank you much for the help here, i will be doing this. Just need to know where to mount the shakers on just the stand i have????

I would wait until you are ready for a sim rig. There are many affordable ones out there now and I will say, they add a huge amount of immersion to any racing sim.

spine302
03-06-2015, 15:02
What is a Sim RIG?

Mahjik
03-06-2015, 15:12
What is a Sim RIG?

Something like this:

http://www.raceroom.com/shop_usa/gameseats-racesimulators-and-accessories/gameseats-home-simulators/basic-frame.html

davideliasirwin
03-06-2015, 15:46
I built my own cockpit for less than $100 USD and I mounted the bass transducers to that. I decided to build my own rig because I had requirements that most of the pre-built sim rigs to meet.

- I wanted a rig that wasn't very low to the ground or on the ground ( I like to be able to slide in and out of it comfortably)
- it had to be very spacious ( I hate feeling cramped and bumping in to everything and I needed to be able to add bass transducers and other parts to it)
- it had to be easy to customize ( since it is made of wood, I can remove and add things as needed. Plus it will be easy to take apart into small pieces if I move)
- It had to be cheap ( It was less than $100).

davideliasirwin
03-06-2015, 15:48
ok i think i'll get this setup. But what do i mount the bass shakers to? I don't have a cage just yet. Just a stand. And i don't want it to add noise, just vibrations. I already have a well built sound system.? Thank you much for the help here, i will be doing this. Just need to know where to mount the shakers on just the stand i have????

The bass transducers combined with Simvibe only output vibrations. You will feel/hear the loud vibrations of the rumble strip, but you won't hear audio from the game.

spine302
03-06-2015, 20:00
I built my own cockpit for less than $100 USD and I mounted the bass transducers to that. I decided to build my own rig because I had requirements that most of the pre-built sim rigs to meet.

- I wanted a rig that wasn't very low to the ground or on the ground ( I like to be able to slide in and out of it comfortably)
- it had to be very spacious ( I hate feeling cramped and bumping in to everything and I needed to be able to add bass transducers and other parts to it)
- it had to be easy to customize ( since it is made of wood, I can remove and add things as needed. Plus it will be easy to take apart into small pieces if I move)
- It had to be cheap ( It was less than $100).

How did you possibly build somthign for under 100 bucks? do you have an image or instructions?

davideliasirwin
03-06-2015, 21:06
The materials are as follows:

1) 15 - 20 2x4x8 boards at $2-$3 a board.
2) 2 4x8 foot "sheathing" boards at around $9 bucks each.
3) 2 boxes of 2.5 inch drywall screws at around 6 bucks each.

Total was around $80.

The caveat is that it is a large cockpit. It measures 3 foot by 6 foot.

I didn't have any design plans when I started, but it turned out better than I could have hoped for. It is incredibly sturdy and meets all of my needs.

Roger Prynne
03-06-2015, 21:21
That's very frugal... and just goes to show what you can do for very little money.

TAGS Battfink
03-06-2015, 21:33
I put the sub from my 1000 watt 5.1 system up against the back of my seat on my rig, then turned it up to max whilst dropping the volume of the rest. It rumbles right through the whole rig. Wicked ;)

XII AVENGER IIX
03-06-2015, 22:23
One of the reasons I want to build my rig out of wood is so the speakers, combined with a transducer, will send the vibrations through the entire cockpit. You don't make a violin out of steel ;) Can't wait to build it next month

Roger Prynne
03-06-2015, 22:36
One of the reasons I want to build my rig out of wood is so the speakers, combined with a transducer, will send the vibrations through the entire cockpit. You don't make a violin out of steel ;) Can't wait to build it next month
Oh yes you do... ;)


https://youtu.be/UHVk-MsJsdg

davideliasirwin
03-06-2015, 23:22
One of the reasons I want to build my rig out of wood is so the speakers, combined with a transducer, will send the vibrations through the entire cockpit. You don't make a violin out of steel ;) Can't wait to build it next month

I also thought wood would a good medium to carry the vibrations, which is one of the reasons I used it.

XII AVENGER IIX
04-06-2015, 04:06
I knew someone would contradict this, didn't say you couldn't haha! But there's a reason 99% are wood! :)

Roger Prynne
04-06-2015, 08:12
It was just a joke, not a contradiction per se, hence the smilie.... ;)

IanSmith
18-06-2015, 02:27
I just bought a used (obviously) Micro$oft Sidewinder X05 wheel. The force feedback works, but it stutters a kicks a bunch. Is this a known problem or did I buy a bum wheel?