PDA

View Full Version : Tires

Lakiboom
09-10-2017, 11:21
Ok, first of all i'm not a pro racer and I've never tried a car with slick tires in real life. But I've got a question.

For me it's comfortable to drive GT3 cars. Dry track, soft slicks, two laps and tires are ready (light green). I feel the car and don't afraid to go fast. But then I chose Mercedes A TCC (FWD car, slick tires, Brands Hatch). After 5 laps rear tires are still cold!!! Ok, go to tune. Low rear pressure to min, raise rear aero downforce, set camber from -4 to -2(min). 5 laps again and no effect. Rear tires are cold and I've got oversteer at turns on FWD car :confused:. My friends who play iRacing said that PCars1 had such problems with tires model (especially with FWD) so the PCars2 too? TCC is harder to control than GT3?

Is it me doing smth wrong, need more practice or this is problem with tires model? I always thought that it is enough to go one lap to warm tires but seems it is not in PCars2.

dominiczeth
09-10-2017, 11:27
It's not so easy to get Temperature in the Rear Tires in Touring Cars. Because FWD. The Fronttires have the most work to do. To get the Rear Tires warm you have to push really hard and on the edge to oversteering.

cjhill44
09-10-2017, 11:31
On a green track in practice it can take a few laps to heat the tyres up in any car.

The rears on FWD cars will take longer to heat up. In BTCC qualifying sessions you will see the FWD cars do 1 lap then come in to cross their tyres over, swapping the fronts to the rear because it is quicker to build up tyre temps this way than do 4 or 5 laps just to get the rear tyres up to the optimum operating temperature.

In a race you will find yourself on the grid with tyres at good operating temperature.

DarrenM
09-10-2017, 11:33
The slicks are broken in some cars. In the Formula C it's faster to use wets in dry weather. The car handles significantly better as well.

Lakiboom
09-10-2017, 11:34