PDA

View Full Version : Slower with a wheel

Brummy15
26-09-2015, 19:38
Hey all. I'm new to the wheel scene. I'm not the fastest player around but my lap times are slower to using a controller. Any hints or tips? Or should I give it time. I've got the logitech g920 wheel.

Flat_out
26-09-2015, 20:16
I'm slower with a wheel too!

malcster
26-09-2015, 20:22
I remember buying a fanatec CSR wheel for forza 4 on the 360
Anything quicker than b class was a nightmare and on average I was 20 secs a lap slower round the nurburgring

Hated it and sold it about 2 weeks later

centurian
26-09-2015, 21:09
Ah, a game controller, maybe that's what Nico Rosberg needs to beat Lewis Hamilton.
C'mon guys, practice and learn to drive properly. You ever seen a real life driver using a gamepad ;)

Brummy15
26-09-2015, 21:29
Yeh true lol. Also downstrairts car seems to go little to the right and left. Is there a settings I might have mest up?

Invincible
26-09-2015, 23:06
You just need to re-learn how to drive. When I switched from gamepad to wheel I was significantly slower too. But after I got used to it, my times dropped really fast and now I'd rather don't race at all before switching back to a gamepad.

Boskapongen
26-09-2015, 23:21
A thing that might help, (helps me) is to lower the FFB. I am faster when FFB is weaker. Try, start with 100 and go down by steps of 10.

GRTfast
26-09-2015, 23:35
Make sure to use the settings in the sticky thread at the top of this forum. From there it just takes practice. Maybe Google and read some real racing technique guides.

yusupov
26-09-2015, 23:44
i think its normal, takes a period to adjust. when i went from controller to wheel i was initially slower too. give it a week or two, youll wonder how you ever drove with a controller.

but yeah follow instructions & make sure the wheel is set up properly (really the main thing is the pedals work fully & the wheel movement matches 1:1 with what you see on the screen, but tuning ffb can help)