PDA

View Full Version : Car menu top speed not consistent



Asphalt3
04-05-2018, 07:51
hello to all I would like to know because in project cars 2 the mercedes c 9 in the menu is 400 kmh and instead in the game at 289 kmh the car no longer pulls, it is not nice that a c9 is struggling to take the 300. Also the other speeds shown in the menu are not consistent.Thanks.

Invincible
04-05-2018, 08:26
hello to all I would like to know because in project cars 2 the mercedes c 9 in the menu is 400 kmh and instead in the game at 289 kmh the car no longer pulls, it is not nice that a c9 is struggling to take the 300. Also the other speeds shown in the menu are not consistent.Thanks.

The speed in the menu is what the car can achieve under ideal conditions. Not what it does with the default setup. To reach 400 kph, you will need to: Drop all downforce to 0, increase tire pressures, close brake ducts and radiators and if possible (could be lower than 100% in default setup - not sure), increase the turbo pressure.

Asphalt3
04-05-2018, 08:58
The speed in the menu is what the car can achieve under ideal conditions. Not what it does with the default setup. To reach 400 kph, you will need to: Drop all downforce to 0, increase tire pressures, close brake ducts and radiators and if possible (could be lower than 100% in default setup - not sure), increase the turbo pressure.

ok thanks, in fact I thought it could be a problem of setting, greetings

Stewy32
04-05-2018, 19:47
Also,it is possible to exceed it with tailwind and/or AI cars to slipstream if anyone wonders.

davidt33
04-05-2018, 21:17
The speed in the menu is what the car can achieve under ideal conditions. Not what it does with the default setup. To reach 400 kph, you will need to: Drop all downforce to 0, increase tire pressures, close brake ducts and radiators and if possible (could be lower than 100% in default setup - not sure), increase the turbo pressure.
Wasn't quite aware of that. Thanks for the heads up re increasing speed particularly with regard downforce for longer laps.

simsimsheree
05-05-2018, 18:09
No car posts its top speed specs when slipstreaming. Specifications implies the car's performance unaided. Top speed runs are done in two directions to negate wind effects. Bugatti don't claim their top speed on a downhill run with the wind behind them slipstreaming another car, LOL

Might as well state that the car could achieve higher speeds if dropped from an airplane at high altitude!

Top speed is unaided with either zero wind or the average of two runs in both directions. Anything else is an inflated speed. Yes, close the ducts, raise the pressure, do away with downforce. But please! Tailwind and drafting added? A manufacturer would get crucified for claiming a top speed under those circumstances...

Charger
05-05-2018, 19:24
Raced this last night, managed 236mph with a bit more to go but ran out of road, gearing, downforce and ducts closed.

John Hargreaves
05-05-2018, 21:20
But please! Tailwind and drafting added? A manufacturer would get crucified for claiming a top speed under those circumstances...

I don't think Stewy was saying that the manufacturers use those methods :rolleyes: