PDA

View Full Version : Advice on car setups please

DeanUK
26-05-2018, 12:43
I'm finding some of the classes quite difficult to get a stable setup (even using the stable setup SMS provide). It's not a problem with the Touring Cars, Vintage Touring Cars or GT3,4,5 cars... mainly the Road cars and V8 supercar etc. I'm an S rated driver and only race online, so I'm not new to sim racing and in real life I can handle a car.

Out of the box a lot of the cars seem very twitchy, oversteery, low on grip etc. The engineer can't help on a lot of these cars as they may not be settings they can make.

I can usually make minor adjustments to the LSD, engine braking, but for some of these cars that's not really helping. I do wish there were some more pre-built setups available or even a more helpful engineer that could change more for you (tyre pressures, more indepth suspension changes etc). There's some great cars in this game that sadly until I get a PHD in tuning I won't ever get to try without crashing off on every apex.

I know a lot of the community love tuning, are more than capable of it and think it's an integral part of sim racing and I will probably be shot down for mentioning this. But most drivers in "real racing" give feedback to their team, describe the problem the car is giving them and then the team sort out the issues. I primarily want to race/drive on track without having to overcome the instability of the cars with complex changes above my pay grade, but am struggling to do this.

hkraft300
26-05-2018, 13:48
.... But most drivers in "real racing" give feedback to their team, describe the problem the car is giving them and then the team sort out the issues.

You’re not wrong.

So, how about we start with what car you’re driving and what issues you’re having, exactly? The more details of the symptoms the merrier :)

DeanUK
26-05-2018, 16:05
You’re not wrong.