PDA

View Full Version : Ai slider...



madmaz116
06-06-2015, 09:02
Sorry if this has been asked already, but when I move the Ai difficulty slider it only move in 10% increments , is this a bug or is it meant to be like that? , im not that good a driver I race on 60% if I try 70% I get creamed, so would be nice if i could just notch up the Ai by 1 or 2% just to make it a little bit more competitive for me

Thanks guys

DozUK
06-06-2015, 09:17
Sorry if this has been asked already, but when I move the Ai difficulty slider it only move in 10% increments , is this a bug or is it meant to be like that? , im not that good a driver I race on 60% if I try 70% I get creamed, so would be nice if i could just notch up the Ai by 1 or 2% just to make it a little bit more competitive for me

Thanks guys

I believe with a wheel you can fine tune in increments of one but not with a controller. It needs fixing as I would like somewhere in between increments of 10

Roger Prynne
06-06-2015, 10:18
I think Ian said it would be 2% increments in a patch.

Slicker_VR
06-06-2015, 11:12
just stick it on 100% and drive faster :D

madmaz116
08-06-2015, 12:32
I think Ian said it would be 2% increments in a patch.

Great thanks.

madmaz116
08-06-2015, 12:33
just stick it on 100% and drive faster :D

lol

danowat
08-06-2015, 12:42
I think Ian said it would be 2% increments in a patch.

Why the decision to do 2% and not 1%?

Zenzic
08-06-2015, 12:48
Why the decision to do 2% and not 1%?

If this is true I'm curious about the answer to this question as well, since the sliders in photo mode do work with increments of 1 while the range is a lot bigger than 1 to 100. If anything photo mode would benefit from larger increments...

hitmanvega
08-06-2015, 12:53
What wheel/platform?
I believe with a wheel you can fine tune in increments of one but not with a controller. It needs fixing as I would like somewhere in between increments of 10

Roger Prynne
08-06-2015, 12:57
Why the decision to do 2% and not 1%?

I did say "I think Ian said"...

There was a hell of a lot going on that night so I could be wrong.

But whatever it will be changed.

Praggia
08-06-2015, 13:01
And exactly how much of a difference do you think that will make if you can adjust it in increments of as little as 1%

RobMUFC1987
08-06-2015, 13:04
And exactly how much of a difference do you think that will make if you can adjust it in increments of as little as 1%

People like me might find 90 too easy but 100 to hard. My perfect setting could be say 94 or 97. Going up in 10s is a big difference. Going up 5 would be a lot better

danowat
08-06-2015, 13:12
And exactly how much of a difference do you think that will make if you can adjust it in increments of as little as 1%

Does the PC version have 1% increments?

Bealdor
08-06-2015, 13:12
Yes, but only when you're using the mouse.

doyley101
08-06-2015, 15:07
And exactly how much of a difference do you think that will make if you can adjust it in increments of as little as 1%

1% of a 1:45 lap is 1.5 seconds, which could be half the field of a spec series.

1% too slow at Le Mans equates to about 4 laps off the pace by the end of the race :)

Bealdor
08-06-2015, 17:01
1% of a 1:45 lap is 1.5 seconds, which could be half the field of a spec series.

1% too slow at Le Mans equates to about 4 laps off the pace by the end of the race :)

Your math is fooling you here mate. 1% less AI strength doesn't necessarily mean 1% slower laptimes.
I extensively tested the Clio Cup during development and the difference between 85% and 100% was ~2s on a track like Donington Int.

danowat
08-06-2015, 18:00
2s is massive

Bealdor
08-06-2015, 18:06
2s is massive

Yes but that's a 15% difference. That means a 2% slider will roughly make a difference of only 0.25-0.3 seconds.

J.P.Montoya
09-06-2015, 08:04
I hope the fix to the AI slider comes on the 1.05 update. The 10% gap is huge, its common to be in a situation where the AI is too easy and you add 10% and it becomes too hard

Praggia
09-06-2015, 08:39
makes no difference whether is PC or console. The difference when adjusting the slider in 1% increments is miniscule. There is no way of accurately judging the gains unless you run the same race with the same conditions same cars and do the exact same lap as your previous run to judge the performance of the AI....Not even the Stig could do that.

Mascot
09-06-2015, 08:40
Yes, but only when you're using the mouse.

Joke post?

Zenzic
09-06-2015, 08:42
makes no difference whether is PC or console. The difference when adjusting the slider in 1% increments is miniscule. There is no way of accurately judging the gains unless you run the same race with the same conditions same cars and do the exact same lap as your previous run to judge the performance of the AI....Not even the Stig could do that.

It's not only the AI slider that's suffering from this issue. For steering wheel deadzone 1% is a huge difference.

Bealdor
09-06-2015, 08:46
Joke post?

No? just an answer to this question:


Does the PC version have 1% increments?

When I'm using the keyboard to adjust those settings I'm tied to the same 10% increments that the consoles have.

Roger Prynne
09-06-2015, 10:02
Joke post?

No he means when using the mouse to move the slider.

Photonmonkey
09-06-2015, 12:10
Is the issue true of more sliders as I noticed I can only set time of day by the hour not minute or is this how it is meant to be?

Bealdor
09-06-2015, 12:19
Is the issue true of more sliders as I noticed I can only set time of day by the hour not minute or is this how it is meant to be?

That's how it's meant to be on all platforms.

Mascot
09-06-2015, 14:28
No? just an answer to this question:

When I'm using the keyboard to adjust those settings I'm tied to the same 10% increments that the consoles have.

Yep, I knew you were answering that question, I thought you were joking about only being able to move in one degree increments with the mouse.

Is this something the devs are looking at?

Bealdor
09-06-2015, 14:33
Yep, I knew you were answering that question, I thought you were joking about only being able to move in one degree increments with the mouse.

Is this something the devs are looking at?

Ahh... slight misunderstanding from my side. I don't know if those 10% increments are applied on PC when using a pad because I never use one. Totally forgot about this possibility, sorry.

I know the devs are fixing the gamepad input but I don't know if this fix also applies to keyboards.