PDA

View Full Version : Random Black screen white running P Cars on Triples



Old Racer
10-04-2017, 20:26
I am having a similar problem to a previous post by " Puux" and need some help to try and resolve it. I have read his thread and my equipment is quite different so I am not sure it can be of help. The problem : During either a race or even in practice I get an occasional black screen, I can hear the sounds but no picture, it usually only lasts for a second then the picture comes back and things are normal again. It happens randomly on one , two or even three monitors at once then the pic comes back. I am running at 7680 x 1440 at 144hz on triple monitors with dual GTX 980ti 6GB in SLI mode. All three monitors are connected through the display ports on one card. The case has tons of fan cooling and the CPU is liquid cooled. I really enjoy Pcars but having 4, 5 or 6 Blackouts during a 1/2 hr race are making the experience much less enjoyable. I have listed the computer spec's below ...


I7-6700K 8m Cache 4GHz
Asus Z170 Deluxe Skylake DDR4
Corsair H1101 CPU Cooler
2 - EVGA GeForce GTX980 Ti 6GB ACX2.0 1190MHZ in SLI
Corsair RM1000X 1000w
Samsung 850 Pro 1TB SSD
G.Skill Ripjaws V series 32GVR DDR4 2400 MHZ ( 4 x 8GB )
Onboard Sound card
Win 10 64 bit
Triple ASUS PG279Q ROG Swift 27" G-Sync 1440p 165 Hz

Any help would be greatly appreciated

Old Racer

Mahjik
10-04-2017, 20:38
Do you see messages (whether in your system tray or in Windows Event View) saying anything like "Display Driver stopped responding"?

BullWinkle
10-04-2017, 22:06
Posting a screenshot(s) of your in-game graphics settings may/could help.:)

Old Racer
10-04-2017, 22:12
There is nothing in the Sys tray or event viewer relating to Display Driver, do you need pic's of all the settings or are their specific ones that would help ?

BullWinkle
11-04-2017, 00:31
There is nothing in the Sys tray or event viewer relating to Display Driver, do you need pic's of all the settings or are their specific ones that would help ?

Only the graphics settings related ones.

Just make sure there not all set to ULTRA.(where applicable). Car/Track detail on Ultra probably OK, environment map, shadow detail, etc, keep on med/high. Thing is to test on lower settings just to see if same problem occurs/or less frequent.

Old Racer
11-04-2017, 02:16
I took snapshots of the graphic settings, if you need more let me know ....

Thx

Old Racer

BullWinkle
11-04-2017, 13:58
Try with Reflections Medium, Environment Map Medium, Anti-Aliasing MSAA if you haven't tried yet.
Also, Have you tried running any benchmarking software to find out if it has same issue?
https://www.futuremark.com/benchmarks/3dmark
(Free Version).

Old Racer
11-04-2017, 21:52
Will try this when I get home ...

Mahjik
11-04-2017, 21:59
Out of all those options, the Enhanced Mirrors is the most taxing that is enabled.

Old Racer
12-04-2017, 02:21
Gentlemen

I have made the changes to the graphics settings as mentioned ( including the Enhanced Mirrors ) and ran a 30 minute race with 15 Ai cars on the track. I also turned off all of the Steam and Geforce Experience stuff that involves streaming. I experienced multiple Black screens during the first 10 minutes of the race then things got better and I did not have any “ Blanks “ in the last 10 minutes. I checked Windows Event Viewer and there were no Video related errors but there were a few ( Hard disc Volume Shadow Copy 6 ) errors not sure what that means.

Could I be having a vid card heat issue, the reason I ask is I do not have any 3rd party software running to monitor or adjust the Vid card fans. I have know of EVGA Precision 16 and MSI Afterburner but have no experience with either and nothing is loaded.

This brings up another question, I am on a satellite connection with a 0.7 sec latency ( not great ). I have not raced online due to this poor connection and was wondering if I might see some improvement if I ran Steam and Pcars in offline mode.

Thanks again for all the Help ...

Old Racer

BullWinkle
12-04-2017, 14:38
Sounds like it could be a heating problem on one of your cards(or both). Have you checked them out for dust buildup on fans/heatsink?

Best way is to remove them, take off shrouds and blast them with some air if there in bad shape. Install EVGA Precision and keep an eye on the GPU temps while in Project Cars. ( I think you'l have to switch between GPU's for each check.)

One other thing you can try is to switch the cards in the pci-e slots to see if it makes any difference (thermally, if one card is heating up).

If it is a issue with one of your cards, running Steam/Project Cars in Offline mode probably won't be much help in solving the problem. I would say, monitor your GPU temps first, take it from there.:)

Old Racer
12-04-2017, 23:38
I am going to try and get Precision loaded and working this evening and give things a try. I have some family plans for Easter so will not get to the " Dust Patrol " till early next week. If I don't reply right away I have not given up just OD'd on Easter Bunny chocolate. Thanks to all who have helped so far looking forward to solving this issue so I can look forward to P Cars 2.

Cheers

Old Racer

Old Racer
20-04-2017, 00:26
Gentlemen

Ok, back from Vacation and have done some cleaning on the Vid cards, they were not very dusty but cleaned them anyway. I have installed EVGA Precision X and got it set up to display the GPU temps ect on screen while running. While running some practice laps with 15 AI cars on track here are the results ...
GPU #1 - Temp 73, Fan at 90 %, GPU #2 - Temp 62, Fan at 74 %. FPS was 130+ at 144hz, 7680 x 1440. Are the cards ( GPU #1 in particular ) running a bit hot for almost 100% fan speed ? I can see if I had more cars or the details bumped up the card would get into the red zone. I really don't need 130 FPS, and at 144hz it's a bit of overkill. If I limit the FPS and lower the refresh rate will this help get the cards a bit cooler or are there other things to look at for solutions ?

Thks in advance for the help

Old Racer

BullWinkle
20-04-2017, 01:14
I would try limiting the frame rate/lowering refresh rate yes, see how it gets along, keep an eye on temps. One thing you can try if you feel comfortable doing, is re-doing the thermal paste on GPU/Heatsink. Not sure how abused your cards are, or not.:o, but after years of use and toasty temps the thermal paste can deteriorate/dry out somewhat, and a fresh application of thermal paste can drop the temps down abit.
The temps you posted don't look too bad though to be honest. Something to consider though (last resort) if your still having issues.

Old Racer
21-04-2017, 00:57
Gentlemen

I have lowered the refresh rate down to 120 hz and increased the Fan speed to 100% through Precision when the GPU's hit 70 deg C. I ran a 20 lap race with 15 AI on the track with no Black screens or stuttering. Here are the details ... GPU #1 - Temp 67, Fan speed 94%, GPU # 2 - Temp 58, Fan speed 68% I managed an average of 106 FPS with no faults or screen hiccups. I think I have solved my " Black Screen " problem, What I mean is you have all helped me solve what appears to be my overheating problem. I am going to look into some additional fan cooling and wanted to get some idea's from you about software to control the PSU and the CPU coolers. I am sure they are running at default fan curves and I may be able to get some additional cooling done in the case by bumping them up a bit.

Thanks again ...

Old Racer

BullWinkle
21-04-2017, 12:31
Gentlemen

I have lowered the refresh rate down to 120 hz and increased the Fan speed to 100% through Precision when the GPU's hit 70 deg C. I ran a 20 lap race with 15 AI on the track with no Black screens or stuttering. Here are the details ... GPU #1 - Temp 67, Fan speed 94%, GPU # 2 - Temp 58, Fan speed 68% I managed an average of 106 FPS with no faults or screen hiccups. I think I have solved my " Black Screen " problem, What I mean is you have all helped me solve what appears to be my overheating problem. I am going to look into some additional fan cooling and wanted to get some idea's from you about software to control the PSU and the CPU coolers. I am sure they are running at default fan curves and I may be able to get some additional cooling done in the case by bumping them up a bit.

Thanks again ...

Old Racer

Good news.:)

One thing I forgot to mention is the power supply, depending on it's location ( if it sits on bottom of case) the screen/filter (bottom of case)used for the power supply can quickly get clogged with dust, starving the PSU from airflow. Just something to check if you haven't yet. Precision software should probably do the job to control your fans, other solutions could be fan-controllers if you want more control.
https://www.newegg.ca/Product/ProductList.aspx?Submit=ENE&DEPA=0&Order=BESTMATCH&Description=fan+controllers&N=-1&isNodeId=1