PDA

View Full Version : Where to Begin with Sim Racing?

WellRED Barron
23-11-2017, 20:13
I’m new to this. I mean, if you look at the hundreds of hours I have put into the game already, you wouldn’t think I was new. Could have beat Witcher 3 and its expansions twice by now.

But... sim racing is like learning to play a musical instrument well. You need the proper setup AND you need to practice... practice... practice.

Every long term sim racer knows this thing. The beginner’s learning curve is hard to surmount. It is the first and toughest hurdle. Once you put the time in, future sims become easier to adjust to and properly evaluate.

So what helps you get into the groove? What forms of practice? What pieces of equipment really raised your game?

Basically, what did you do to be able to go online and compete without upsetting all your opponents? How do you suggest you most efficiently learn how to race?

Any links or input would be greatly appreciated.

Nyreen
23-11-2017, 20:25
I know some people will flood you of very informative threads / links / topics to raise your driving skills. But on a more personal subject, what do you know about racing in general ?

I'm quite competitive right now, and I've got a wheel since two months "only". Of course I did learn A LOT in that spare time, but I already was a long-term motorsport fan and car enthusiast, interested myself in the proper way to spiritedly ride my motorcycle when I got it earlier this year (knee down, proper shifting, trail-braking, body position, levers etc), the only thing I remember from my childhood certainly is playing Gran Turismo on my father's lap. I finally took a step up in my lifetime video-gaming addiction by owning a wheel (sad thing, I used to like Forza until now).