PDA

View Full Version : Slow motion



TJ_Rider
14-06-2015, 21:11
Hello there.

i am having quite an issue here, and i don't know what is the cause.

while a play with certain car in certain track, it's like i'm playing in alow motion.
like, i'm doing 270 km/h but actually, it's like i'm doing 80km/h.... the straight line of Suzuka takes like forever even when i doing full speed with the F1.

however, if i play in "practice" mode, the speed gets back to normal....

how is this possible`?

anyone here having the same problem?

Pink_650S
14-06-2015, 21:18
Can you post a video?

KartKingCorre
14-06-2015, 21:20
Well, I thought I was going mad at the time, but now that you mention this, here is my experience.
I have had a similar issue with a Formula B, though not as extreme as you mention. I was observing the timer and the seconds definitely ticked slower! The car went slower as well.
I have had this happen once during a quick race weekend. (it slowed down and came back to normal a few times). It was also on Suzuka! And I think it happened around the end of the 2nd sector till somewhere in the 3rd secor..
I remember going to a practice session to check if this was a permanent issue, but all was normal. Should've taken a video.
But as I said, the slow motion wasnt that "slow", so I thought I was just halucinating and didnt give it enough attention.


I suppose you are playing on the PS4 , since you post it the PS4 section. You should change your platform in your profile, so people can help you better and faster

TJ_Rider
14-06-2015, 23:07
soon i will post a video, it will be tricky to film and play at the same time :)

Pink_650S
14-06-2015, 23:30
You can record with the PS4, you know.

TJ_Rider
15-06-2015, 19:10
True, didn't think of this. stupid question but.... how do i upload that to youtube?

Pink_650S
15-06-2015, 20:02
You go to your Gallery, then hold "Share" to upload.

TJ_Rider
15-06-2015, 21:16
ok here we are.

i shot 2 videos.

the first is the one with the bug "slow-motion bug"
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M-ApJeQLi54
look at the speed and the actual speed...

now take a look at this one, without the bug (practice mode, alone)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YrMb6Yc9iOw
notice also how quicker i make an entire lap.

so.... what's this "bug" about?

Roger Prynne
15-06-2015, 21:20
^^^ How many AI are you racing against in that first video?

TJ_Rider
15-06-2015, 21:22
i find out that the more player (AI) are activated, the slower it gets... that's a hint ;)

TJ_Rider
15-06-2015, 21:22
the max allowed.

Roger Prynne
15-06-2015, 21:28
What's the max allowed number then on PS4?

But yeah there's your answer the more AI the more it will slow down... much the same with my aging PC.

Umer Ahmad
15-06-2015, 21:28
AI take up CPU cycles

Under 12 = Green Flag
Under 30 = Yellow Flag

(meaning you might be pushing your CPU above 30, depending on your CPU of course. You i7 guys are fine though)

TJ_Rider
15-06-2015, 21:32
the max allowed.

Well it dipends of the track i guess, suzuka has something around 40 if i'm not wrong... gotta check to make sure

but still, i don't get the point to allow 35+ ai player, adn then play in slowmotion... wouldn't be more logical to limit the max player and play at the fullest speed? in the end, this is a racing game, speed is everything :)

finally i figured out why sometimes in practice i had much more problem then in a raceweekend :D

Roger Prynne
15-06-2015, 21:32
Who are you referring to Umer?
If me then it's like telling grandma how to suck eggs.

Umer Ahmad
15-06-2015, 21:34
No, just general knowledge that AI are not "free", there's a small computing cost and persons with weaker CPUs may hit their limit. Personally I don't use more than 15 AI i Quick races and I have not yet started my career (waiting for Doug's AI rain fixes to finalize)

Roger Prynne
15-06-2015, 21:36
Yeah I don't use more than 15 myself.

Don't forget that we are in the PS4 thread as well.

TJ_Rider
15-06-2015, 21:40
that's the point.

i can undertand that a PC user can only apply a number of AI that it's computer can support.

but on a "standard console" i mean... should not this be "standard" that goes all fine and smooth?

anyway, to make it short, i simply lowered the number of AI and the all is fine but still, it bother me tha fact that "i can do something" but in the end, the machine (PS4) cannot handle it.

KartKingCorre
15-06-2015, 21:41
well I got exactly the same thing on suzuka..

Roger Prynne
15-06-2015, 21:46
You still get a good race though even with less AI.

TJ_Rider
15-06-2015, 21:59
You still get a good race though even with less AI.

sure nothing to say against it.

normally i race with 10 to 20 drivers, and is good enough.

i just wanted to try with the max and, there the result.