PDA

View Full Version : [RESOLVED] audio "pulsing" bug after patch 4?

tgrey
28-09-2015, 11:07
PS4 user here, and I'm not sure if this is specific to the ps4 version, or if all versions do this.

Since patch 4 there's a very noticeable "pulsing" in the audio. It seems to affect everything including the menu music, but it's harder to notice unless there's a constant steady noise (like an engine running). It's really obvious (at least to me) when i'm driving, to the point that it's becoming a big distraction.

I've been on vacation so I haven't played tons with the new patch, but I tested a few cars (the formula a and clio community events, the bmw 1m, formula rookie, and one or two others)... all seemed to have the bug equally, which honestly is no surprise since I heard it on loading menu music too.

I'm an audio engineer by trade, so I recognize that my ears my be more sensitive to something like that than most people... I didn't do any analysis, but if I had to guess I'd say it seems like the pulse is roughly 6-8Hz (constant, it doesn't change speeds), and it varies the volume by about 10%.

Has anyone else noticed this? Sorry if this has been pointed out before, as I mentioned, I've been traveling and didn't get to keep up on all the news when the new patch came out.

Roger Prynne
28-09-2015, 11:11
Anyone else get this or is it an isolated problem.

HiSpeeder
28-09-2015, 11:50
I posted in an earlier thread that on my PS4 after patch 4.0 on some occasions the engine sounds drop for a split second during (mostly) downshifting and (sometimes) upshifting. It is not constant, sometimes I hear it once or twice during a race, sometimes it's multiple times per lap. Had it with multiple cars on multiple circuits in multiple game modes (incl. career races, solo weekend and free practice). At first I wasn't really bothered by it, but now it tends to get annoying. Before patch 4.0 never had anything like this.