PDA

View Full Version : Is a racingsim really a simulation?

TheOneAndOnly
14-03-2016, 15:45
Is a racing sim really simulating the real thing? I am confused about that after reading and posting some comments about updates and patches in the AC vs PCars thread.

I am new to simracing and playing pcars on my ps4 with the TS300.

I always thought that racing sim developers were trying to make a realistic simulation of reality. But it seems not to be that way. I understand after reading some posts that it is considered a good thing that a sim can be tweaked by devs in any way they want to make it more drivable or more fun. Through updates and patches for example.
Assuming they do make the car exactly as it is in real life, is that the point a sim loses the name sim because it is no longer simulating the true caracteristics of the car/track/tires etc it had originally?
Or is there a small blurry area that is taking for granted?
Or is it normal that a sim is not really simulating reality?
Where is the point that a piece of software becomes a arcade game instead of a racing sim?
Is it accepted in the racing community that updates and patches change the originality of cars and tracks and make it less sim?
When there are updates and patches, were the devs wrong all this time?
Do devs start off by making the realistic digital version and then tweak it so its easier to drive?

Or....is it the other way around? Do devs release games that are not realistic and try to accomplish it afterwards through these patches and updates. I hope that this is not the case...then we would all been robbed...

I really am curious what is up with this...Again, i am new to this so i hope you understand that i am a bit confused about this.

danowat
14-03-2016, 15:50
You are assuming that reality is easy to simulate, and that you can hit maximum realism at day 0.