PDA

View Full Version : forcing default setup online.

DreamsKnight
08-01-2016, 11:18
i'm a noob, so i can't understand the logic behind this option.

in my mind 50% of sims is to do a good setup 50% is to learn how to drive fast. and why I have not to adapt the car to my driving style? it's part of the game, but better, it's part of Real Racing.

reading here and there, reading some rules of online league, etc i found some emphasis about the mythical "default setup".

for me is fallout 4 without wepons, Assassin's creed without parcour, a sky without stars, a woman without... ok move on :P

this is not a critique, as said i'm a noob, so i'd like only to understand :D

Siberian Tiger
08-01-2016, 11:21
Mostly it has to do with time limitations, me thinks...

Many Peoples don't have enough time to fiddle hours of hours with setups...

They just like to race.

And in a default Setup Race you can judge how fast you are... (All the same Cards ;) )

t0daY
08-01-2016, 11:25
To be honest in my opinion the most important thing is your driving line. So many people believe with a good setup their laptimes will increase for 5-6 seconds.

You can achieve so good times just with the right racing line. Of course a good setup can give you maybe a second or two, depends heavily on the track.

With forced default setup everybody is running stock. It's then only about your line and your driver skills. It's sometimes nice to have such races but of course adjusting your car to the track with a setup is nicer to have (:

Bealdor
08-01-2016, 11:27
There are various reasons why one could prefer default setups:

1) Create/Simulate a spec racing series to take the engineering element out of the competition
2) Some people are great drivers but not so good engineers and still want to race in a close competitive environment.
3) Some players have the opinion that a race driver should not have to manage the engineering part because that's an engineer's job.