PDA

View Full Version : Shared Memory for third party apps?



Berno
27-08-2017, 05:14
My Android Dashboard software DashPanel (https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.PyrofrogStudios.DashPanel&hl=en) is pretty popular with pCars users so:
Any info about pCars 2 and shared memory?
Does it still exist?
Has it changed?
If so can I see a preview of the structure so I can pre-empt supporting it?
Even better can I get early access so that it is supported on release day?
Seriously people email me the day of any sim release saying 'why isn't this supported!' like I have early access to everything ;)

Thanks.

Mahjik
27-08-2017, 05:22
You had your chance for early access (2 years ago). The original PC1 format is supported.

Berno
27-08-2017, 07:10
You had your chance for early access (2 years ago).
2 years ago I was too busy to know and probably too busy to consider joining again.
No matter.


The original PC1 format is supported.
Good to know.
This is SharedMemory right?
Because I heard the PC1 UDP format is supported via a legacy mode in the Dev stream but no mention of the memory format itself.

Roger Prynne
27-08-2017, 15:48
239805

Mahjik
27-08-2017, 16:27
Good to know.
This is SharedMemory right?
Because I heard the PC1 UDP format is supported via a legacy mode in the Dev stream but no mention of the memory format itself.

PC1 UDP is the same as PC1.

Trippul G
27-08-2017, 18:16
Out of curiosity, does this mean that apps that were made for PC1 and apps that were made for PC2 are mutually exclusive? i.e. do any apps that I use all have to be either for PC1, or all for PC2?

Mahjik
27-08-2017, 18:28
Out of curiosity, does this mean that apps that were made for PC1 and apps that were made for PC2 are mutually exclusive? i.e. do any apps that I use all have to be either for PC1, or all for PC2?

Currently, yes. Basically, this is to allow existing apps to work while they (eventually) migrate to the new API once released.

Berno
27-08-2017, 22:39
239805

There is my answer! Thanks man got it in one :)
Not a bad move providing legacy support.
I wont be under pressure to rush something out the door after release.

poirqc
28-08-2017, 00:43
239805

It's probably been fixed already, but it's "protocol". Not "protocal" :)

jimmyb_84
29-08-2017, 01:09
239805

That's an amazing feature, so simple (i know it's probably not) adds extra straight from the word go!

Thank you SMS

SenorPez
29-08-2017, 14:15
239805

I know it makes me a huge nerd, but this is literally the most exciting Project CARS 2 screenshot I've seen.

Roger Prynne
29-08-2017, 15:19
^ What a nerd :friendly_wink:

Mad Al
29-08-2017, 15:27
Better not show him the mirror adjustments in VR then ..... :)

satco1066
16-09-2017, 00:01
just to mention. There are some little things, that cannot be used currently in PC1 dashs.
That covers all tracks and corresponding data for tracks that are new to PC2.
e.g. you cannot see the realtime map of Sugo or Red Bull Ring in pCARS Dash as long as the developer does not update his dashboard.

jonston
21-09-2017, 00:55
I have turn it to project cars 1, but my third party apps are still not working. any idea what im doing wrong? crew chief, dash panel(as mentioned above, or my eksimracing dash isnt working.

please help!

Berno
21-09-2017, 03:59
I have turn it to project cars 1, but my third party apps are still not working. any idea what im doing wrong? crew chief, dash panel(as mentioned above, or my eksimracing dash isnt working.

please help!

I can only speak for the DashPanelServer but it wont know pcars 2 is running because it doesn't know the exe name to look for.
Its probably the same for any software that 'detects' when a game is running. Without the specific executable names they wont know about it until we add the names.

Siberian Tiger
21-09-2017, 04:21
Correct, and on Crew Chief you have to select the right Exe. (AVX of nonAVX) Depending on what Version will start on your Rig. (Processor)

jonston
21-09-2017, 04:52
Right....got it now. thanks. will have to wait then!

mr_belowski
21-09-2017, 06:16
Crew chief will probably work in Network data mode. I did put some pcars 2 exe names in it but I guess they got changed. Will fix it tomorrow, of course :)

Chawabax
21-09-2017, 10:27
Where can I find documentation about new UDP data transfer? (I'm working only with consoles, I don't have steam access etc...)

DeathMetalRacer
22-09-2017, 19:34
239805
I'm on Xbox One and can't for the life of me find this menu. I would like to run crew chief like I did in PC1. Please Help!

Roger Prynne
22-09-2017, 19:54
It's coming in a patch, so hang in there.

SenorPez
22-09-2017, 20:32
It's coming in a patch, so hang in there.

Has this been announced publicly somewhere, do you have solid insider information, or is it just speculation?

I'd hate to get my hopes up if it's not going to happen. ;)

Roger Prynne
22-09-2017, 22:22
Has this been announced publicly somewhere, do you have solid insider information, or is it just speculation?

I'd hate to get my hopes up if it's not going to happen. ;)

The answer is in quite a few threads around here, but yes it will be added soon but don't ask me when as I don't know yet.

rpstar
23-09-2017, 13:48
Awesome. Yeah, Crew Chief is a great thing so looking forward to the patch.

Sparten
23-09-2017, 16:45
Awesome. Yeah, Crew Chief is a great thing so looking forward to the patch.

Crew Chief works with PC2 on the PC version allready, you just have to use sharedmemory version pcar1 or pcars 1 upd data.

satco1066
24-09-2017, 23:50
Out of curiosity, does this mean that apps that were made for PC1 and apps that were made for PC2 are mutually exclusive? i.e. do any apps that I use all have to be either for PC1, or all for PC2?

thats dependend to the developer of the app.
current dash apps cannot support the enhanced pCars2 protocol without an update by the app developer.
If an app developer decides to support both protocols in one app, it will work without switching the app.