PDA

View Full Version : Maybe a problem - Cayman overheat after mild front end damage

sp3ctor
27-09-2017, 05:28
I was racing in warm conditions at RA in the cayman and put it into the wall. The damage on the HUD appeared to be fairly minimal but within half a lap - before I could pit - the car overheated and the engine blew. I'm no mechanic, but... it's a mid engine car and the intakes aren't in front... so I'm not really sure if that's a bug or just "hey you hit a wall, things happen..."

Aldo Zampatti
27-09-2017, 05:32
I was racing in warm conditions at RA in the cayman and put it into the wall. The damage on the HUD appeared to be fairly minimal but within half a lap - before I could pit - the car overheated and the engine blew. I'm no mechanic, but... it's a mid engine car and the intakes aren't in front... so I'm not really sure if that's a bug or just "hey you hit a wall, things happen..."

I'll investigate and reproduce to report internally.

sp3ctor
27-09-2017, 05:36
Cool, I forgot to add that I was really trying to baby the car to the pits but the temp seemed to increase exponentially regardless of what I did.

Siberian Tiger
27-09-2017, 06:11
That's tied to the not Reseting Damage possibly...

honespc
27-09-2017, 06:41
Happened to me on California Highway hardcore sideways session in an Enzo Ferrari, but without coliding to any wall or taking any damage. Radiator open 100%, and more or less when i reach 50% of the stage the engine blows up(temps of around 140 or higher with full open radiator). Why?

Happens with all road cars btw. Can understand you can blow up a "lesser" car, but a machine made for struggling like an Enzo?

senn
27-09-2017, 06:55
The intakes might be in the rear but the radiators are in the front. Coolant lines run full length of the car so it's possible you damaged the cooling system that way and overheated the engine?