PDA

View Full Version : Why can't I see wheter ABS, Traction control or Stability control is enabled?



wadafaka
16-07-2015, 22:39
First of all, I have set the allowed assists to REAL. It is my understanding that if the car has an option like ABS etc in real life, it will be available and turned on by default, however, I will have the ability to turn it on/off as I please.
For whatever reason I can only see the options in out-car camera (which is annoying enough by itself) but also not on every car.

For example in the Renault Clio I get this kind of UI... with NO visual indicators for ABS/Traction control/Stability control..
212136

and in the Renault Megane, I get a different kind of UI which does have the visual indicators..
212137
What is going on?? I am 100% sure that a Renault Clio has ABS, Traction control etc. Why can't I see it ANYWHERE??! This is confusing as hell.:confused:
Please for the love of god.. have a little message popup or icon in ANY camera when toggling one of the options.

TMoney
16-07-2015, 22:46
From left to right: ABS, TC, Stability. If they're disabled they won't be there.

212138

It only shows in the external HUD as pictured here. There's a bug where if you switch from cockpit to external with the HUD on it stays to the Motec style display (shown in your first pic) which doesn't show the active aids. Cycle the HUD again while in external view to fix it. Unfortunately there's no way to see the aids from cockpit view.

wadafaka
16-07-2015, 22:50
I tried that already.. even if I start the race in external camera.. it is locked to that Motec style display.. I cycle HUD, camera modes.. even tried cycling the Motec display.. nothing works :( It is the same in career mode and free practice

TMoney
16-07-2015, 23:03
Oh I see. Is the Clio the only car with this issue? Probably another bug with the HUD for that car.

Roger Prynne
16-07-2015, 23:06
That's not a bug as some cars have the motec and some have the other display, also I don't think the Clio has any aids anyway.... does it?
Also don't forget that some cars have motec in the cockpit and some don't, so the displays in external view reflect this.

wadafaka
16-07-2015, 23:18
That's not a bug as some cars have the motec and some have the other display, also I don't think the Clio has any aids anyway.... does it?
Also don't forget that some cars have motec in the cockpit and some don't, so the displays in external view reflect this.Look I know for a fact that I can turn Traction control on/off.. because it will lock the Traction control slip option in the tuning setup.. ABS I can kinda test by braking hard.. etc.. So I am 100% sure that it has these options.

If the Motec style HUD is the only view available, then there is no visual indicator at all anywhere for these 3 options..come on :\
Can someone else test the clio? Just go free practice mode and see if you have the Motec style or the round one.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xZsxqKY4WWE
As you can see, no matter how many times I flip through HUD modes and camera modes.. I am stuck with this Motec style display that does not show ABS, Traction control and Stability control :(
If this is "normal"... they really need to add a popup message or something because this is just ridiculous

F1_Racer68
16-07-2015, 23:33
Sorry to disagree, but the MoTeC style display does show the aids if the car has them and if they are enabled. I know for a fact that it shows on the BMW Z4 GT3, even in hood/external views, because I run that car in hood (bonnet) cam every day. It shows them in the bottom left corner of the display. The McLaren P1 also shows DRS in that area along with the standard TCS, ABS and Stability Control.

TheReaper GT
16-07-2015, 23:34
You don't have any indicators because the car don't have any. The clio cup doesn't have abs, TCS or esc. It doesn't even have braking servo assist. After read a review of the real car I found the project cars representation very accurate, including the engine braking that you need in slow corners and the happy tail.

Roger Prynne
16-07-2015, 23:37
I didn't think it did, just couldn't remember.

And I always get the correct displays in every car, for example the BMW M3 only has the ABS shown in the motec because that's all it has in real life.

wadafaka
16-07-2015, 23:39
Sorry to disagree, but the MoTeC style display does show the aids if the car has them and if they are enabled. I know for a fact that it shows on the BMW Z4 GT3, even in hood/external views, because I run that car in hood (bonnet) cam every day. It shows them in the bottom left corner of the display. The McLaren P1 also shows DRS in that area along with the standard TCS, ABS and Stability Control.

I tested the BMW Z4 GT3 and indeed, I can see the options there.. but not on the clio.
However, just like the BMW Z4 I can enable and disable the traction control (which will in turn allow me to change traction control slip in tuning setup

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KYOVDFJj414

So, can you test the clio? Do you see the options in that car?

F1_Racer68
16-07-2015, 23:43
I tested the BMW Z4 GT3 and indeed, I can see the options there.. but not on the clio.
However, just like the BMW Z4 I can enable and disable the traction control (which will in turn allow me to change traction control slip in tuning setup

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KYOVDFJj414

So, can you test the clio? Do you see the options in that car?

As mentioned above, the car doesn't actually have them so you will not see the indicators. When you turn the aids on, I suspect you are actually enabling the game provided driver aids which are always available for use, but are not "real".

TheReaper GT
16-07-2015, 23:44
I tested the BMW Z4 GT3 and indeed, I can see the options there.. but not on the clio.
However, just like the BMW Z4 I can enable and disable the traction control (which will in turn allow me to change traction control slip in tuning setup

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KYOVDFJj414

So, can you test the clio? Do you see the options in that car?

Nope, because the car don't have them. When you enable any of it your using game based aids, not real life aids. It's the same for older cars like the escort or the group 5 cars.

wadafaka
16-07-2015, 23:47
Okay.. I tested it by setting the driving assists to ALL allowed and then I can see the 3 options on the Motec display.
But when set to REAL (and maybe even on all OFF)
I can still change the Traction control slip when I "enable" Traction control (even though it..cannot be enabled, because the car doesn't/shouldn't have the option)... it's a bug then..? Or how is that supposed to work? :confused:

At the very least it is .. misleading :p

TheReaper GT
16-07-2015, 23:52
Okay.. I tested it by setting the driving assists to ALL allowed and then I can see the 3 options on the Motec display.
But when set to REAL (and maybe even on all OFF)
I can still change the Traction control slip when I "enable" Traction control (even though it..cannot enable it, because the car doesn't have the option)... it's a bug then..? Or how is that supposed to work? :confused:

At the very least it is .. misleading :p

It's simple, if you set your aids to real, the car don't have it, period. The game allows you to activate it to make it easier to you, but again, it's not simulation anymore. The traction control slip is an adjust to let you determine how soon the traction control will interfere with your driving. It's not a bug, the real car do not have the indicators and the virtual motel can show whatever the devs want it too.

wadafaka
16-07-2015, 23:56
But.. I don't understand.. it is set to real.. so.. howcome when I push the TCS button.. it gets enabled (but doesn't show up in the HUD)... and allows me to configure Traction Control slip.. how is that... "REAL"
Oh btw I just set the allowed driving assists to "NONE" and when I push the ABS TCS and SC buttons they all light up in the motec display..

am I the only one.. who thinks this is weird.. hell, wrong even?

I thought you could "Allow traction control", to then turn it on/off as you please
and if you choose to disable it.. by setting it to NONE (or REAL in some cases) you shouldn't have the option to turn it on again (during a race)

Plus, if I can turn it on when I shouldn't be able to.. it should at least light up the icon on the motec, no? because then I will have to guess if it's on or not :confused:

Roger Prynne
16-07-2015, 23:57
Yes the 'Traction control slip' in the setup page is a bug and should be disabled on some cars, but it has no effect.
It was just overlooked.

wadafaka
17-07-2015, 00:06
Okay..I still think it's weird that I CAN enable ABS, TC and SC (and see all 3 icons on motec display) when Allowed driving assists is set to NONE
because this means there is no difference between "Allowed ALL, No No No" and "Allowed NONE, No No No"...
I can't enable ABS, TC and SC when it's set to REAL and the option is not on the car though.. at least that part makes sense now.



212139

TheReaper GT
17-07-2015, 00:08
But those are just default settings, you can turn them on in game to get things easier for you if needed.

wadafaka
17-07-2015, 00:12
You are not getting it.

If by setting it to "allowed NONE", you can still toggle them.. then this option is redundant, as it is already covered by "allowed ALL".

If you have options:
-Allowed ALL
-Allowed REAL
-Allowed NONE

It only makes sense that "Allowed NONE" prevents you from toggling the ABS, TC and SC options... or am I just going crazy here..?

EDIT: I will re-read all answers in the morning as it is getting kinda late..but I am pretty sure there is something wrong/illogical here..
Still want to thank everyone that tried to help :) I do appreciate it

TheReaper GT
17-07-2015, 00:17
You are not getting it.

If by setting it to "allowed NONE", you can still toggle them.. then this option is redundant, as it is already covered by "allowed ALL".

If you have options:
-Allowed ALL
-Allowed REAL
-Allowed NONE

It only makes sense that "Allowed NONE" prevents you from toggling the ABS, TC and SC options... or am I just going crazy here..?

No man, when you set to allow none, they are all off by default, but you can still turn them on momentarily. When set to allow all you can set each one individually to be on or off by default. When set to real they will be on by default on cars that have them, all 3 on gt3 cars, just abs on m3 gt, none on the clio or old cars.

wadafaka
17-07-2015, 00:25
No man, when you set to allow none, they are all off by default, but you can still turn them on momentarily. When set to allow all you can set each one individually to be on or off by default. When set to real they will be on by default on cars that have them, all 3 on gt3 cars, just abs on m3 gt, none on the clio or old cars.

Well then there is no difference between:
212141
and
212142

because either way, I seem to be able to toggle all the individual options while I am driving lol.
might as well delete one of those options and rename the other one to "custom"...

TheReaper GT
17-07-2015, 00:29
Strange, when set to none on xbox one the three options became locked. Must be a bug in the menu of the pc version.

Deadzone
17-07-2015, 01:13
On PS4 when you select "none" it locks the three options in the menu, but you can still toggle them on/off while on the track.

TMoney
17-07-2015, 02:14
FYI, the TC slip adjustment is a confirmed bug in the car setup but doesn't have any effect if the car doesn't have TC. Really it should always be greyed out but the bug unlocks the slider if you press the toggle TC button.

Jan Studenski
17-07-2015, 02:24
Well then there is no difference between:
212141
and
212142

because either way, I seem to be able to toggle all the individual options while I am driving lol.
might as well delete one of those options and rename the other one to "custom"...

Exactly

The "Driving Assists Allowed" is just to determine what you wanna use

You can change that to
"None" - then you shouldnt be able to set ABS, TC, SC to YES, so you run all cars without assists
"Real" - then you shouldnt be able to set ABS, TC, SC to YES, but the Game may turn them on depending on car (ie. Formula A none of those, but BMW Z4 GT3 all of them)
"All" - this enables that you can individuelly set ABS, TC, SC below to YES - which affect all cars then. So if you say YES to ABS and NO to the rest, then you have in all cars ABS enabled - You can override the settings though on the fly if you have buttons assigned - if you change them on the fly, then they (iirc) change also in the Game Settings, and not only temporary


Normally when setting "Real" and "None" the ABS, SC, TC option should be locked

Mahjik
17-07-2015, 02:34
It seems to be any car with a Motec display will have that display in the external camera modes (which will not show the assist icons). The Clio is the Cup racing car so it has a Motec whereas the Megane is the street car (i.e. no Motec).

F1_Racer68
17-07-2015, 03:40
It seems to be any car with a Motec display will have that display in the external camera modes (which will not show the assist icons). The Clio is the Cup racing car so it has a Motec whereas the Megane is the street car (i.e. no Motec).

Careful with this statement. The motec display does show the assist icons IF the car has those assists. If the car does not have them, then the icons are not shown.

-carbo-
17-07-2015, 06:20
This is a SIM aimed at newbs-pros and provides various assists to aid this. Firstly, I think that it should be indiacted on each car what assists are available from within the menus along with the type of gearing Stick/Flaps/Auto Clutch etc. Secondly, within game they need to have indicators for each assist when on/off and when in Real or Assists ON mode. This along with an indicator of what tyre is currently running on the car. If the pros don't like this then enable an on-off switch for this info.

wadafaka
17-07-2015, 08:55
Careful with this statement. The motec display does show the assist icons IF the car has those assists. If the car does not have them, then the icons are not shown.Exactly, it was a misunderstanding.. because the game allowed me to change the Traction control slip when I pushed the Traction Control button.. even though the icon did not light up. It's just a bug in the menus (most likely)

Arkymedes
17-07-2015, 13:47
You know when a UI is badly designed when people are discussing for 3 pages on the topic.

- A simple popup indicating when certain assists are enabled/disabled would suffice.
- A more consistent UI indicating what assists are available for each car based on the realism setting chosen by the user.

dw123
17-07-2015, 17:13
The thing I don't understand is why, on the cars that *do* have the assists, there are no in-cockpit indicators whatsoever, even on the Motec display, but the exterior-view Motec HUD element shows them just fine.

Surely there should be some way of knowing what assists I have switched on in my Z4 without flicking to an exterior view and then back again? Seems like a fairly fundamental flaw.

DusterBuster
17-07-2015, 22:02
Hi,

i have a question to the driving aids in the GT3 class. When set to real, all the GT3 cars have ABS and TC except the Z4 (ABS,TC,SC) and the M3 (TC). I always thought the driving aids should be the same in one class? I know the M3 is a GT2 car, but it's competing in the ingame GT3 so shouldn't it have the same driving aids as the others and does the real Z4 have more driving aids than the other GT3 cars?

TMoney
17-07-2015, 22:08
Hi,

i have a question to the driving aids in the GT3 class. When set to real, all the GT3 cars have ABS and TC except the Z4 (ABS,TC,SC) and the M3 (TC). I always thought the driving aids should be the same in one class? I know the M3 is a GT2 car, but it's competing in the ingame GT3 so shouldn't it have the same driving aids as the others and does the real Z4 have more driving aids than the other GT3 cars?

Yes everything reflects real life. The Z4 is meant to have SC.

DusterBuster
17-07-2015, 22:14
Yes everything reflects real life. The Z4 is meant to have SC.

Ok, thanks for the quick reply