PDA

View Full Version : Need some help with losing tire heat in rain races.

kevin kirk
16-04-2018, 03:16
Can anyone give me some advice to prevent wet tires going cold? Lowering tire pressures doesnt seem to prevent it and also has a huge effect on handling. With in 3 or 4 laps of a wet race the tire temp is dropping well below the temp that makes the tire turn blue. Its pretty much stopping me from being able to do wet GT3 races. Also I do have the season set to summer.

ELAhrairah
16-04-2018, 09:37
I am no expert or pro but:

- Adjust camber (decrease negative camber) to make sure that the tires have a maximum surface contact with the ground so that water can be disposed as fast as possible and the tires can actually heat up.

- Increase ride height to prevent bottoming out.

- softening springs

You need to make sure that the tires stick to the asphalt, increase mechanical grip as much as possible by softening the chassis and increase aero downforce as much as you can get away with competitively (top speed) and to compensate the ride height downforce loss. (when the ride height increases, the overall downforce created by underbody and diffuser will be reduced)

You can also play with the dampers/rebound etc. but I would not mess too much with them and just start with the basics.

Anukpaquito
16-04-2018, 10:11
Perfect!!

FlakNine
16-04-2018, 10:18

- Adjust camber (decrease negative camber) to make sure that the tires have a maximum surface contact with the ground so that water can be disposed as fast as possible and the tires can actually heat up.

- softening springs

You need to make sure that the tires stick to the asphalt, increase mechanical grip as much as possible by softening the chassis and increase aero downforce as much as you can get away with competitively (top speed) and to compensate the ride height downforce loss. (when the ride height increases, the overall downforce created by underbody and diffuser will be reduced)