PDA

View Full Version : Help with how to notice wheel lock and apply right brake pressure

Mizeran
16-10-2016, 09:25
Hello! I'm fairly new to this game and sim racing in general. I struggle with getting my setup right and when I brake I tend to apply full pressure and lock my wheels. Of course many aspects of this but what I would like to know is if there is any good overlay that can aid me in finding the right amount of brake pressure for not locking my wheels and taking every corner with a trail of smoke.

hkraft300
16-10-2016, 10:15
1. Listen for lockup/tyre scrub sound.
2. Increase tyre wear to 7x (in gameplay options), go do some laps and look at the HUD tyre bars when you brake. On some cars like Formula A/B /IndyCar the tyres are soft and you'll see front tyres wear immediately when you lock up.
3. Get a Telemetry app for your laptop/PC/smart device (pcars dash, vrhive). They show tyre slip when you lock up during braking/understeer/oversteer.

wooddylan170
16-10-2016, 10:30
There is no real overlay that can be used to help you stop locking your brakes. It's more of a feel, as well as knowing how to avoid locking up. The general rule is that the faster you go, the more pressure you can apply, but you have to ease off to avoid locking up as you start to slow down.

Also try and avoid using full brake pressure, as this makes locking up easier even if you sacrifice the amount of time it takes to brake.

If you would prefer to not lock up, you can select the ABS option in the settings to avoid this.

Edit: Also do some of what hkraft said

hkraft300
16-10-2016, 10:39
There is no real overlay that can be used to help you stop locking your brakes. It's more of a feel, as well as knowing how to avoid locking up. The general rule is that the faster you go, the more pressure you can apply, but you have to ease off to avoid locking up as you start to slow down.