PDA

View Full Version : Handbrake options or mods?



GamerSX
21-06-2016, 23:29
I am looking to try and set up a handbrake for my g29 on ps4.

I was wondering what options I have. YouTube has some great suggestions with second controllers or more complicated mods that involve rewiring buttons to connect to an external switch.

Some people have suggested setting up one of the paddles as a handbrake and I am less inclined to do this.

One of the things being suggested for PC is to set up a cheap USB joystick and map that to be the hand brake. Is this possible on ps4?

Pushing the Circle button while the wheel is spinning is a pain.

What are your thoughts or fixes? Remember I am using a PlayStation 4 not PC.

goeiste
26-06-2016, 06:52
Had the same kind of question, one says it can, the other says it can't. I wrote to Fanatec and they told me that their handbrake doesn't work for PS4 and PCars.

http://forum.projectcarsgame.com/showthread.php?44562-Fanatec-Clubsport-Handbrake-question

oege
28-06-2016, 09:04
My DIY analog Handbrake works with PC and PS4 (with Dirt on PS4) ! You need the Fanatec USB Adapter, RJ 12 Cable and a G27/G29 Pedal. We (the german pcars-forum.de) have carried this together.

https://www.pcars-forum.de/thema/5799-diy-handbremse/?postID=108658#post108658

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VbAveAL3rEo

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oyquPX0Lr2c

Linx
28-06-2016, 20:35
I have the Fanatec handbrake working with my PS4. You just connect the handbrake to the pedals, like how it's supposed to connect. Then connect the pedals via USB to a USB on the PS4. I also purchased a USB hub because I'm running a button box. But if you're just using the wheel and pedals then there's enough ports on the console. The handbrake will not work if the pedals are connected with PS2 cable

Linx
28-06-2016, 20:37
Oh also remember, in Pcars not all vehicles have handbrakes

oege
28-06-2016, 21:18
I also purchased a USB hub because I'm running a button box. But if you're just using the wheel and pedals then there's enough ports on the console.
I use an USB-HUB, so i have 6 USB ports.

GrimeyDog
08-07-2016, 21:48
My hand brake works just fine... but as it was mentioned by Linx its very car dependent Not all cars in Pcars have a hand brake,

8lb6ozBabyJesus
10-07-2016, 20:12
I have G29 and PS4 also and want to setup a handbrake, not really for Project Cars but for future use (*ahem Assetto Corsa).

I was planning on setting up a vertical lever type handbrake on a spring with a micro switch and re-wire one of the lesser used buttons in my G29 wheel (R3 for example) to the micro switch.

Hopefully pulling apart the G29 to do this isn't life ending for my wheel. I am careful but haven't done anything like this before.

This should work though, right?

Cheers

clos2727
15-07-2016, 15:37
it can be done, but like someone above sais not all cars have a handbrake.

use an arduino pro micro to make connection to playstation 4. i have videos of this working with my sequential shifter build. on youtube essnetially the same thing but instead of just pulling to use the e brake im using it as a sequential shifter. if you decided to build my mod you can always assign the pull down of the shifter as a hand brake.

i cant post links yet so copy and paste
the build vlog
.youtube.com/watch?v=zohHnkBhhjI
stress test
.youtube.com/watch?v=T-3FHYA2H_U

Lore
19-07-2016, 23:36
hello,

like many users intrested in an external device as handbrake, i need some help for the welding of wires that come from the external microswitch on the wheel circuit board (or somewhere inside the wheel base)

anyone can help ?

i found two pictures (front-rear) of the wheel attached board:


https://postimg.org/image/bg2xfrfhf/


https://postimg.org/image/4e4ztkbvn/

where wires are to be weld ?

My second doubt :
If welded on the board attached to the wheel, wires need to be routed to the base and outside to the switch.

Wheel rotations can damage the wires ?
Factory cable follow the same path trough the central shaft ?

please help me.... i don't wont, if possible, grab the signal from the clutch pedal and say goodbye to the pedal itself.

i'm sorry for my poor english....

GamerSX
21-07-2016, 01:21
This sounds like a viable option. Using the paddles for gearing and then using the 4th gear as a handbrake and a simple elastic band to pull it back to neutral. No mods required. I might give this a try.

8lb6ozBabyJesus
22-07-2016, 22:42
hello,

like many users intrested in an external device as handbrake, i need some help for the welding of wires that come from the external microswitch on the wheel circuit board (or somewhere inside the wheel base)

anyone can help ?

i found two pictures (front-rear) of the wheel attached board:


https://postimg.org/image/bg2xfrfhf/


https://postimg.org/image/4e4ztkbvn/

where wires are to be weld ?

My second doubt :
If welded on the board attached to the wheel, wires need to be routed to the base and outside to the switch.

Wheel rotations can damage the wires ?
Factory cable follow the same path trough the central shaft ?

please help me.... i don't wont, if possible, grab the signal from the clutch pedal and say goodbye to the pedal itself.

i'm sorry for my poor english....



This is exactly what I am looking into doing! Im not going to eliminate my H-pattern shifter just to use it as a handbrake, that is dumb. I 100% want the H-Pattern shifter AND a handbrake.

If you find any decent links/turtorials please let me know!

8lb6ozBabyJesus
25-07-2016, 03:24
235148

I plan on assigning the "R3" button. I am not sure why there are 4 points behind this switch instead of 2 so I will take it off an meter it to find out which 2 points I need to solder to. I will just follow other internal wiring with light flexible cable with plenty of slack and hope the rotation does not damage it.

Ryzza5
25-07-2016, 07:28
For rally I'm just using the right paddle shifter which has a fairly good feel to it (much better than finding a button while turning). A Joystick sounds like the next best option if you can mount it firmly and if it has a good feel + travel to it

8lb6ozBabyJesus
26-07-2016, 20:37
I don't want to use the right paddle shifter, I don't want to use 4th gear on my 6 speed shifter. i want to use my external vertical handbrake that i already have, I just need to figure out how to wire it up.

Lore
27-07-2016, 15:36
SOLVED :

i bind the handbrake with circle button. Follow the path from the button on the pcb circuit of the wheel (a wire on the front, left close to the rubber button cover, and a wire on the rear, close to the left shifter switch. the soldering of the front wire is critical 'cause the path is very little and close to another)

routing of cables also need attention because hot-glue points or the cable itself, if not routed correctly, can lock shifters leverages or disable some buttons when the wheel is closed.

now my handbrake work like a charm.

8lb6ozBabyJesus
28-07-2016, 04:22
SOLVED :

i bind the handbrake with circle button. Follow the path from the button on the pcb circuit of the wheel (a wire on the front, left close to the rubber button cover, and a wire on the rear, close to the left shifter switch. the soldering of the front wire is critical 'cause the path is very little and close to another)

routing of cables also need attention because hot-glue points or the cable itself, if not routed correctly, can lock shifters leverages or disable some buttons when the wheel is closed.

now my handbrake work like a charm.

Thank you! Would love to see pics showing your solder points but I will get a meter on there once its open and figure out the best option. If it is easier to do "R3" button I will, otherwise i am fine with using the circle button.

Shouldn't the solder on the rear be near the right shifter switch, not the left one? I assume this because the circle button is on the right had side of the pcb obviously.

Cheers

Lore
28-07-2016, 13:48
Shouldn't the solder on the rear be near the right shifter switch, not the left one? I assume this because the circle button is on the right had side of the pcb obviously.



Hello, you say the truth, the shifter switch is on the right side (:P)
I reopened the steering wheel for you and take some pictures.. Unfortunately the hot-glue (bad placed by me) hide part of the wires...
I have, however, prepared two pictures with circles around soldering points.




https://postimg.org/image/pr27w78df/

https://postimg.org/image/4vfxkyc6b/

https://postimg.org/image/83kexzyg3/

https://postimg.org/image/8hlqxlijn/


Take a look....

8lb6ozBabyJesus
29-07-2016, 00:08
Hello, you say the truth, the shifter switch is on the right side (:P)
I reopened the steering wheel for you and take some pictures.. Unfortunately the hot-glue (bad placed by me) hide part of the wires...
I have, however, prepared two pictures with circles around soldering points.




https://postimg.org/image/pr27w78df/

https://postimg.org/image/4vfxkyc6b/

https://postimg.org/image/83kexzyg3/

https://postimg.org/image/8hlqxlijn/


Take a look....


Thank you very much! Will definitely use these pics as a basic guide. Thanks for opening the wheel up again just for this!

Lore
29-07-2016, 14:12
about the handbrake bar, differently from the g920 tutorial on youtube :



youtube.com/watch?v=5LAxlQ2lM30


i've reverse mounted the base because, normally mounted, the block is too bulky and protrudes too far on the front.

So i've placed the spring on the external side of the box to make the system work reversed.

Microswitch was placed internally the handbrake box, fixed to the side and set to work normally closed (when i pull the bar, the switch is released and lock the wheels).

The system, due the implementation of an m8 threaded bar and a serie of nuts and counternuts, is fully registrable (action length and starting of the switch)

See below preliminary placement pictures :




postimg.org/image/enrsi31ur/
postimg.org/image/s5youde03/
postimg.org/image/7n3spb02r/

Zalex
15-12-2016, 02:59
Oh also remember, in Pcars not all vehicles have handbrakes

Took me a while to figure it out, i think most Race Cars dont have one.
Till i catch that i was mad about my setup, using 4th gear on my H patern TH8A shifter as handbrake, it was working some night, then dont... driving me nuts ! lol

Then i tested about 10 cars and concluded race cars or really high tech super cars had no handbrakes.

Zalex
15-12-2016, 03:05
Bye the way i ordered a Fanatec Handbrake on black friday sale, U$99 with USB adaptor included.

Still waiting it but fun will surelly match the pain to wait for it. :)

Will try to conmect it direct on CSP v2 pedals and see it it work, as my pedals are connected to a CPX adaptor.
Else i'll connect to USB with included adaptor.