PDA

View Full Version : Buttonbox, wich one to buy?



goeiste
26-01-2016, 08:10
I want to buy my self a buttonbox next to my t500rs.
Now i see more then one and hopfully there are people with buttonboxes who can advice me.
And btw, how does a buttonbox get mouted end connected?

Sum Dixon-Ear
26-01-2016, 09:26
I would just buy the nicest one that you can afford/justify the expense for.

As for mounting; that depends on your set-up/rig/type of button box etc etc. I used the gear shift bracket for my Fanatec wheelstand, bolted a small speaker bracket to it then attached the button box with 3M adhesive Velcro... you will have to come up with the best solution for your needs.

226016

Fanapryde
26-01-2016, 10:24
I want to buy my self a buttonbox next to my t500rs.
Now i see more then one and hopfully there are people with buttonboxes who can advice me.
And btw, how does a buttonbox get mouted end connected?
Since your profile says PS4, you can either built one yourself or buy one from IgnitionControls. These are great and work on console as well as on PC. AFAIK the only brand that has BB's for console use.
Connected ? Just plug the USB and assign controls in the in-game menu.
Mounted ? whichever way is suitable for you. The IgnitionControl boxes have four screw holes on the backside, ready to get attached to a mount.

http://www.ignitioncontrols.com

Sum Dixon-Ear
26-01-2016, 10:29
There's also a guy who sells PS4 BBs on eBay.

GUTTER-BOY
26-01-2016, 12:53
+1 for the Ignition Controls button box: Here is the original thread with the Ram Mount/Button Box info, and specifically about mounting options: http://forum.projectcarsgame.com/showthread.php?31840-SEE-PATCH-2-0-Playstation-4-button-box/page32

And here is a cut and paste from a post I made for another thread. The ignition controls box is great, especially since there are a lot of choices to map buttons for PCars.


"I received my Ignition Controls button box (model PS4/PC NB-1) and it's great! My problem was that others said it was drilled for a Ram Mount, so I went out and bought the mount (see page 32, post #319 of this thread). When I received the box, it wouldn't match up with the mounting holes. I went to a home center and picked up a plastic wall guard that is used to prevent door knobs from hitting the wall. It is self-adhesive, but I still used two M4 bolts just to be safe. I then used gel-type super glue to attach the mount to the wall guard that was stuck to the back of the button box. That way if I get a new rig I can move the button box and remove the mounting plate (wall guard). The Ram Mount has great adjustibility.

Since I was messing with my T150 and Wheelstand Pro, I decided to also mount an iPad so I can use the pcars dash app. I used this mount: Talent iClaw Mic or Music Stand Holder for Apple iPad from Parts Express and it works great:

http://www.parts-express.com/talent-...-ipad--233-048

So now on the left side I have my button box and on the right I have my iPad attached to the Wheelstand Pro. I can use the pcars dash app, surf for car tuning info or check the football score or live motorsports coverage all without having to leave my race seat."

SUBGTRACER
26-01-2016, 17:18
+ 1 ignition boxes

226066

226067

226068

rotorrian
28-01-2016, 02:57
We do a PS4 native button box with a smartphone / iPad holder with a headlight flasher (Flash to Pass / FTP) option

http://hidreplacements.com.au/media/catalog/product/cache/8/thumbnail/800x800/9df78eab33525d08d6e5fb8d27136e95/a/t/attachment.jpeg

http://hidreplacements.com.au/media/catalog/product/cache/8/thumbnail/800x800/9df78eab33525d08d6e5fb8d27136e95/v/b/vbox_xl.jpeg

http://www.gamehound.com.au/vbox-pro.html

It has Ram Mount mounting holes on the rear for use with PlaySeat products or you can obviously Ram mount to anything else.

goeiste
28-01-2016, 07:22
Thank you all for the suggestions.
I will go for the 2014 DSD Race King (http://www.derekspearedesigns.com/2014-race-king.html)

SUBGTRACER
28-01-2016, 07:30
Does it work with ps4 ?

Fanapryde
28-01-2016, 08:22
Thank you all for the suggestions.
I will go for the 2014 DSD Race King (http://www.derekspearedesigns.com/2014-race-king.html)
Good luck buying a PC ... :D
DSD boxes (nice as they are) do NOT work on consoles !!

Sum Dixon-Ear
28-01-2016, 11:43
Thank you all for the suggestions.
I will go for the 2014 DSD Race King (http://www.derekspearedesigns.com/2014-race-king.html)

Oops!

SUBGTRACER
02-02-2016, 23:35
LOL !

Zalex
03-02-2016, 00:19
Since your profile says PS4, you can either built one yourself or buy one from IgnitionControls. These are great and work on console as well as on PC. AFAIK the only brand that has BB's for console use.
Connected ? Just plug the USB and assign controls in the in-game menu.
Mounted ? whichever way is suitable for you. The IgnitionControl boxes have four screw holes on the backside, ready to get atteched to a mount.

http://www.ignitioncontrols.com


We do a PS4 native button box with a smartphone / iPad holder with a headlight flasher (Flash to Pass / FTP) option

http://hidreplacements.com.au/media/catalog/product/cache/8/thumbnail/800x800/9df78eab33525d08d6e5fb8d27136e95/a/t/attachment.jpeg

http://hidreplacements.com.au/media/catalog/product/cache/8/thumbnail/800x800/9df78eab33525d08d6e5fb8d27136e95/v/b/vbox_xl.jpeg

http://www.gamehound.com.au/vbox-pro.html

It has Ram Mount mounting holes on the rear for use with PlaySeat products or you can obviously Ram mount to anything else.


Oops!

I comfirm that, quality of product is awesome but it's for PC only.
I bought one and tested it just to see. :)

Then I bought an Ignitioncontrol box that worked fine out of the box on PS4, it just need some labels to be added.

I personaly used a P-Touch label with images i did with white text on black background.
Look really professional !

Used same trick to label my 599xx wheel buttons that did not matched out of box labels.

Brother s selling white on black tapes, but go figure, all the ones i bought dont stick for more than 5 minutes. :(

So i use the software on pc to make inverted images of my text then print it as an image. Lol

For my button box that work only on PC, i found some stuff online that should make it compatible with a lot of elbow grease... Wish me luck, i'll keep community in touch and give my receipe if it work. :)

Zalex,
Zalex Racing Team on Facebook

Mascot
03-02-2016, 09:04
I've come so close to designing/building my own button box (I'd sourced the enclosure and pretty much finalised the design, see below) but the only thing stopping me is the (hopefully!) imminent escalation of VR. I don't fancy the idea of groping around in the dark trying to find my brake bias rotary, so the project is on hold at the moment... ;)

226678

226679

GIA600
03-02-2016, 10:56
Not wanting to sound like a cheap skate, but I use a cheap small bluetooth tablet keyboard on my PS4. Works a treat as you can map as many buttons as you like and cost me a tenner from Staples.

John Hargreaves
03-02-2016, 11:12
I've tried a usb keypad, which almost worked. First one I tried was a cheapo 5 non-programmable job, but somehow in pCars, the numberpad keys are hard wired into the control of the game, so even if you reassign them in options, the game ignores that and does the original function. I then went on to a Cherry programmable jobby for 30, but either the listing spec was wrong or I didn't read it carefully enough, as I thought I had bought one that saved the programmed layout onto an onboard chip. However it stores the layout in a little piece of software that runs in the background. Works ok, but in pCars, when you press a key, the game is aware another bit of software is running and skips a bit, as if the window is going to minimise. It works, but not well.

TL: DR don't be cheap, get one of those proper button boxes, they are actually very good value for money.

Zalex
03-02-2016, 20:54
That's what i say to my friends about VR there days, they either need to use augmented reality or use semitransparent oled displays to let us see buttons on Sim and Flight sims, else they wont get all that market.

We will end up using one or the other if they cant find a way that we still can see the devices around.

I think image superposition and a black mask/ no image on defined zone of the rig is the key, but we are not there yet, until mini flexible transparant oled screens hit the market.

rotorrian
04-02-2016, 04:17
You can buy the PCB from our button box for $20AUD.

http://gamehound.com.au/vbox-diy.html

Its native USB and works on PC and PS4. Saves all the hassle of the keyboard PCB or anything else.


I've tried a usb keypad, which almost worked. First one I tried was a cheapo 5 non-programmable job, but somehow in pCars, the numberpad keys are hard wired into the control of the game, so even if you reassign them in options, the game ignores that and does the original function. I then went on to a Cherry programmable jobby for 30, but either the listing spec was wrong or I didn't read it carefully enough, as I thought I had bought one that saved the programmed layout onto an onboard chip. However it stores the layout in a little piece of software that runs in the background. Works ok, but in pCars, when you press a key, the game is aware another bit of software is running and skips a bit, as if the window is going to minimise. It works, but not well.

TL: DR don't be cheap, get one of those proper button boxes, they are actually very good value for money.

SUBGTRACER
04-02-2016, 23:23
Rotorrain I think you should send me one completed so I can review it for you and post some nice pics :rolleyes:

I have a Samsung galaxy 4 phone and ipad so if you can send one to fit one of those it would be much appreciated :cool:

I will take care of it and not send it back when I'm done reviewing it , I will thank you once for it and you will never hear from me again :o

Love your work Rotorrain

Zeke Bewlay
05-02-2016, 06:40
I've tried a usb keypad, which almost worked. First one I tried was a cheapo 5 non-programmable job, but somehow in pCars, the numberpad keys are hard wired into the control of the game, so even if you reassign them in options, the game ignores that and does the original function.

Never had that problem with my key pad... Gotta say key pad with a few labels works pretty well for me

rotorrian
08-02-2016, 06:06
hahahahaaha :P

Oh I see you have done this sponsorship thing before :P


Rotorrain I think you should send me one completed so I can review it for you and post some nice pics :rolleyes:

I have a Samsung galaxy 4 phone and ipad so if you can send one to fit one of those it would be much appreciated :cool:

I will take care of it and not send it back when I'm done reviewing it , I will thank you once for it and you will never hear from me again :o

Love your work Rotorrain