PDA

View Full Version : What do you use as a handbrake if you don't actually have one?



PUGS
12-02-2018, 03:18
I just entered the Rallycross portion of the career mode and am wondering what you all use as a handbrake if all you have is a wheel with paddles (thrustmaster ts300)?

Mahjik
12-02-2018, 03:19
Button! :p Just tone down the handbrake strength in the setup.

breyzipp
12-02-2018, 03:54
Yeah, I use the "A" button both on the Thrustmaster TX wheel as well as on the XBox One controller so that it doesn't get too confusing. :)

ATSS
12-02-2018, 06:23
Button! :p Just tone down the handbrake strength in the setup.

What is the ideal ~ % though? For example street sport cars;Vette,GT3RS etc.

FastForward352
12-02-2018, 06:54
I don't know if it works in PC2, I never tried yet, but when driving in Dirt Rally, I can plug my Hotas Warthog stick and use it as a handbrake :D

Ryori San
12-02-2018, 09:16
An old black widow joystick.. I've removed the actual stick and replaced it with the handle of a mini bike pump. Perfect! ..kind of

Mahjik
12-02-2018, 13:59
What is the ideal ~ % though? For example street sport cars;Vette,GT3RS etc.

It will depend on the car, however street car handbrakes are a lot different than what rallycross cars use. I would suggest starting around 80%.

AbeWoz
12-02-2018, 14:01
I don't know if it works in PC2, I never tried yet, but when driving in Dirt Rally, I can plug my Hotas Warthog stick and use it as a handbrake :D

it works. i've done it. I actually use my as a sequential shifter with the pinky switch paddle as the hand brake.

Smoked_Cheddar
12-02-2018, 16:29
it works. i've done it. I actually use my as a sequential shifter with the pinky switch paddle as the hand brake.

This sounds like a great idea! But like the OP i'll have to stick with a button for now.

VelvetTorpedo
12-02-2018, 17:43
I have the 'B' button mapped for it on my CSL Elite for drifting. I've used as little as 50% handbrake to make it predictable.

I own the TH8A but I use it too much to dedicate it to a brake, and my arduino handbrake is disassembled at the moment.