PDA

View Full Version : Power/Torque graph builder, may be useful for somebody.



g1oomey
17-03-2018, 13:37
https://github.com/dpogretskiy/pcars2-power-graphs/releases/tag/0.8.0
***0.8.0

Updated to 0.6.0:
- GGV lines, and differential graph.

Updated to 0.5.0:
-No more annoying console window
-Gear graphs are not randomly stretching out of screen when gear ratios determine weird values.

Image link:
https://i.imgur.com/lzYTAYs.png


Updated to 0.4.0, changelog is such:
-Shifting points are here!
-Overall a lot slower, cause shifting points are hard.
-White lines are not pretty :(

Original idea was such, white lines represent wheel torque in meaningless numbers, but they cross around where should be.
In text string:
R: Some number that is somehow proportional to gear ratio of current gear, actually it's just (Engine RPM/Wheel RPM)
Rot: Is maximum achieved Wheel RPM, not really used anymore.
Other: Self explanatory.

As a myth busting part: Peak torque is maximum acceleration in any given gear, so suggestion to shift at peak power has it's reason, but too vague to be generally applicable.

So the thing maps torque graph for each gear and draws them to fit on screen,
this unfortunately renders coordinate nets useless, but small orange dot tells you where you are.

Disable fullscreen optimizations in file Compatibility settings, this should help a bit for Win10 users.

Free for any purpose, written in rust.
I was in rush, so code quality is not the highest, but does the job.
:yes: Run game before you run the app.

What it does is gathers data from telemetry when you full-throtte and don't press clutch, to get the most smooth one you should probably just start on daytona from 0 speed in 5th or 6th gear to max revs.

This may be needed to run it, but everyone probably has it already:
https://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/download/details.aspx?id=48145


in action:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tOktdaBbDJg

belaki
19-03-2018, 10:51
Quick question... The EXE looks for the DLL where? Same folder as the EXE?

g1oomey
19-03-2018, 13:43
Quick question... The EXE looks for the DLL where? Same folder as the EXE?

Yup, i guess, like all EXEs do, this approach works at least.

EDIT:
Huh, i found that:
https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/desktop/ms682586(v=vs.85).aspx

g1oomey
24-03-2018, 12:10
252188

On all gt3 and CLK-LM Mercedes'es gears are a bit off,
For example on SLS AMG gt3 and AMG gt3 you generally don't want to shift until you hit the limiter.
And on gt1 as seen on graph, you wan't to shift through gears 4 and 5 way before shift lights even come up.
Fot gt3's it would be nice to extend rpm range, that would make a deal in terms of balancing.

Bealdor
24-03-2018, 12:49
The Mercedes GT3 cars have suboptimal gear ratios for a reason...
That's how they're homologated IRL.

g1oomey
06-04-2018, 19:35
Updated to 0.5.0

F1_Racer68
07-04-2018, 17:58
OK, dumb question.......

When I try to run the EXE file, I get a quick flash of a window trying to open, and then it's gone. No tool visible, nothing running according to Task Manager. YEs, I am using the "Run as Administrator" option. Any idea what I am doing wrong?

g1oomey
07-04-2018, 21:50
OK, dumb question.......

When I try to run the EXE file, I get a quick flash of a window trying to open, and then it's gone. No tool visible, nothing running according to Task Manager. YEs, I am using the "Run as Administrator" option. Any idea what I am doing wrong?

It's probably cause game is not running, or shared memory is disabled, or it's pcars1 version.
I use CrewChief only, and it works with shared memory v2, so i made it to work with shared memory v2 also :)

It's on the top-right in options, while you are in main menu, just in case.
Also you can try to run exe file from cmd console since it logs what it doesn't like.

F1_Racer68
08-04-2018, 14:44
Pcars2 and shared memory is enabled and working as I use Z1 Dashboard. Will try command line and see what it shows.

Thanks.

g1oomey
08-04-2018, 16:07
Pcars2 and shared memory is enabled and working as I use Z1 Dashboard. Will try command line and see what it shows.

Thanks.

Oh, and visual c++ libraries from microsoft are also required, they present on gaming pcs in general, since a lot of games require them, they are just mandatory for stuff built using visual studio for some reason.
The link is in OP, maybe you are dedicated sim racer without that kind of bs on your pc :D

F1_Racer68
09-04-2018, 18:51
Oh, and visual c++ libraries from microsoft are also required, they present on gaming pcs in general, since a lot of games require them, they are just mandatory for stuff built using visual studio for some reason.
The link is in OP, maybe you are dedicated sim racer without that kind of bs on your pc :D

Z1 Dashboard also requires it, so it's already there, but thanks for the suggestion. I will be testing again tonight and let you know if I make any progress.

g1oomey
13-04-2018, 19:56
Updated to 0.6.0: G-G-V and Differential graphs, hey it's more useful for setup benchmarking now.
https://github.com/dpogretskiy/pcars2-power-graphs/releases/tag/0.6.0

F1_Racer68
15-04-2018, 03:35
@g1oomy - Just wanted to let you know that I was finally able to get the tool to launch. The new version seemed to resolve whatever issue I was haivng.

Thanks for the update.

g1oomey
19-06-2018, 19:46
Updated to 0.8.0
Now it has, suspension travel graph, since ride height is not in shared memory API,
Car acceleration, which is track long, shows how many grip/traction you have, measured in G's for turning/braking/accel,
And a bit smoother gear-ratio * torque curves, which show shifting points, for ones who whant to maximise the efficiency :)