PDA

View Full Version : Rendering settings for YouTube?



Ripgroove
30-01-2016, 08:05
I can't seem to nail down the settings for good quality YouTube uploads, large files and long upload times don't bother me really, I'd rather a really good quality end result. So far I've tried Shadowplay and Fraps (1080p) and I'm using PowerDirector 13 for editing/rendering but no matter what setting I use I can't get that nice sharp good quality end result on YouTube. I know YouTube degrades quality etc etc but there are some very nice looking PCars videos on there so it obviously can be done. So can anyone share their settings/workflow with me?

Kishshey
30-01-2016, 10:57
Bitrate is the key. I personally haven't use the PowerDirector 13. But I can help you tweak your export settings to optimize for youtube, if you like.

Kishshey
30-01-2016, 11:01
Alternatively, you can follow this guide (https://support.google.com/youtube/answer/1722171?hl=en) by Google.

I personally do 2 passes, and for my 1080P 60Fps videos I export at 24 Mbps(Max 32 Mbps)

Hope you'll find this helpful.

Puffpirat
30-01-2016, 11:07
I too struggle to get good quality for my videos. I found that link you posted a few weeks back, but the suggested 12Mbps for 1080p60 look horrible.

I play at 1440p but let shadowplay record at 1080p with 60fps and 30Mbps. That looks good but the file sizes are extreme. Then I use Windows movie maker to cut and export again. I tried with 24Mbps but that wasn't exactly beautiful either :(

Is anything wrong with that workflow or are there any other tips? Should I blow up bitrate to 32Mbps?

Edit: The page suggests using variable bitrate but I can't find the setting..anyone know how to do this?

BigDad
30-01-2016, 11:09
Sorry to jump on your thread , but
Im on ps4 and if someone posts a YouTube clip it used to show on this forum but now there is just a big blank space were the clip should be ?
Do you have any advice on how to get it back and why it went away ,
If theres a link i can go to it but if theres a picture it shows im the area but clips i can see were the vid should be but its empty but it definitely used to show up i could just press play and watch it in this forum .
Hope someone can help . Thanks

cluck
30-01-2016, 11:31
I've found in the past that Windows Movie Maker results in really poor quality output, even at high bit-rates. It's only redeeming feature is that it is free.

Ripgroove
30-01-2016, 11:34
Bitrate is the key. I personally haven't use the PowerDirector 13. But I can help you tweak your export settings to optimize for youtube, if you like.

That would be cool, only problem is there are a ton of export choices/settings on PD13 so to start which of the following should I be starting with?

AVI
MPEG-2
Windows Media (WMV)
QuickTime
H.246 AVC
H.265 HEVC
XAVC S

I'll get a short gameplay clip recorded in Fraps so I can experiment.

Ripgroove
30-01-2016, 11:35
Alternatively, you can follow this guide (https://support.google.com/youtube/answer/1722171?hl=en) by Google.

I personally do 2 passes, and for my 1080P 60Fps videos I export at 24 Mbps(Max 32 Mbps)

Hope you'll find this helpful.

Thanks, I've actually already tried that but still can't quite get what I'm after.

cluck
30-01-2016, 11:37
I'd go with either H.264 or H.265 myself :).

Roger Prynne
30-01-2016, 11:44
Sorry to jump on your thread , but
Im on ps4 and if someone posts a YouTube clip it used to show on this forum but now there is just a big blank space were the clip should be ?
Do you have any advice on how to get it back and why it went away ,
If theres a link i can go to it but if theres a picture it shows im the area but clips i can see were the vid should be but its empty but it definitely used to show up i could just press play and watch it in this forum .
Hope someone can help . Thanks

Have you removed the 's' from the 'https' in the vid link?

BigDad
30-01-2016, 12:05
Links work fine , but if you were to post a vid directly here i would only see a big blank square ?

Roger Prynne
30-01-2016, 12:09
Make a post with your vid in this thread and lets have a look at whats wrong.

BigDad
30-01-2016, 12:15
http://forum.projectcarsgame.com/showthread.php?41582-Wheel-Grinding-Vibration-Bug-(Video-Incuded)
Im guessing there is a clip in the opening post ? I can see the pics fine but at the top isnt there a clip ?
Not my clip but an example of problem as im not trying to post clips but simply view them .
Thanks for helping .

Roger Prynne
30-01-2016, 12:24
What browser are you using?

BigDad
30-01-2016, 12:30
Ps4 internet browser .
But it used to work , thats why im confused .
Maybe Sony changed something and i didn't notice ? Ive asked in ps4 tech on this forum but no replys of yet .

Ripgroove
30-01-2016, 13:05
OK well Fraps is being very choppy & laggy even though I'm recording to an SSD (would have thought my system would cope with Fraps OK?), so I'm stuck with Shadowplay for a minute which immediately produces a good loss in quality :-(

This is the info from the file created by Shadowplay:

http://i299.photobucket.com/albums/mm320/PeteCup/Input%20file_zpsjibbgrqs.png

Here's the export settings use in PowerDirector 13:

Export Settings:

Container: H.264 AVC
Resolution: 1920x1080
Frame rate: 60
Frame Type: Progressive
Profile Type: High Profile
Entropy Coding: CABAC
Average bit rate: 48500

And here's the video uploaded to YouTube, how does it look to you guys with regards to quality? To me it looks pretty poor compared to so other 1080p ProjectCars videos on YouTube.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DMzcH7CfbAE&feature=youtu.be

So really before I do anything else I need to get Fraps to record smoothly (if at all possible?) As right away Shadowplay is causing a big drop in quality, even when viewing the file on my desktop I can see right away that its lost a lot of its sharpness and detail.

Kishshey
30-01-2016, 15:04
I too struggle to get good quality for my videos. I found that link you posted a few weeks back, but the suggested 12Mbps for 1080p60 look horrible.

I play at 1440p but let shadowplay record at 1080p with 60fps and 30Mbps. That looks good but the file sizes are extreme. Then I use Windows movie maker to cut and export again. I tried with 24Mbps but that wasn't exactly beautiful either :(

Is anything wrong with that workflow or are there any other tips? Should I blow up bitrate to 32Mbps?

Edit: The page suggests using variable bitrate but I can't find the setting..anyone know how to do this?
I wouldn't recommend movie maker. Try Sony Vegas or Adobe Premier(I use premier).
About the suggested video bitrate on google the page I referred to, that won't get you the best quality. It's a balance between Quality and upload size.



That would be cool, only problem is there are a ton of export choices/settings on PD13 so to start which of the following should I be starting with?

AVI
MPEG-2
Windows Media (WMV)
QuickTime
H.246 AVC
H.265 HEVC
XAVC S

I'll get a short gameplay clip recorded in Fraps so I can experiment.

Use H265 HEVC(I use H264), 2 Passes VBR, with a target bitrate of 24-36Mbs
along with AAC 48 or 96 kHz 320 kbs audio.

These settings gives me about 160MBs per each minute.

Ripgroove
30-01-2016, 15:12
I wouldn't recommend movie maker. Try Sony Vegas or Adobe Premier(I use premier).
About the suggested video bitrate on google the page I referred to, that won't get you the best quality. It's a balance between Quality and upload size.




Use H265 HEVC(I use H264), 2 Passes VBR, with a target bitrate of 24-36Mbs
along with AAC 48 or 96 kHz 320 kbs audio.

These settings gives me about 160MBs per each minute.

Thanks, I'll give that a go.

Puffpirat
30-01-2016, 15:12
I wouldn't recommend movie maker. Try Sony Vegas or Adobe Premier(I use premier).
About the suggested video bitrate on google the page I referred to, that won't get you the best quality. It's a balance between Quality and upload size.

Use H265 HEVC(I use H264), 2 Passes VBR, with a target bitrate of 24-36Mbs
along with AAC 48 or 96 kHz 320 kbs audio.

These settings gives me about 160MBs per each minute.

Thanks I'll give those a shot. Sounds good, about 160MB per minute still look crap in Movie Maker ;)

Ripgroove
30-01-2016, 15:31
Thanks I'll give those a shot. Sounds good, about 160MB per minute still look crap in Movie Maker ;)

Nice PC you have there and nice OC on the CPU :-) I'm a noob at OC'ing and every time I try with even a very small OC my BIOS freaks out and resets itself! lol

Puffpirat
30-01-2016, 15:42
Nice PC you have there and nice OC on the CPU :-) I'm a noob at OC'ing and every time I try with even a very small OC my BIOS freaks out and resets itself! lol

Thanks (and sorry for pulling this OT quickly)! The K-models make it a lot easier than before. Looked for an Asus OC guide and it was pretty straight forward copying the values over ;)

Ripgroove
30-01-2016, 15:47
Thanks (and sorry for pulling this OT quickly)! The K-models make it a lot easier than before. Looked for an Asus OC guide and it was pretty straight forward copying the values over ;)

Haha no worries, mines a 'K' also and I've tried a few guides but I must be missing something somewhere lol! It doesn't really matter that much TBH as most games don't get anywhere near maxing my CPU load (especially at 1080p).

Puffpirat
30-01-2016, 16:04
yeah that's right though :) It's more like a hobby ;) Looking through your specs your PC isn't too shabby either ;)

Ripgroove
30-01-2016, 16:13
I wouldn't recommend movie maker. Try Sony Vegas or Adobe Premier(I use premier).
About the suggested video bitrate on google the page I referred to, that won't get you the best quality. It's a balance between Quality and upload size.




Use H265 HEVC(I use H264), 2 Passes VBR, with a target bitrate of 24-36Mbs
along with AAC 48 or 96 kHz 320 kbs audio.

These settings gives me about 160MBs per each minute.

The closest I could get to those settings with PD13 is:

I have no options that I can see for VBR 2 passes?
H.265 HVEC (I've chosen MP4 but have the option of MT2S or MKV?)
Bit rate 38800 (it won't let me choose a target bit rate, it wants an actual figure so I chose the highest it would allow for this particular video file)
Frame type: Progessive
Tier type: Main (I have the choice of Main or High, no idea what they are?)
Entropy coding: CABAC (only option I can have under H.265)
"Quality" mode (can either choose Speed or Quality)
Audio: AAC, Stereo, 256Kbps

BUT

For some reason YouTube does not like this file, it'll upload but fails on the processing part and links me to this page: https://support.google.com/youtube/troubleshooter/2888402?hl=en-GB&rd=1

Ripgroove
30-01-2016, 16:13
yeah that's right though :) It's more like a hobby ;) Looking through your specs your PC isn't too shabby either ;)

Haha yeah it gets the job done :-)

Ripgroove
31-01-2016, 13:54
Well I have Fraps working now so here's pretty much the same clip twice, one captured with Shadowplay and the other with Fraps, both rendered with the same settings in PowerDirector 13:

Container: H.264 AVC
Resolution: 1920x1080
Frame rate: 60
Frame Type: Progressive
Profile Type: High Profile
Entropy Coding: CABAC
Average bit rate: 48500


Shadowplay

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DMzcH7CfbAE

Fraps

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1O9fcH4AS8I&feature=youtu.be

While recording with Fraps I found the gameplay stuttered every so often, not a lot but enough to notice and to annoy me, Shadowplay on the other hand was buttery smooth as always. Either way at those specific rendering settings the Fraps one does not look better enough for me to warrant it over Shadowplay's smoothness. Maybe I need to look in to different export settings or try DXtory or something?

Daynja
31-01-2016, 14:15
I used this guide, to setup my Sony Vegas



https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LZY5wBdBL5o



My first vid using the above tutorial: (captured with Shadowplay 50mbs)


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9YybXX9hq3o

Ripgroove
31-01-2016, 14:29
I used this guide, to setup my Sony Vegas



https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LZY5wBdBL5o



My first vid using the above tutorial: (captured with Shadowplay 50mbs)


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9YybXX9hq3o

What are you using to capture, Fraps? Maybe also PowerDirector is letting me down, it's lightening fast at rendering so that must come at a cost of quality surely. What's the price of Sony Vegas?

Ripgroove
31-01-2016, 14:46
NVM, I'm sure I can 'find' Vegas somewhere.

Ripgroove
31-01-2016, 16:05
I used this guide, to setup my Sony Vegas



https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LZY5wBdBL5o



My first vid using the above tutorial: (captured with Shadowplay 50mbs)


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9YybXX9hq3o

I've just 'found' a copy of Vegas and have just worked through this tutorial (thanks for posting it), the clip is currently uploading to YouTube so I'll post it when it's done, again I've still only used a Shadowplay clip, I will look in to either using DXtory or just put up with the odd stutter that i get with Fraps.

Ripgroove
31-01-2016, 16:39
So here's a Sony Vegas render using the tutorial here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LZY5wBdBL5o

This seems to be the best I'm going to get out of Shadowplay and a 1080p resolution I think. I'm not ready to upgrade to higher resolutions yet as I absolutely need a large display for Project Cars, maybe when a nice Sony Bravia 4k becomes viable and if/when Nvidia's next gen chips will be able to max games out 4k then maybe i'll think about it, so for now the only gain I could get is from different recording software, which I will look in to. I will also try upping the bit rate in Vegas and see what happens.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yxowJct_I3A&feature=youtu.be

Ripgroove
31-01-2016, 19:07
And the same render settings but with bit rate of 50000MB, a slight color curve tweak and a slight increase in sharpness.


http://youtu.be/USKzZQ96sIA

The video still looks blocky in places and looks like the bit rate is going up and down but I'm starting to wonder if that's down to my internet connection not streaming 1080p videos that well I have a stable 17Mbps download speed but maybe that's not enough. I'm seeing this on other people's videos too.

Ryzza5
31-01-2016, 20:31
I'm recording and exporting videos from Sony Vegas at 20mbps 60FPS MP4. Recording with the Elgato HD60.

Result: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLJO09rIH740pDHZUBTv7WtSWJzAGUvXjA (stick to recent/top videos obviously).

Daynja
01-02-2016, 03:08
And the same render settings but with bit rate of 50000MB, a slight color curve tweak and a slight increase in sharpness.


http://youtu.be/USKzZQ96sIA

The video still looks blocky in places and looks like the bit rate is going up and down but I'm starting to wonder if that's down to my internet connection not streaming 1080p videos that well I have a stable 17Mbps download speed but maybe that's not enough. I'm seeing this on other people's videos too.


Encoding videos with too many settings, or settings like sharpening that are medium or strong will always look awful, especially on you tube. Make changes in a more subtle fashion.

Also when capturing make sure your fps is close to 60fps, or preferably just above (if thats what your shadowplay is set to record at) or it will show glitches once processed.


I turned off the post processing in pcars as they can make the video look worse. Bloom especially


Another thing to remember, once your vegas is underway encoding, try not to use the PC as it can cause issues if the CPU is trying to work on other things other than the encoding process, unless ofc your rocking 16+gig ram and the top spec Intel cpu (I use an FX 8350 so I let my PC finish encoding before i touch it again)

Ripgroove
01-02-2016, 04:28
Encoding videos with too many settings, or settings like sharpening that are medium or strong will always look awful, especially on you tube. Make changes in a more subtle fashion.

Also when capturing make sure your fps is close to 60fps, or preferably just above (if thats what your shadowplay is set to record at) or it will show glitches once processed.


I turned off the post processing in pcars as they can make the video look worse. Bloom especially


Another thing to remember, once your vegas is underway encoding, try not to use the PC as it can cause issues if the CPU is trying to work on other things other than the encoding process, unless ofc your rocking 16+gig ram and the top spec Intel cpu (I use an FX 8350 so I let my PC finish encoding before i touch it again)

I actually do have 16GB RAM and a decent Intel CPU :) But yeah it's always advisable to leave the PC alone while rendering. Also Shadowplay recorded my clips at 59.94FPS so I rendered at that exact frame rate also, also the only reason I added a little sharpening was to counter act the fact that YouTube destroys some of the video sharpness, that and the color curve were just an experiment really, usually when doing anything like this I do stay away from all types of 'enhancements' or processing as indeed they do usually make things worse. I'll have to a play around with Vegas settings and see what comes out best.

Ripgroove
01-02-2016, 04:30
I'm recording and exporting videos from Sony Vegas at 20mbps 60FPS MP4. Recording with the Elgato HD60.

Result: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLJO09rIH740pDHZUBTv7WtSWJzAGUvXjA (stick to recent/top videos obviously).

Thanks, will take a look properly when I'm off work later.