PDA

View Full Version : C editor and compiler, what do you use?

jimmyb_84
08-12-2015, 16:21
Hi all decided to take the plunge and started to learn "C" programming but just wondered what you use to to write/edit and compile/execute your code?

I extremely new to this, I like to learn new stuff taught myself XHTML and CSS via you tube along with excel stuff, I'm no expert but I've learnt enough to hold my own ish and understand how it works. So my next challenge is C and C++ (C first). I know I'm not going to create great things anytime soon as this will take me a few years but I need to start somewhere. As a 30yr with a few kids it'll take a while but I also plan to teach the kids what I've learnt when there older.

Advice welcomed

Lars Rosenquist
08-12-2015, 18:26
I use Visual Studio 2015 with the Resharper plugin from JetBrains. If you're new to do this, I would suggest starting with the example apps provided in this subforum by several people, then work from there. It's also good to set a goal in advance of what you want to achieve. :)

jimmyb_84
08-12-2015, 18:45
I use Visual Studio 2015 with the Resharper plugin from JetBrains. If you're new to do this, I would suggest starting with the example apps provided in this subforum by several people, then work from there. It's also good to set a goal in advance of what you want to achieve. :)

Thank you for the advice, I shall take a look at the examples within the forum st some point but first I want to understand the structure of the code, what I have to add and how to write it, in terms of any particular order.

A goal is a difficult one but maybe to reproduce my strategy calculator in a program with either manual inputs or from UPD data. That's a very long way off.

Forgot to mention I'll be using OSX, I have Excode but think it might be a little too advanced for me right now.

Lars Rosenquist
08-12-2015, 19:01