PDA

View Full Version : My specs: are they enough?



Bartolo
21-06-2015, 13:00
I do not have great resolution,
plus my FPS does not go above 40 or so when racing
here are my specs:
Intel i7 2.20GHz 2.20GHz 8GB RAM
no advanced graphics card just what was in the computer

No one here has 2.20GHz nor a stock graphics card
When I purchased the computer I was not helped very much
although I asked many questions
Thanks for any help

Baron_Greenback
21-06-2015, 13:12
What do you mean by stock graphics? Is there a separate card, or is your monitor plugged into your motherboard I/O?
If you're using onboard graphics you're lucky to be getting 40 FPS.

Bartolo
21-06-2015, 13:25
Yes I meant the junky graphics card that was already in the computer.
I've spent some hours last nite researching and trying to learn what all of these things are. I do thank you and everyone else, believe me, it's appreciated, but I do want you to know I'm trying to educate myself, and will not
just ask question after question.
I'm pretty sure I need to purchase a quality grahics card, and I also have an inexpensive motherboard.
All of you have very very nice motherboards.
Well, at least I have a decent monitor, computer and rig. It's just so tough to spend for the better stuff,
especially the graphics card. Holy Shrimp they are a lot!
Thank you Baron

MULTIVITZ
21-06-2015, 13:28
Ebay init.

Baron_Greenback
21-06-2015, 13:33
Download a program called GPU-Z, so we can assess the damage (the specs of the card) http://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/
If you can post a screenshot of the results that would be helpful.

Bartolo
21-06-2015, 13:51
Looks like starting over for me
I did tell the tech when buying I wanted a dedicated system for racing only
but I feel he really did not know nor care. At least I have a decent monitor/rig.
Thanks guys

UMadBro
24-06-2015, 07:58
So, since I only have a laptop using a Intel card with Windows 7, I can still run pretty games at a pretty rate of 30fps.