PDA

View Full Version : Has Xbox one reached its chequered flag?

Numbrsix
23-09-2017, 06:16
Let me begin by saying that I started playing racing games back in the days of the Amiga and Atari ST, I grew up with Geoff Crammond's GP games and have pretty much covered all racing games over the last 35 years since I built my first gaming PC at the age of 15.

Unlike some folks I loved the first project cars on the Xbox and never really got all the hate levelled at it, yes it had a few bugs but they were addressed and up until yesterday I still played it and enjoyed the racing.

So having high hopes I purchased PC2 and having now spent some time with it I have to ask has the underpowered Xbox1 been stretched beyond its means?

Like some I have noticed framerate issues on most tracks, some old some new, Spa is now unplayable down the main straight to Eau Rouge (for me) the Red Bull ring ( A1 ring for us old timers) displays slowdown on a number of corners, China etc.... It goes on.

We can't blame the Devs for aging hardware, underneath it all is I suspect a good evolution of the older game we simply don't have the machine to realise it, I am hopeful that further optimisation will come and iron these out to some degree but at present I run 13 AI cars alongside my own and it still exhibits these issues, I cannot imagine attempting to play this with 20 cars like the older game managed let alone a full field as the game allows.