PDA

View Full Version : A rundown of the GT3 class cars' strenghts and weaknesses?

nalorn
14-08-2015, 01:00
Considering GT3 is what I mostly see in online lobbies, as a beginner I would like a better idea of what each car brings to the able? Are they fairly balanced, do some tracks heavily favour one over the other? How does the DLC car measure up to the others?

Noxrai
14-08-2015, 06:09
Hey mate, on the whole most of the cars are fairly well balanced. Some cars will better suit tracks or parts of tracks better than others and everything could change come to the next track. There is usually a trade off that each car makes to gain an advantage in another area. Which makes for very entertaining races. Best way to find out what car does what and which one suits your driving style is to simply test drive them yourself at a track you enjoy/know well.

I'll give you a rough rundown on the cars. In my experiences even though both the M3 GT3 and Ginetta GT3 cars handle corners amazingly, they still seem to struggle the most keeping pace with the other GT3 cars on most tracks. So I would hesitate if you want to be dominant in races. Not saying they are slow, as I have won races with both but I know I can go quicker in other cars.

My rough outline of the cars, some I have driven extensively some I have only done a few laps in. So don't take what I say as gospel.
In Alphabetical order:

Astin Martin Vantage - has good top end speed but can be a handful and a bit tail happy.

Audi R8 - I feel is the jack of all, master of none car. The all rounder and always competitive.

Bentley Continental - Big bad car. Has serious acceleration and descent top speed. Struggles a bit in tight corners. Stock setup is very tail happy. Must tune.

BMW Z4 - This car is all about the corners. Handles like a dream. Loses it's time in the straights. Still very competitive.