PDA

View Full Version : This person talks a lot of sense about online play....

TheBaldReverend
19-10-2015, 13:31
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u-sbypLOjZM

To be honest, the points he raises in the video make so much sense and appear obvious but had never crossed my mind.

SMS, I know the chances of implementing a system like this is probably unrealistic but it's got to be food for thought.

Montana.BE
19-10-2015, 18:22
That would be great, a simple and effective way to differ between pro and amateur. I'm an amateur myself, and I prefer racing with people up to my own level.

balderz002
19-10-2015, 20:06
It also means the people who show up for races, want to be there, and aren't just thrown in to wreck everyone else's race.

Gravit8
19-10-2015, 23:29
Been saying it forever.
Scheduled heat races and ladder tourneys. Using lap times as a placement tool. So simple.
Its not even innovative or anything. It's just common sense.

But requires dedicated servers so. We will likely never see it on anything but Iracing IMO.
Do the detriment of these other could be contenders.
They're pulling monthly memberships while the rest of you concentrate on bug riddled single player so everyone can feel like they are the most amazing pilot ever.

And we all know how easy it is to rent a single person experience for practically free.

bcredeur97
20-10-2015, 02:11
this is very interesting. I wanted to get into iracing but subscription models always put me off. But I didn't know the multiplayer was like this... it's really compelling.

In pCars the only way to get around the crazies is to join a league and hope your skill is good enough to match all of them (Luckily the league I found is). But a huge downside is having to wait for every other week to simply race... practicing alone does get old sometimes.

poet
20-10-2015, 10:05
They're pulling monthly memberships