PDA

View Full Version : Question Re: $400 Racing Wheels

JohnnyDNGRSLY
23-08-2015, 07:11
(TLDR: I have a Thrustmaster T80. Is the G29 or T300 four times better, as the price suggests?)

Late-night deep thoughts.

First, a bit of history. I started sim racing in the mid-1990s with a Thrustmaster Formula T2 and games like IndyCar Racing 2, NASCAR Racing 2, Grand Prix Legends, and Grand Prix 2. Then I had a long period using an analog gamepad for my controller as my job took me more mobile and as my console gaming took over from my PC gaming. My racing wheels had always been spring/bungee based, and my gamepads of course had the rumble feedback. I was/am also heavily into flight sims and knew firsthand the amazing immersion force-feedback can bring. Then, finally, with the release of Gran Turismo 5 for the PS3, I took the plunge and got a racing seat and a force-feedback wheel.

I was underwhelmed.

I've tried a few force-feedback wheels over the years and could never get along with the distracting noise (however, I now play almost exclusively wearing headphones), the constant fighting of the wheel's forces (and being puzzled at the so-called "simulation feel" of understeer and oversteer forces), and the gigantic price tag involved (to say nothing of 2015-era wheel pricing!).

Fast-forward to the present day. I now use a Thrustmaster T80 (again, spring/bungee based) to play Project CARS and F1 2015 on the PS4, and am looking forward to playing Assetto Corsa next year. I am happy with the T80 although it's small, has dreadful pedals, has too-long shift paddle travel, and has mushy buttons.

I find myself wanting something more, and am now eyeing the new Logitech G29. I have a few things around the house I'd been meaning to sell on eBay which will drum up something like $300, which gets me very close. But, man, that price tag. I could buy four T80s for that!