PDA

View Full Version : Improving On Consistency?

Jaeke20
30-07-2017, 02:59
Im having some troubles improving my lap times on Donington Park GP. The car I've been using is the Ford Sierra Cosworth with a basic setup of my own and my average time is 1:39:00. I did hit a 1:36:XX in a race and I cant recreate the time. It was a very close race and I was pushing very hard. Its frustrating seeing times 10-20 seconds faster in the same car. I've been banging my head on a wall trying to improve.

I am fairly new to racing at a competitive level, I rigorously played GT5 and GT6, but with a controller, and I wasn't very competitive. I now play on PS4 with a G29 Wheel.

Any tips on improving consistency would be extremely helpful.

Mahjik
30-07-2017, 03:02
There are some good tips in the following thread:

http://forum.projectcarsgame.com/showthread.php?50856-Do-a-good-deed-help-a-rookie!

They aren't directly related to consistency, but there is some good information in general in that thread.

Jaeke20
30-07-2017, 03:08
Thank you, I read threw it already and its things I've mostly been doing. I have been introduced to racing theory and have been studying.

Mahjik
30-07-2017, 03:21
Consistency is all about markers. You need visual markers to hit which makes you consistent. It's not always brake markers, it could be a fence, or hay bail, or whatever, but that's how you get consistent.

Jaeke20
30-07-2017, 03:28
Sorry! The title is supposed to be "Improving ON Consistency" I am consistent, I just cant get faster.

hkraft300
30-07-2017, 04:30
Sorry! The title is supposed to be "Improving ON Consistency" I am consistent, I just cant get faster.

This will make you faster :

Consistency is all about markers. You need visual markers to hit which makes you consistent. It's not always brake markers, it could be a fence, or hay bail, or whatever, but that's how you get consistent.

You might be "over-driving" the car by pushing too hard for lap times.