PDA

View Full Version : Thoughts from a 34 year old Dad with 15 years removed from gaming.

sailordude9980
07-07-2015, 22:57
I have had project cars for a month now. At first, it was really frustrating. Now its SO MUCH FUN. So how did that happen?

1. Bit the bullet, got a G27 race wheel. (didn't have to be that one, just first one I thought of)
2. Realize that I am a horrible driver. What I mean is I SUCK AT DRIVING, and that is OK right now. I see improvements.
3. Programming is not easy. Taking a C++ programming class at the old age of 34. Wow, how the bleep.....
4. Patience, Patience, Patience.....Read Read Read....Test Test Test. Its called a simulator. How many of us know how to tune a car in real life? Not me. I only know how to break one.
5. There is a human on the other end of the ethernet cord. I say again, there is a human being that is on your side. That said, he or she is not your therapist.

The Europeans love racing (had no idea how popular it was over there). I didn't realize how much they knew about cars. We Americans (can only speak for myself) loath at our muscle cars, but Europeans really know their stuff when it comes to cars and how to race on a track. (I grew up 15 min away from Indy 500 racetrack)

Oh and today I forgot how much fun a manual transmission is to drive. At the end of the day, I try to have fun. Its cheesy, its corny. I heard the word fanboy for the first time. My 10 year old called me that yesterday....(only once). Life is hard enough.

Slowsley
08-07-2015, 01:51
Cool man. Now let's get you into sports car racing. It's pretty decent here on our side of the pond too, just the coverage sucks so you'll have to stream mostly, but sounds like you're ripe and ready.

Joethe147
08-07-2015, 02:20
I have had project cars for a month now. At first, it was really frustrating. Now its SO MUCH FUN. So how did that happen?

1. Bit the bullet, got a G27 race wheel. (didn't have to be that one, just first one I thought of)