Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Project CARS doesn't start up [Steam]

  1. #1
    Rookie
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    4
    Platform
    PC

    Project CARS doesn't start up [Steam]

    Solved!
    Solution was to optimize the GPU for the game via "GeForce Expierience"


    Hello,

    sadly, my Project CARS Limited Edition won't start up.

    When I launch the game via Steam the icon in the taskbar appears and after 20 seconds I can hear a music that seems to be the menu sound. But I cannot switch to the application. No errors, already checked the files with the steam file checker.

    My system sports an EVGA GTX970 2.0 ACX GPU, an i7 4790k @4.4 and 32GB of memory built on the MSI Z97M Gaming motherboard connected to an 800W PSU. System temps are just fine, restarted the system multiple times and also tried it in steam's offline mode with no success.

    Here is the issue; the black rectangle is the running application when I hover the icon in the taskbar.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	cars.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	96.3 KB 
ID:	200674
    http://i.imgur.com/7IvJkeW.jpg

    Best Regards,
    mekkv2
    Last edited by mekkv2; 08-05-2015 at 16:38. Reason: Found Solution, Typo

  2. #2
    Kart Driver
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    6
    Platform
    PC
    I'm having a very similar problem http://forum.projectcarsgame.com/sho...will-not-start

  3. #3
    Rookie
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    4
    Platform
    PC
    I found a solution: Go to your GeForce Experience thingy and optimize the driver for it. Then it starts.

  4. #4
    WMD Member BullWinkle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    East Coast, Canada
    Posts
    1,177
    Platform
    PC
    If you have Logitech controller(wheel), make sure you start the Logitech profiler software before starting Project Cars., it has a habit of taking focus away from pCars. This is a Logitech issue with there software i believe. Also make sure your running as administrator. You can also put Project Cars on the exception list of any A/V software you have running aswell.
    AsRock X370 Taichi MB /AMD Ryzen 1700 @ 3.4Ghz / G.SKILL Flare X Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 3200 / Samsung NVMe SSD 960 Evo M.2
    Samsung 250GB 850 EVO (SSD) / 2 X SAPPHIRE NITRO+ Radeon RX480 8GB/OC 1342Mhz / SeaSonic Focus 750W Gold / AMD Adrenalin 18.2.1 drivers / Acer XZ271U bmijpphzx 27 Curved WQHD 2560 x 1440p 144Hz monitor.
    Windows 10 64bit / TrackIR 5, ver 5.2 final drivers / Logitech G27

  5. #5
    Kart Driver
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    15
    Platform
    PC
    I have this exact issue, the only way around I've found is to start the game from within GeForce Experience.

    Does anyone know what shortcut Geforce Experience is using to launch the game?

  6. #6
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    2
    Platform
    PC
    Hi everyone.

    I also have the exact same problem here. My system is:
    - AMD PhenomII X6 1075T
    - AMD Radeon HD 7750
    - 8gigs of RAM
    (...etc)

    I have the latest driver from amd.com manually downloaded, and I also have tried the AMD Autodetect Utility to update the driver automatically (but nothing was downloaded since I already have the latest driver).

    Does anybody have this problem with AMD card?

  7. #7
    Moderator Sankyo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    8,196
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by ventisca View Post
    Hi everyone.

    I also have the exact same problem here. My system is:
    - AMD PhenomII X6 1075T
    - AMD Radeon HD 7750
    - 8gigs of RAM
    (...etc)

    I have the latest driver from amd.com manually downloaded, and I also have tried the AMD Autodetect Utility to update the driver automatically (but nothing was downloaded since I already have the latest driver).

    Does anybody have this problem with AMD card?
    There are different possible causes for this. You can try:
    - delete or rename graphicsconfig.xml from My Documents/Project Cars to see if that helps
    - check the refresh rate of your monitor that it doesn't have some odd value
    - if you are using a Logitech wheel, start Profiler before starting the game
    CPU i7 7700K | RAM Corsair 16GB 2400MHz | GPU Asus GTX1080 Ti OC 11GB | Mobo Asus Strix Z270H | Audio SB Zx @ 5.1/AKG K401 | OS Win 10 x64 | Screen LG 27EA63V-P 27" 1920x1080 | Controllers Fanatec CSW v2.5 + UH, CSP v3, CSS SQ, CSH | Misc TrackIR 4 Pro, Playseat Revolution, DS button box

    With the right to say what you think comes the obligation to think about what you say.
    I'd rather have questions that cannot be answered than answers that cannot be questioned - Richard Feynman
    Teach how to think, not what to think

  8. #8
    Rookie
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    2
    Platform
    PC
    Quote Originally Posted by Remco Van Dijk View Post
    There are different possible causes for this. You can try:
    - delete or rename graphicsconfig.xml from My Documents/Project Cars to see if that helps
    - check the refresh rate of your monitor that it doesn't have some odd value
    - if you are using a Logitech wheel, start Profiler before starting the game
    Thank you for the reply.

    - I have tried renaming graphicsconfig.xml and every time I start the game, the game recreate config file and the error is still occur.
    - My monitor has 60 Hz refresh rate and the graphicsconfig.xml has setting that called "numerator" and "denumerator" for refresh rate value. I calculated the value manually and the result is close to 60 (59,xxx or something). (I am away from my PC right now and I forgot those exact values.)
    - I am currently not using any steering wheel.

    But after renaming the config files, the error changed from "black box" in the corner of monitor to "Unhandled Exception Trapped".
    The game successfully show the welcome screen (black screen with Slightly Mad and World of Mass Development logo) but quit immediately.

    Still don't know what to do because my web browser (Firefox) also act weird by not showing Youtube video. Later i know that this happen because of browser support problem for hardware acceleration which is "maybe" related with graphic card driver.

    Thank you for your suggestion, I really appreciate it.

Similar Threads

  1. Welcome to the Project CARS Forums!
    By Rob Prange in forum News & Announcements
    Replies: 147
    Last Post: 21-07-2015, 15:17
  2. Project Cars won't lauch on steam
    By Hallessio in forum PC - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 56
    Last Post: 23-05-2015, 03:48
  3. [FB & Steam Group] Project CARS Gentlemen Racing
    By sagedavid in forum PC - Multiplayer Event Planning
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-05-2015, 06:49
  4. Project CARS US PS Store...
    By Pyrocy779 in forum Project CARS on Playstation 4
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-05-2015, 15:38
  5. CSR with Project Cars in PS4
    By The_KoiKoX in forum PS4 - Technical Help & Support
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-05-2015, 15:04

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •