PDA

View Full Version : Time for a CPU upgrade?



doctharock
05-06-2015, 17:53
So I have been debating on whether or not I need a cpu upgrade. I would really only need it for this game as I have an i7 2600k OC'ed to 4.6 ghz and have zero problems with any other game. With that OC the game freezes quite a bit. Without the overclock, the freezing goes away, but my frame rates drop by a good chuck, almost 20%, because, you know, AMD drivers pretty much suck (have a 290x) and the cpu is obviously not running as fast. I very much plan on buying a 980Ti in a few weeks to remedy the AMD issue, as I am tired of outdated and crappy drivers. However, What about the cpu? Does any one else have a 2600k, and if so, how's it work for you with a nvidia card? I am thinking of going to an i7 4790k (use the machine for working as well so need the hyperthreading). So same question to owners of that chip. What kind of frame rates are you seeing on ati and nvidia? Is there a significant enough jump with using that processor in pCars to justify another $450 (cpu and mobo) spent? My current setup does a great job of staying above 60fps at 1080p with most stuff at high to very high settings, but I usually run triples at 5040x1050 and I have to put pretty much everything on low just to stay at 50 fps average. I know that the 980Ti will make this game it's b*tch for the most part, but seeing how so much of the physics is ran through the cpu, I don't want to have that bottleneck it. With DX12 and windows 10 coming, hopefully that will help out the cpu's a good bit, but let me know what you guys think. I love this game, and it has become my favorite sim, but the crashing as low framerates are not making for the greatest experience.

Bealdor
05-06-2015, 17:56
The new 980Ti should be enough. No need for a new CPU imo (especially OC'd).

Umer Ahmad
05-06-2015, 18:00
CPU is fine.

doctharock
05-06-2015, 18:15
CPU is fine.

Thanks mate. I figured as much, but it's always good to have confirmation. I am still interested to see what kind of frame rates other folks out there are getting with a 2600k and a nvidia card, just out of curiosity. Definitely looking forward to getting that 980ti.

could_do_better
05-06-2015, 18:24
Try Windows 10 it's a 25% boost on AMD!

doctharock
05-06-2015, 18:54
Try Windows 10 it's a 25% boost on AMD!

Yeah I gave it a whirl, but it crashes more that Pastor Maldonado, and not just with pCars. Ha.

ajd440ex
05-06-2015, 18:56
I have an older HP HPE h8-1050 PC with an i7 2600 and Asus GTX 660 on Win 7 home. The GTX 660 is the highest I could go with my non UEFI bios. All clocks stock with 58% cpu and 89% to 99% GPU and good temps.

Without Vsync I reach about 95 to 130 fps but I get strange stuttering effects on my 39" HD LCD. With Vsync on and most of the setting default in the Nvidia and Pcars control panel, I get solid 60 fps with very little slow downs. The shadow flickering was reduced a lot by turning off bloom and motion set to low. I drive 3rd person view using an Xbox one controller. The game is working well.

I tried all of the tricks for aliasing and flicker but they killed how the driving felt and cause fps to go below 60. I need windows 10 or a new rig. The rig I have now is just ok running Pcars.

TrevorAustin
05-06-2015, 19:32
I agree the cpu should be fine. I'm getting great frame rates on a 970, 980ti should kill it. Although i think i wpuld get 2 970s for that money!

doctharock
07-06-2015, 16:18
I agree the cpu should be fine. I'm getting great frame rates on a 970, 980ti should kill it. Although i think i wpuld get 2 970s for that money!

I try to avoid sli/crossfire like the plague. Would rather have a more powerful card and spend a few extra dollars. But that's just me.

cyberfred
07-06-2015, 18:37
I confirm , cpu is fine , especially a 2600k@4.6 ;)
I tested many cpu at this frequency : i7 2600k , 3770k and 4790k (all at 4.5-46 Ghz) and in game , they are substantially equal ;)
(1 or 2 fps difference in full hd with a gtx 970))

Umer Ahmad
07-06-2015, 19:06
I try to avoid sli/crossfire like the plague. Would rather have a more powerful card and spend a few extra dollars. But that's just me.

Yeah for single screen players it's dumb, i moving back to single gpu. IF i go triples then i'll consider it again

doctharock
08-06-2015, 12:08
After some testing, I figured out that it was more so that I had my chip OC'ed a little too much. Backed the OC down to 4.2 from 4.7 and it hasn't crashed since. I did lose about 3-4 fps, but worth the trade off. I also messed about with the graphics settings quite a bit to try and get that FPS back. Turns out that by turning shadows completely off (i was running on low previously) and changing AA from High to MSAA, I was able to add nearly 30 fps. I am now hovering around 70-80 fps on triple screens with most settings on low except for textures which is high and track quality which is also high. So anyone with an ATI card might want to adjust those two settings to get more fps if you haven't done so already.

I appreciate all the responses. Saved me a few hundred bucks.

Mulder89
09-06-2015, 16:49
Keep the cpu it is a great one, especially at that speed!

Liquid_Drummer
09-06-2015, 17:10
2600k at 4.6 and all is well here. You can run in to CPU limited situations with enough cars and enough rain particles if you don't watch your setttings. I am single screen and thinking of going SLI. I want a much higher level of anti aliasing because I am using a 55 inch low lag LCD and the larger the screen the more jaggies you see. Thinking of trying an experiment with 3 pico projectors to get "cheap" seamless triple screen on a fairly large scale. Goona be tough to build though.