PDA

View Full Version : Braking tips

Mincepie10
10-04-2018, 08:46
Hi. As a novice, I was wondering if anyone could give me some braking tips? I watched a Youtube hotlap/set-up video for Monza and the Porsche GT3. I have set up the car exactly the same as the guy in the video who did a 1:45 lap. I try braking at exactly the points he mentions, but I simply skid or overrun the corner. In general, I find that my braking points are quite a bit earlier than those of the AI or opponents on-line. As I said, slamming on the brakes leads to skidding and dabbing and squeezing leads to overruns. I guess a balance of the two is in order, but does anyone have any tips? Thanks

hkraft300
10-04-2018, 08:50
Reduce brake pressure. Try abs if you like.
Have a play with brake bias. There's a sweet spot that'll really allow you to stomp on it, but beware of trail braking.
Also, trail braking. Master that and you'll chop your brake distance.

Don't dab and squeeze. Get on it hard, stay on it, then back off just at the point before lock up. Search for threshold braking articles and videos that apply in real life, not just SIM racing.

Zaskarspants
10-04-2018, 08:56
I use pedals, so apologies if this is not relevant.

A few weeks ago I started trying trial braking and it has helped my racing but I found I needed to make adjustments to my pedal to find the control I needed.

Trail braking - I have been braking very hard at first then easing off as I turn in and then off brake and back on throttle at the apex or when I feel the car is gripping and stable.

I found I was over braking on entry most times and or unable to finesse the brake at the apex and was likely to go wide. I found it really helped to change my brake pedal dead-zone to a much higher one.