PDA

View Full Version : New Driver

kiwis
23-05-2018, 03:45
So I'm new to Project Cars, got the game this wee and am using a joystick to drive.

All it is well except;

I'm loosing control of my vehicle at speed and often slide out from the rear and turning can also be sharp

Any pointers is appreciated.

sloppysmusic
23-05-2018, 13:11
So I'm new to Project Cars, got the game this wee and am using a joystick to drive.

All it is well except;

I'm loosing control of my vehicle at speed and often slide out from the rear and turning can also be sharp

Any pointers is appreciated.

Real world driving skills can generally be applied in this game. As a beginner both learning racecraft and tweaking your car will help a lot. Race craft advice is everywhere If you search for it. There a lot of tunes in the car setup garage forums. I wrote a thread called Sloppys stable and fun career tunes designed exactly for beginners to enjoy driving the career events WITHOUT spinning out all the time. I would be very interested to see if they are of any help to you!
They were designed for wheel users so you may need to change the steering ratio setting but cars will definitely be more stable for you even with a controller.

OddTimer
23-05-2018, 14:27
Use the stable setup. Also, try different tires. Weather and track conditions will dictate the type of tires you should be using. The game is totally playable with a joystick.

CassielLight
23-05-2018, 18:49
It's playable with a standard controller.

Best concept to at least know the basics of, is load transfer. This is a big oversimplification here, but think of it this way. When you accelerate, the weight of the car (the "load") moves to the back; when you brake, the load moves up front. Going uphill, load moves back; downhill, it moves up front.

The more of the load that's on your drive wheels, the more aggressive you can be in a particular corner.