PDA

View Full Version : Brakes and DRS



Praggia
15-06-2015, 08:28
Not sure if this has been mentioned before.....Brake discs not always glowing under heavy braking. Happens on different cars and multiple locations.
Watched replay first lap car brake discs glowing under braking and on the next lap....nothing.
Also how is DRS enabled for the "DTM races" using identical cars ie Merc DTM C Class. It seems to be working when a replay is viewed but when in chase cam view the rear wing does not seem to be working??The wing looks like it is a fixed wing.

KartKingCorre
15-06-2015, 10:03
About the brake disc glow: It only happens above a certain temperature (temp is different for each car). So I'm guessing your brakes were hot 1st lap, but since your brake vents were opened too much, they cooled down too much and didnt glow (were not up to temperature) for the second lap. So try closing your brake vents. You should monitor the brake temps on the motec or the telemetry HUD.

I'm still wondering if other online players can see your disc glow.. Can you see the AI's disc glow in single player? (what about AI online then?)

About the DRS: It works fine with me, the merc DTM's wing pivots down when DRS activated. You have to keep DRS pressed though (same as the P1), as opposed to the formula A cars (Have only tried it once pre-patch, so maybe now there might be a bug, dunno)

I suppose you are playing on the PS4 , since you post it the PS4 section. You should change your platform in your profile, so people can help you better and faster.

jackd94
15-06-2015, 12:03
I also think the brake glow is bugged. As I have tried to see it on the f1 by getting the brakes up to 2000c but still no glow.

buggie_brain
15-06-2015, 12:11
I also think the brake glow is bugged. As I have tried to see it on the f1 by getting the brakes up to 2000c but still no glow.

I think the brake disc on a F1 are covered so that might explain why you can't see the glow.

Bealdor
15-06-2015, 12:13
I think the brake disc on a F1 are covered so that might explain why you can't see the glow.

^^This. No glow because shrowded.

m3lover1
15-06-2015, 18:43
The DRS for the DTM works. I was driving it for the first time yesterday, and drove in chase cam just to check it out. I was having so much fun just watching it pivoting up and down that I shot straight through a corner and completely totaled the car.

GT_Racing
16-06-2015, 20:49
^^This. No glow because shrowded.

What year F1 cars are supposed to be emulated in this game?

apexatspeed
16-06-2015, 20:51
I think the brake disc on a F1 are covered so that might explain why you can't see the glow.

https://33.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_lqk5eoYOSD1qlt7lao1_500.gif

https://c1.staticflickr.com/5/4111/5061212698_a31aba1557_b.jpg

I don't know exactly what year the cars are supposed to be copying, but you can see the brakes glow on some of the V8 era cars.

jackd94
16-06-2015, 22:46
https://33.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_lqk5eoYOSD1qlt7lao1_500.gif

https://c1.staticflickr.com/5/4111/5061212698_a31aba1557_b.jpg

I don't know exactly what year the cars are supposed to be copying, but you can see the brakes glow on some of the V8 era cars.

They are supposedly 2011 era

yusupov
16-06-2015, 22:49
is that accurate, that drs for dtm cars must be held down?? pretty sure raceroom doesnt model it this way

MULTIVITZ
16-06-2015, 23:05
The DRS on the FA kept opening on its own yesterday, no joke, it had I mind of it's own, only closing when I braked then opening again at any part of the track as soon as I got up some speed! I thought my diff had malfunctioned(kept spinning out) like that poor guy had on the ring, but I was at Cat Nat in TT with TCS off. I ended up assigning my R2 button and using chase cam to monitor it. DRS makes a difference I can tell ya!

BDR Daz
16-06-2015, 23:37
is that accurate, that drs for dtm cars must be held down?? pretty sure raceroom doesnt model it this way

When I raced it the other day I only pressed it once to activate (and once again to deactivate is I wasnt braking into a corner) just like it works on the FA

wyldanimal
17-06-2015, 16:30
Hot Brakes, Ha!
as an experiment last month..

I wanted to see when the brakes turn red on the telemetry
Brakes transition from Orange-Red to Red-Orange at about 4500f
I tried to get them to 6000f, but best I could get was 5960f

The Disc Glow on the car, never Glows any Brighter, no Matter how much Hotter above 1000f you get them.

3800f tan / Straw
208111

4200f orange-red
208113

4500f red-orange
208114

5960f red, that's as hot as I could get them.. could't reach 6000f
208115

apexatspeed
17-06-2015, 18:09
They are supposedly 2011 era

Well I believe this is a 2011 car:

https://33.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_lqk5eoYOSD1qlt7lao1_500.gif

If that is the case I don't get why people on these forums keep saying you can't see F1 cars brakes glowing back then.

Bealdor
17-06-2015, 18:48
Well I believe this is a 2011 car:

https://33.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_lqk5eoYOSD1qlt7lao1_500.gif

If that is the case I don't get why people on these forums keep saying you can't see F1 cars brakes glowing back then.

It's not an F1 car it's an FA car (fictional) and it was decided that it has shrouded brakes you can't see glowing.

apexatspeed
17-06-2015, 20:02
It's not an F1 car it's an FA car (fictional) and it was decided that it has shrouded brakes you can't see glowing.

I'm aware that it isn't real. I am mostly writing this in response to stuff like this:

"I think the brake disc on a F1 are covered so that might explain why you can't see the glow."

Or others who claim you don't see FA cars brakes glowing because you can't see them in the F1 cars they are based on. I have seen the claim more than once.