PDA

View Full Version : Driver hands karate chop - video included - Gamer Muscle

Javaniceday
29-08-2017, 20:04
As an animator and a huge fan of pCARS1 and 2, this part was always so painful. It goes unsaid by most people who play it, and I'm glad Gamer Muscle pointed it out, 'cuz it's quite annoying.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c7E-RyOJCxA&t=13m16s

Like I said, I'm an animator and I know exactly what's going on here. The animation of the hands is directly driven by the angle of the steering wheel - what is called a set driven key. As the steering wheel rotates, it drives the hand animation as it holds on to the wheel - when it gets to a certain angle, it gets to the part of the animation where one hand needs to go over the other, but what happens a lot is the steering wheel is held at that one angle and the animation never plays all the way through.

So hopefully, at some point, there'll be an override to this animation system so that once the hand over hand animation starts playing, it plays all the way through, instead of being left to hang there in the middle. In real life, obviously, no one is gonna start to place the hand in front of the other and leaving it there.

Anyway, rant over. In case anyone's wondering about my qualifications, I've animated on StarTrek Beyond, Apes 2, Fast 7, Ghostbusters, and DBZTribute.

hope some day this gets addressed

Trippul G
29-08-2017, 21:51