PDA

View Full Version : Ride Height

ExiledinIN
26-12-2017, 04:58
I'm new to the game/series, and looking for some help. Running on Xbox One S with Fanatec CSL Elite pedals and wheel.

Track: Watkins Glen
Car: SMS Forumla Rookie

How do I tell that the car is bottoming out. When I set the view for telemetry I don't see the ride height going to near 0. I know there are a couple of corners where if I set it too low, I'll bottom out and then get instant oversteer.

Another related question is if I increase the bump stops, I know that the spring travel will decrease accordingly.

I'd like to know when I bottom out to try to set ride height, then the bump stops. But, how much bump stop is too much? I know for every mm of bump stop I add, I remove that mm in spring travel. Looking at the telemetry, what tells me when I have too much bump stops?

hkraft300
26-12-2017, 07:17
Travel going 0 mid-corner = too much bump stop.
Height going 0 = not enough bump stop.

ExiledinIN
09-03-2018, 00:03
So with neither the bump stop going to 0 or the travel going to 0, I don't think I'm bottoming out on the bumps, nor am I getting snap oversteer from hitting the track. After watching Yorkie065 video, I wonder if it is the bump transition that should affect my oversteer situation.

blinkngone
09-03-2018, 00:29
On PC I have checked the top 10 times, most are running Default ride height 85 front/ 95 rear. Bump stops are 20 front and rear with 1 person at 10 front. As usual little to no changes on dampers. One has LSD off the rest are running Coast at 30 which is from the Stable setup.
http://cars2-stats-steam.wmdportal.com/index.php/leaderboard?track=2509185801&vehicle=2219682419

ExiledinIN
09-03-2018, 15:05
I changed the bump and rebound transistions (faster on the rear and slower on the front) to help with the over steer. Success!!!! I was able to lay down some pretty competitive times now that I didn't have to worry about the back end wanting to swing around to lead the race.