PDA

View Full Version : pCars freezing after Overclock

cosmicamnesia
15-10-2015, 00:51
Hey lads and ladies,

So I just gave my system a mild overclock (+135mHz core and +450mHz memory). It's been running amazingly well and benchmarking impressively on FireStrike Extreme at 1440p 144Hz (graphics score was 10058 for my two 980m's in SLI) but for some reason, pCars has been freezing up after a few laps or less recently. It's strange because it will freeze but the physics and sound will keep going and the only way i can stop it is with Task Manager. And this is the only game that this has happened with so far, DiRt Rally has been amazing, MGSV has been amazing and even pCars has been performing amazingly (until it freezes).

Any ideas? I'm very new to overclocking. thx

Stones
15-10-2015, 01:11
Running core @ +197 and mem @ +345 with no problems on a single 970 strix. Perhaps oc SLI is an issue?

BullWinkle
15-10-2015, 01:23
What are your in-game graphics settings? (pics would help). If you have all set to Ultra try Med/High on Environment Map,Reflections,etc. But you may still have to turn back your overclock abit if that don't help.:D

TrevorAustin
15-10-2015, 06:59
Hey lads and ladies,

So I just gave my system a mild overclock (+135mHz core and +450mHz memory). It's been running amazingly well and benchmarking impressively on FireStrike Extreme at 1440p 144Hz (graphics score was 10058 for my two 980m's in SLI) but for some reason, pCars has been freezing up after a few laps or less recently. It's strange because it will freeze but the physics and sound will keep going and the only way i can stop it is with Task Manager. And this is the only game that this has happened with so far, DiRt Rally has been amazing, MGSV has been amazing and even pCars has been performing amazingly (until it freezes).

Any ideas? I'm very new to overclocking. thx

Turn your voltage up. And if that doesn't do it, knock each one down 5 at a time until it does.