PDA

View Full Version : Can anyone explain bump/rebound for a newbie?

Lowndes888
02-03-2018, 03:12
Can anyone be kind enough to explain the effects/benefits of bump and rebound for me, and the best way to work it out per track? Need it as basic as possible lol, I'm not exactly Adrian Newey!! TIA!

Pekka Salminen
02-03-2018, 08:38
I can try, although I am not very good with dampers :D

They are related to dampers ability to resist suspension movement. Bump values is the resistance to compression, while rebound is for the opposite movement (what ever the opposite word for compression is in english :D )
TBH I dont think tuning the dampers is very important, only thing where it have helped me is when I want the car to ride curbs better (But I ran mostly GT3 and GTE cars, it could be more useful in other cars). However, setting them too soft will make the car to bounce up and down like a yoyo. The default values are pretty good at least for modern GT cars.

Atak Kat
02-03-2018, 09:18
I don't mess around with the settings too much. But for whatever reason, I have in my head that:
- it is likely better that the bump is softer, therefore allowing the tire/wheel to move upwards more quickly.
- in opposite, I have in my mind that it is better that the rebound is stronger. Allowing the tire/wheel then to return back downwards quickly.

Like I said, that's in my head. Whether or not it's correct, I really have no idea....

I'd like to understand it better as well, but I think my brain is pretty much maxed out just trying to comprehend all the other things in the car setup. Diff settings have put me pretty much to the limit of my comprehension already.

PostBox981
02-03-2018, 10:20
Maybe it will be helpful to watch EP10 (http://forum.projectcarsgame.com/showthread.php?55787-THE-INSIDER-S-GUIDE-Weekly-In-game-Guide-by-Yorkie065&p=1401732&viewfull=1#post1401732) of Yorkieīs Insiderīs Guide...

blinkngone
02-03-2018, 10:52